Spinning Party Pooper

I was looking forward to this morning’s workout all week long. I am lucky enough to be a member of the same gym (Goodlife) as four of my good friends, which means I always have a gym buddy at my disposal! It’s a great motivator.

We have been planning a group gym date for a couple weeks now, and our plan was to all hit up the gym together this morning and take a spinning class!

I have never tried spinning before, but all the avid spinners I know rave on and on about it. I particularly like hearing “it makes me feel like I wanna die” and from my friend Dawn yesterday: “You will feel like you just gave birth.” Excellent. I was really anxious to see for myself, and get through the torture class together with all my gym buddies!

I happily dragged myself out of bed bright and early, ate a good breakfast (oatmeal again, I’ll save you from having to look at more pictures of it) and made my way to the gym, gearing myself up for a good spinning time. We had to go to one of the bigger co-ed Goodlife’s for the class, so I had to go a bit further than usual, and it wasn’t until I got all the way there that I realized my running shoes weren’t with me.

I always leave my shoes in the car so they are ready for my next gym sesh. But nope, no shoes. It was the same gym I went to last night, so I thought maybe I had left them in the changeroom. No dice. I searched high and low, and had a couple employees help me as well. No shoes. They must have been stolen! I couldn’t do the class without them since I was wearing Uggs, which obviously are not ideal spinning footwear. And so, the party went on without me. I headed back home, all the way wondering why someone would steal my shoes? They’re not even very nice. Who steals gym shoes?

Well, apparently no one, because when I walked in the door, I saw this:

😦

Ohh well, at least they weren’t stolen. I was disappointed that I missed out on the spinning party with my girls though, but not to worry! We’re planning a second spinning date next week! I did end up completing some cardio early this afternoon since I had to go grocery shopping and my regular gym is inside Superstore (kind of makes it difficult to come up with an excuse not to go when you’re already there). I ran for 30 minutes on the treadmill, followed by 15 minutes of light cardio on the elliptical while flipping through some mags.

Then it was time for lunch. During my run I thought about what I wanted to eat, and decided to make grilled cheese for Boyfriend and I when I got home.

Grilled Cheesus

I added tomato to my grilled cheese, and also enjoyed some grape tomatoes on the side (and lotsa ketchup, because grilled cheese is not grilled cheese without ketchup, in my opinion :))

(I also used light Cracker Barrel cheddar cheese, if you were wondering.)

A few possible articles of interest for you:
12 Foods Your Dentist Won’t Eat (via Eat This Not That)
Where’s the Fruit in Fruit Products? (via Cooking Light Magazine)
Break the Rules to Lose (via Shape)

S’later! Enjoy your Saturday!

Leave a Reply

