Choco Chip Cookies…Healthified!

I had a serious hankering for chocolate chip cookies this weekend, but because I tend to turn into a monster whenever cookies are around…

Om Nom Nom

…I wanted to find a healthier version of the traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe so I didn’t feel AS guilty when I ate a bagillion of them.

I did some Googling, and ended up on Cooking Light‘s website (one of my go-to places to find healthy recipes). I found a good looking chocolate chip cookie recipe with rave reviews.

Don’t get too excited. My cookies didn’t look quite as good as that, but that photo definitely lured me in…

I’m not gonna lie to you, these were not the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever eaten, but they were still addictingly yummy and only have 88 calories and 3g of fat per cookie. Compare that with a Subway chocolate chip cookie, which has 210 calories and 10g of fat, and is roughly the same size, and I think you can determine the winner (although, Subway cookies will always hold a special place in my tummy).

Here is the recipe!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Click here to view the original recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4  cups all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  cup  packed brown sugar
  • 3/4  cup  granulated sugar
  • 1/2  cup  butter, softened (I used light butter)
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 2  large egg whites
  • 3/4  cup  semisweet chocolate chips
  • Cooking spray

Prep Time:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt, stirring with a whisk.

Combine sugars and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add vanilla and egg whites; beat 1 minute. Add flour mixture and chips; beat until blended.

Doughy Goodness

Drop dough by level tablespoons 2 inches apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on pans for 2 minutes. Remove from pans; cool completely on wire racks.

EAT!

Hellooo Cookies!

I ate about 3 immediately as soon as they came out of the oven, because I already can’t resist a chocolate chip cookie, so warm and gooey chocolate chip cookies straight from the oven stand absolutely no chance of survival.

My BFFs

This recipe made about 45 cookies for me…although I, uh, snacked on some dough ;).

One thing I will say about these bad boys is that they had the exact texture I like in a cookie; a little bit crispy on the edges with a soft and chewy inside. And I made them on Sunday and they are still chewy!

I am not a fan of cookies that are too crumbly and cakey (ahem, Druxy’s). These were delicioso fo’ sho.

And they also passed the boyfriend test! I almost wish they didn’t because he’s eaten so many of them… 😉

An awesome alternative to the dense, heavy, calorie-ridden chocolate chip cookie. Try ’em out!

3 responses to “Choco Chip Cookies…Healthified!

  1. Mmm…they look so yummy! Wish I had one right now! Mmm…chocolate chip cookies, my fav! (actually anything to do with chocolate is my fav)

Leave a Reply

