Holy Haddock, Batman

Before I get into my unbelievably delicious dinner, I have some lunchtime office boccia ball to recap!

Today we played the against a team from the Coaches Association of Ontario. They had the home court advantage, and I am sad to report that we lost. We played several rounds where each team would only get one or two points, so it felt like a close game, but in the end they beat us 5-2. My boss was back on our team today, so I think you can guess where the problem lies.

Just kidding ;). He had some good shots. We all played well, I don’t think we could have done anything differently.

The balls ended up in tight spots a few times:


We’re blue, and currently winning this round! Those balls had been thrown from a distance of about 15 feet into that corner, and had to get around several obstacles to make it in there (tables, chairs, a computer, etc.)


This round ended up underneath a table. We couldn’t even see where we were throwing here, and it was our demise. This was where we lost :(. Red got two points to win here. Pretty close though…

The CAO’s office is huge, and was really fun to play in, although there was a lot of “I’m just going to chuck this ball and see what happens!” For me, anyway.

I love office Boccia. It’s such a great way to break up the work day, and I can’t believe how much I get into it! I get excited about pretty much any game, but all the competitiveness with the other offices in our building gets me absolutely riled UP. Friendly trash talking makes me laugh hard also. So much fun.

We managed to squeeze in a pic of our two teams before heading to lunch.

Boccia Playas

Still in good spirits despite our loss. 😀

Dinner

I had some haddock fillets chilling in the freezer as they were on sale at Superstore last week, so I decided tonight was the night for some fish love. I did some googling and found a yummy (yet healthy!) looking recipe from Cooking Light that I ended up loosely following. I cannot believe how well it turned out. It may have been the best fish I have ever made. Click here to view the OG recipe, and here is the recipe with my modifications.

Easy Baked Haddock
Ingredients

  • Four haddock fish fillets (you can use any white fish, tilapia, grouper, cod etc.)
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice (recipe called for lime but I was limeless)
  • 1 tbsp light mayonnaise
  • pinch of dehydrated onion flakes or onion powder (maybe half tsp?)
  • pinch black pepper
  • 1/2 cup fresh breadcrumbs (I made my own with a hand blender and two slices of whole wheat bread, took 3 minutes)
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted (I may omit this next time and see if any huge flavour changes occur)

Preheat oven to 425°.

Place fish in a baking dish coated with cooking spray.

Delishy Fishy

Combine lemon juice, mayonnaise, onion powder, and pepper in a small bowl, and spread over fish. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs and drizzle with butter. You can garnish with parsley, but I didn’t have any on-hand.

Sprinkled and Drizzled

Bake at 425° for 20 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.

Thursday Dinner

I served broccoli and cauliflower on the side that I sprayed lightly with cooking spray and then sprinkled with garlic salt before roasting in the oven alongside the fish.

I believe Andrew’s exact words were “This is extremely, extremely delicious,” and trust me, that is saying something ;). I highly recommend this recipe.

Goodnight friends. Hurrah for Friday tomorrow!

5 responses to “Holy Haddock, Batman

  1. Les poisson, les poisson, how I love les poisson.

    Come on…you knew that was coming.

  2. This delishy fishy looks amazing! Ella and I love salmon as well. Thanks for the recipe Lindsey.

  3. Pingback: Another Day, Another Quinoa Stir Fry | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

