Boccia and Sausage

Guess who won office boccia today!

Boccia Champs

What what!

We played against the Sport Alliance of Ontario, and it was a nail-biter of a game. It could have gone either way, but we did have the home court advantage (I mentioned before how important this is), and in the end I believe that was the SAO’s downfall, as we ended up taking a 5-2 victory. There was a lot of friendly trash-talk going on, which I love (not that I’m competitive or anything :)).

Our intern Mary (right) subbed in for our boss today, so I think you can tell where the weak link is on our team… 😉 Mary was naturally awesome at boccia. I think it might be her calling.

After our game it was time for lunch. I had a hefty morning snack (my granola bars! They are truly soo delicious), so I could wait a little longer to eat. For my mid-day meal I dug into leftover Mel’s Rice and Beans (that is what the recipe is called now, forget Casado), with an apple for dessert.

Beans and Rice Revisited

I actually think this meal was better today than it was yesterday! I thoroughly enjoyed it and it is very filling (although that is not a very flattering photo of it).

Dinner

Tonight’s dinner was interesting, and different than what I usually make. Say hello to Italian sausage with green peppers and onions:

Yummers

I got the idea from PBFingers’ blog, but instead of baking it, I chose to make it as more of a stir fry. Either way, it’s super easy. Use scissors to cut lean Italian sausage into pieces (don’t use a knife or those sneaky sausages will squeeze right out of their casings), throw it into a frying pan or wolk and cook on medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Add sliced onion and sliced green pepper (I used two peppers), and continue to cook for another 10 minutes, or until the sausage is cooked through.

Sausage (pronounced sauseeeege, thank you), Peppers and Onions

Or if you don’t feel like actually cooking, you can throw the whole combo in a baking dish and bake for about 45 minutes at 375 degrees F. Feel free to top with olive oil and your fave spices. I chose not to do this as Italian sausage is quite the festival of flavours on its own.

The sausage/pepper combination was really good, and it was different for me because there was no sauce on it! I find that I usually eat things for the sauce (trust me, this will be a blog post on its own), and for me to leave sauce out is kind of a big deal. But for a sauce-free dish it was still pretty yummy, and I’ll prob make it again.

Have a great night!

3 responses to “Boccia and Sausage

  1. Hey Lindsey! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I hope you keep coming back! I often post delicious healthy modified recipes, and other healthy living tips! The Broccoli Chicken Casserole is absolutely AWESOME! I hope you enjoy it! Let me know how it turns out!

  2. Pingback: Operation OBA Take Down = Fail | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

