My Breakfast BFF

Lindsey + Oatmeal = Best friends forever!

Loverssss

But in all seriousness, I love my morning oats! They are a huge breakfast staple for me.

I like to switch up my breakfast and try out new combinations, so I don’t eat oatmeal every day, but I do find myself coming back to it a few times a week. I am a big, big fan.

Let me tell you about the goodness of oatmeal, if you are not already aware. It slows your digestive process and keeps you full longer, and it is probably the only breakfast I’ve found that is able to keep me almost full and my inner hunger monster at bay until lunchtime. Oats are inexpensive and you can buy them anywhere, and, with the exception of flavoured instant oatmeal, oats are 100% natural and have nothing added to them. They contain vitamins, minerals and antioxidants, and they lower your cholesterol and reduce the risk of heart and other diseases. Yahoo!

Best of all, I think oatmeal is de-friggin-licious. Sure, oats are boring on their own, but you can top them with anything. Here is a list of my favourite oatmeal toppings:

  • Sliced apples and cinnamon
  • Nutella and banana
  • Cranberry sauce (homemade)
  • Sliced peach and cinnamon
  • Banana and chocolate chips (nothin’ crazy, just a few to make me feel indulgent ;))
  • Berries + honey
  • Nut butter
  • Nuts (walnuts, almonds, pecans, etc), seeds (flax seed is my fave) + honey

And this morning’s oatmeal:

Breakfast BFF

  • Peanut butter, honey and sliced banana

I think my favourite food combination ever is peanut butter, banana, and honey, so this morning I decided to pair all three with my oats.

So. Good.

All Stirred Up With No Place To Go But My BELLY!

I go for Quaker Quick Oats on weekday mornings, because I like to spend less time making my oatmeal and more time eating it, and it cooks in less than two minutes.

Sometimes I even cook my oats the night before, put them in the fridge, and in the morning enjoy cold oats mixed with Greek yogurt + fruit and whatever else. Also a good oaty time.

No matter how you prepare oatmeal, the combination of flavours and textures you can fit into one serving of it is limited only by your imagination! So bottom line, you totes magotes gotta try some oats!

10 responses to “My Breakfast BFF

  1. OMG!!!!! LOL!!!!! Too funny Linds, I died laughing at this!

  2. Your picture oddly arouses me. Possibly because I also enjoy oats with some intensity. I only starting like oatmeal about a month ago because before that it was something my grandparents ate. Now I think it is a thing of beauty. I throw almonds and either blueberries or strawberries in with it.
    I noticed you said there are few breakies that leave you sassified until lunch. I have discovered another-
    2 pieces whole grain weight watchers toast, 2 servings egg beaters egg whites, light cheese (any variety)
    If you make a sexy sandwich with them, the protein in the eggs and cheese keep you going for a good 4 hours.
    FYI.
    Lovin’ your blog, dog.

    • It is a thing of beauty 😉
      Thanks for the b-fast idea. I have never tried weight watchers bread (only the bagels and wraps)…it looks small? Maybe I’ll give it a shot. I usually just do regular eggs on whole wheat bread, or a bagel thin. But oui, it is filling!
      Don’t think I missed that sassified in there Clarence (although I do believe it is satsified! haha)
      Thanks lova, keep the comments comin. I love them like Scotty loves bananas.

  3. If I eat oats everyday will I get a body like Mr. Quaker?

  4. OMG, your “Loverssss” caption totally has me singing Loversss…in a dangerous time! Haha!

  5. Pingback: Salmon + Raspberries = Yum? | Happy or Hungry

  6. Pingback: Overnight Oats | Happy or Hungry

  7. Pingback: Breaking Out of a Breakfast Rut (+ a Journalism Tribute) | Happy or Hungry

  8. Pingback: Breaking Out of a Breakfast Rut (+ a Journalism Tribute) : AZ Journalism | Journalism news | Journalism career

Leave a Reply

