Taco Party

Tonight’s dinner was one of my fave meals since I was a kid: TACOS!

I love them, and never get sick of their beefy goodness. My parents were always all about the hard shells when I was growing up, but I am more of a soft shell kinda gal these days. I find them easier to eat, and easier to stuff more toppings into, which I am obviously a big fan of. I always go for the whole wheat tortillas for my tacos.

Lately I have been trying out slow-cooker tacos, and just throwing extra lean ground beef or turkey with a little bit of water into my crock pot, stirred up with reduced sodium seasoning mix.

Taco Mix

This is so easy and works quite well. It gives the ground beef a bit of a different texture than regular frying pan cooking, but the taste is pretty much the same. If you’re looking for a speedy meal, I would definitely recommend! Tonight though, I did the usual taco thang, browning my lean beef with onions in the frying pan, draining the grease, and then adding in the low sodium mix with some water.

Beefy

I topped my tacos with lettuce, tomato, light shredded cheddar cheese, salsa, and plain Greek yogurt (to sub in for sour cream, since my sour cream was moldy! Yuck.)

YeeeeUM!

Ohh how I loooove tacos.

A Couple Things…

Just a couple of quick blog updates for ya!

I just wanted to let you guys know that you can subscribe to my blog. I know some of you have already discovered this, but if you would like to receive an email when I post, click on “sign me up” under Email Subscription on the left. If you don’t want an email, that’s cool too…just thought I’d mention it ’cause I tend to get excited when I get a new subscriber 😉

I am personally a big fan of Google Reader, so that’s how I keep up with the blogs that I follow. You can subscribe to my blog’s RSS feed there as well.

Also, don’t be afraid to leave comments you shy little minxes. A couple people have mentioned to me that they are afraid to comment because they don’t want crazy spam. I promise it is a spam-free zone! I’m the only one who sees anyone’s email addresses and they do not get published.

That’s all, have a great night!

A few possible articles of interest for you:
The Eight Types of Awkward Workouts (via The Oatmeal) – I’m adding this because my friend Dawn and I had quite the encounter with a Noisy Lifter a couple weeks ago)
Nine Ways to Eat Healthy at the Burger Joint (via Eat This, Not That)
The Best Low Calorie Hot Drinks for Cold Weather (via Shape)

5 responses to “Taco Party

  1. I just bought the Smart Fiesta hard and soft taco kit yesterday. I am also a huge fan of the taco….pronounced TAKE-O by my grandmother. Marko is actually eating two of the soft shells with his COOL BEANS left overs. Oh how you are influencing my life Spazzy Jazzy.

  2. Yum yum. Gimme some tacos.

  3. First time on your site and all looks delicious. Just added you to my RSS FEED. Keep up the great work !

Leave a Reply

