Back to the (Healthy) Grind

This week has been all over the place eating for me.

I was out of the office a lot from Monday to Wednesday, which means a lot of grabbed lunches on the go, as well as catered food.  Many of my meals went unpictured, but I shared my less-than-healthy burger with you on Monday at Alpine.  And this delicious, healthy-ish (though huge) dinner also found its way into mah belly:

I find that when I am not in my regular routine, I eat way more than I would normally.  Seriously, that plate is like Christmas-dinner worthy. I think the bargain hunter in me likes to take advantage of free meals.  Kind of like my meeting week (or, eating week) at work.  Also, when I am out and not sure when I’ll be eating again, and I don’t have any snacks on me, I feel like I gotta pack it in!

This is reminding me of what I like to refer to this as the “last supper syndrome,” and the last supper syndrome reminds me of my friend Emily’s childhood cat Judy.

Judy was absolutely the biggest, fattest cat I have ever seen.  I don’t have an actual picture of Judy, so I’ll draw one for you:

Judy

I’m just going by memory here… Also, she was a lot more grumpy than I’ve drawn her.

When we were about 10, I asked Emily why Judy was so fat, and she explained to me that before her fam got her, Judy was abused and not properly fed. She may have even been starved. Because of this, every time she ate she thought it was going to be her last meal, so she PACKED IT IN!

I don’t know if this is true or if it was a 10-year-old Emily make-believe story, but I had seen Judy eat (read: attack) her food… and that story stuck with me. I need to get rid of this last supper syndrome before I end up like Judy!

Today I am back to my healthy eating habits and (mostly) preparing my own food.

Breakfast was Greek yogurt topped with blueberries and Kashi Go Lean Crunch (Ando stuck it in the shopping cart and I have to say it is delicious).

Greek Yogurt, I've Missed You

And…

All Stirred Up!

Lunch was a Druxy’s salad beast that included broccoli, cauliflower, green and red pepper, cucumber, celery, green onion, chick peas, feta cheese, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, slivered almonds, and baby spinach.

Big Ol' Sal

And for dinner, whole wheat spaghetti with marinara sauce (Prego) that included lean ground beef, red onion, green pepper and baby spinach.

Meat & Veggies Pre Sauce

Spaghetters

It feels good to be back to the (healthy) grind!

4 responses to “Back to the (Healthy) Grind

  1. I just have to say, I bought Greek yogurt and it kind of makes my taste buds die a little every time I eat it. But it sure is filling! I have to put sweetner in it and massive amounts of berries and almonds to keep the urge for regurgitation at bay.
    What kind of Greek do you buy because I feel like I have purchased the dirty yeast infection brand…by this I mean President’s Choice.

    • I agree.
      Not impressed.
      What kind do you buy?

      • Plain Greek yogurt on its own is really tart! I sweeten mine up with honey, or yeah, it’s gross. It’s like eating sour cream!

        If I can find it I buy vanilla, because it tastes like dessert. I have not tried PC yet, but I plan to when they’re not sold out. I buy Liberte! Be careful with Liberte though, it HAS to say Greek on it (the containers are confusing). When in doubt, check the protein.

  2. Pingback: Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

