The Healthy Tipping Point

A few months ago I stumbled across a blog that really spoke to me called the Healthy Tipping Point. In the book The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, the Tipping Point refers to a “moment of critical mass, the threshold, the boiling point,” or “the levels at which the momentum for change becomes unstoppable.” The Healthy Tipping Point is explained as when we stop trying to live healthy and it just happens.

This means to me, in a nutshell, a habit.

This has really hit home to me. I feel like healthy eating is tricky because it can seem overwhelming, there are so many different diets and conflicting information out there, and it’s difficult to know what to do. For me, it is finally starting to be a habit, but it took a long time (um, 27 years) to get to this point, and to become educated on what I should be eating. Although please keep in mind, no expert here! I can only tell you about my own experiences, and hope that you can relate.

I was working at Dairy Queen the first time I thought I should try to “watch what I eat.” Pretty ideal environment for healthy eating, I know (hehe). I didn’t really know what to do or where to start, so I thought I would probably lose weight if I ate a Lean Cuisine for one meal a day.

Bad. Idea. I worked at Dairy Queen, and thought I could get by on basically a noodle and a carrot for lunch, while serving customers delicious-looking ice cream all day (a weakness of mine).

I'm sorry, but these just ain't gonna cut it!

(source)

I know Lean Cuisines are easy and lean. I don’t know what makes them “healthy”, but I can tell you that one of those little Lean Cuisines would tide me over for approximately half an hour before I either hid in the freezer and ate copious amounts of frozen brownie chunks and cookie dough, or stuck my face under the soft serve machine…and then the hot fudge pump to counteract the brain freeze 😉 ( <- the winking smiley face means I could be exaggerating, if any of my former bosses are reading this).

Obviously Lean Cuisines are not the ideal solution for me. I felt deprived, and I just don’t get down like that.

My next “diet” was buying a foot-long sub from Subway each day I worked (choosing one of the under six grams of fat options), eating half of it for lunch, and saving the other half for dinner (and probably a cookie too, because I can’t resist Subway cookies).

Subway, I love you

I actually tried to do this five days a week. Aside from the fact that this particular diet probably didn’t meet my daily nutrient/caloric requirements, eating a sub for each meal every day is boring. Who was I, Jared? I love Subway, but it was too much. This worked for almost a week before I got sick of it. Variety is the spice of life, my friends!

My dieting phases have all been short-lived. And I now know that diets will not work for me. I’m an eater! I need to eat! Food makes me happy and excited, and I don’t want to change that, or feel like that’s bad. It is a part of me, and I like it.

I know that putting together a healthy dinner can seem like a daunting task, and for sure it is more effort in the beginning, because you definitely do have to educate yourself on what your body needs. I hate that feeling of getting home at 5 or 6pm and needing to throw together something for dinner, and feeling lost and helpless when you look in your fridge (I know the feeling well). But I’ll tell you now, I can put together a delicious and nutritious dinner in 20 minutes (less if using my crockpot), and I am not some sort of crazy chef. I avoid long lists of ingredients. I like easy, quick, and yummy.

In the beginning, I almost had to force myself to find nutritious things to cook for dinner. And then it started to come more naturally. And now I just do it. It has become a habit. For me, the momentum for change became unstoppable. And these days, I have a genuine interest in healthy eating. I don’t care so much about how many calories I’m eating, but I kinda get into making sure I’m eating the right kinds of calories for my bod!

What I want to know is, what is the strangest/stupidest/craziest diet you have ever tried, and how well did it work out?

9 responses to “The Healthy Tipping Point

  1. Awesome, post!
    I’m on the opposite end of things where a lot of times I need to force myself to eat. Also, I’ve always wanted big, huge ripped biceps but have had to come to realize that no matter how much whey powder I ingest, my body type won’t change. I used to go through crazy protien diets, where basically all I ate was peanut butter, beef and milk – I felt like I was some sort of Soviet era solider – no good.
    Now I eat a good dinner where I hit all the food groups. Somedays, I’m literally forcing the food down my thoart but if it’s good, natural stuff, it’s a whole lot easier.

    Aaaaaand I would just like to say a big screw you to the guys on Jersey Shore for making washboard abs the standard.

  2. I go through phases – winter is really hard eating for me … I just don’t feel like it when its all frozen and cold out there – how can anything be fresh!?
    Having said that, I am on my way home to eat a pizza in bed, so it hard all the times.

  3. Yay for Dairy Queen…bad for eating!! We had fun at Dairy Queen (eh Linds? Miss you!), but yes, led to bad eating habits, even when we got sick of the food there! I recently (in the last year) started my own “Healthy Tipping Point”, and now have incorporated eating healthy into everything, which is sometimes hard when you love to do things like bake, but I make sure that when I bake I do it for other people, so I’m not the one eating all the left overs! It has helped a lot, especially portion control and with eating healthy and exercising, in the last year I have lost over 70 pounds! Just eating healthy makes you feel so much better! Love your blog Lindsey, great way to keep me motivated too 🙂

    • Aw Rebek, what an awesome and inspiring comment.
      70 pounds, that’s amazing! I totally agree about the healthy eating making you feel better…although if a cookie happens to come my way, who am I to turn it down? 😉
      It’s funny that I am STILL not sick of DQ! haha.
      Miss you too, hope all is well!

  4. Loving the blog Linds!! My craziest diet was the South Beach Diet. No carbs, sugar or alcohol for the first 2 weeks! The first two days were tough and then after the 1st week I was convinced that I would NEVER eat another carb again. I lost 8lbs those in two weeks!! Then I ate a carb and one carb led to another carb and before I knew it my plate was stacked high with glorious carbs at every meal!!! LOL! Needless to say the 8lbs came back and brought along 5 friends!

    Love ya!
    Shar

  5. Pingback: My Seven Links | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

