Superbowl Snacks

I am not the biggest football fan. Not that I don’t like the sport…I have watched 12 hours straight of live football for work and still enjoyed it, but I don’t really follow what’s going on in the NFL.

I do, however, get into the Superbowl, because A: I like parties, and B: I like food ;).

Since it’s a “school night” and Andrew and I both have a lot going on work-wise tomorrow, we decided to have our own party of two and just hang in and watch the Superbowl together. I definitely wanted to incorporate traditional Superbowl eats into our evening! We hit up the grocery store this morning and got all our ingredients, and this afternoon got to work in the kitchen. We decided to make chicken wings, pizza, and a spicy tortilla roll-up that I stumbled across for an appetizer, all of them healthified versions of your typical Superbowl fare.

I let Andrew handle the wings, since he is a man and also a wing connoisseur (his fave food of all time), and I took care of the pizza and roll-ups.

The recipe for the roll-ups arrived in my email inbox last week in the AllRecipes healthy bites newsletter. I knew I wanted to make these bad boys as soon as I saw them, because who doesn’t like a good roll-up? No one, that’s who.

You may click here to view the original recipe, and here is my modified version:

Spicy Tortilla Roll-Ups

  • 1 (8 ounce) package light cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (2 ounce) can chopped black olives
  • 1/3 cup diced green chili peppers (I chopped about seven small chili’s)
  • 1 chopped red pepper
  • 2 green onions, minced
  • 3 tablespoons hot pepper sauce (I used Frank’s Red Hot)
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 8 whole wheat tortillas (I used 8″, although the recipe called for 10″)

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, olives, chiles, red pepper, green onions, hot sauce, and fresh cilantro. Spread the mixture onto tortillas. Roll the tortillas up and refrigerate for at least one hour.

All Rolled Up & Ready For The Fridge

Slice the roll-ups and serve.

Ready To Eat!

I chose to serve them with salsa.

The original recipe called for 10 tortillas, but there was no way my mix would have made that many. I used more veggies than it originally called for, so maybe my veggie/cream cheese ratio had something to do with that. Either way, this still made WAY too many roll-ups for just the two of us, since they are meant for a bigger gathering (I really just wanted an excuse to try out this recipe), so I set some aside for our snacking purposes and then froze the rest. I will break them out next time we have people over, or are heading to a friends.

These roll-ups were delicioso! Seriously surprisingly good. I am NOT a fan of olives, and debated leaving them out, but I found I couldn’t even really taste them, although they did add a little salty flava that I liked ;). Andrew loved them as well. I can’t wait to bust them out at our next social gathering.

Pizza

For ze pizza I used a PC thin flatbread, topped with pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese, turkey pepperoni, and a LOT of red peppa (red pepper was on sale at the grocery store! YES!!!! I eat green pepper often, but my heart truly lies with its red counterpart…but it’s so much more expensive). I then baked it for about 10 minutes at 4oo degrees F. It turned out perfectly.

Cheesy Peppery Za

The right side (my side) had a few more peppers and not as much pepperoni as Andrew’s pepperoni-heavy left side.

Although both my roll-ups and pizza were yummy scrumboes, I must give credit where credit is due and say that Andrew’s wings truly stole the Superbowl supper spotlight. My part of dinner really paled in comparison to this crispy deliciousness:

Chicken Waaaaangs

Baked Buffalo Wings

For Andrew’s wings, he loosely followed this recipe from AllRecipes.com.

Here is his modified version:

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose whole wheat flour (I may have had some influence there ;))
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 20 chicken wings
  • 1/4 cup melted butter (this is halved from 1/2 cup…and I am not sure what the purpose of this butter is. I prob would have left it out)
  • 1/2 cup hot pepper sauce (he used Frank’s Red Hot Sweet Heat BBQ Wing Sauce)

Andrew had to actually cut full chicken wings with scissors first before he could start prepping them.

Snippety Snippety

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and spray lightly with cooking spray. Place flour, spices, and salt into a Ziplock bag and shake to mix. Add the chicken wings, seal, and toss until well-coated with the flour mixture. Place the wings onto the prepared baking sheet, and place into the refrigerator for at least one hour.

Wings + Flour Mix

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Whisk together melted butter and hot sauce in a small bowl. Dip the wings into the mixture and place back on baking sheet. Bake in the preheated oven until the chicken is no longer pink in the centre, and crispy on the outside, about 45 minutes. Turn the wings over halfway during cooking so they cook evenly.

Our wings came out looking like this:

Wings Take 2

Perfect! They were so crispy, which is quite the feat for non-fried wings, and the inside was tender and juicy. I have to say, I expected them to be mushy, but they were not at all! I was super impressed with these. Pizza shmizza, the wings showed me up!

All Together Naw!

Winner winner Superbowl dinner!

Once thing that was absolutely not healthy about this dinner was my dessert:

Yumballs

At 220 calories a pop these babies are dangerous! This never would have made it into my cart at the grocery store if it weren’t for Andrew being my shopping buddy this morning ;). Oh well, no regrets here. It was the best ice cream bar I’ve had in a while. Although it sparked quite a sugar craving in me and I had to refrain from eating the entire rest of the box…

Happy Superbowl Sunday!

What’s your favourite Superbowl snack?

Leave a Reply

