No WEIGH, José – Mexican Lasagna

For tonight’s dinner I pulled out my favourite coobook:

Eat, Shrink And Be MERRY!

Eat Shrink and Be Merry by Janet and Greta Podleski.

I love those two girls. Aside from being delicious, all their recipes have witty names and are low in calories and fat. And they have funny healthy eating tips and anecdotes throughout their cookbooks, which make me laugh. I got this book as a giveaway at the Toronto Book Expo several years ago, and I have found a bunch of awesome recipes in there, especially for appetizers; the ones I’ve tried have always received rave reviews from my friends (like the salmon cheese ball!).

I do not usually make dinners from this book during the week, as I find the ingredient lists can sometimes be extensive, and prep time is typically longer than I like for a week-day dinner. For weekends (or holidays) when I have extra time though, this book is the jam.

Tonight’s recipe was No Weigh, José! Mexican Lasagna.

Mexican Lasagna

(To view the recipe larger, just click on the above photo)

I only made a few minor substitutions: red pepper instead of green, only six small whole wheat tortillas (I found this was enough), I halved the cumin because Android isn’t really a fan, and I added red pepper flakes for a bit of extra spice.

It turned out amazingly.

Cheesy Yumminess

It was a bit time consuming, but it was easy, and a really nice change from regular lasagna. It was like a mix between chili and lasagna, which sounds kinda gross, but it was really, really good.

Lasagna + Salad

I served it with salad on the side that included baby spinach, cucumber and tomato.

La-la-la-la-la-lasagna

(If you do not get the Weird Al reference in that caption, please click here immediately.)

Andy-roo gave it two thumbs up, with no suggestions for improvement, and he is a tough sell! Also, you should know I have made this once before and absolutely ruined it with too much cilantro (watch out for that!)

Dessert was one of the amazing chocolate chip cookies I made yesterday. They are lighter than regular homemade chocolate chip cookies (by about 120 calories a cookie), and just as good! I will hopefully get that recipe on the ol’ blog tomorrow.

Now to finish this Family Day, I’m off to watch a movie with my little fam (Ando + kitties).

Catcha later!

2 responses to “No WEIGH, José – Mexican Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Birthday Brunch Party | Happy or Hungry

  2. Pingback: Cilantro, the Recipe Killa | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

