Birthday Brunch Party

I know I have already detailed my birthday shenans, but the fun isn’t over just yet!  Andrew’s mom and brother-in-law are birthday twins on March 10th (like the Biebs and I), so Andrew’s entire family celebrates the three of ours together every year.  Today we celebrated with a delicious brunch.

BrrrrrRUNCH

Clockwise from left: Pancake, egg and salsa wrap, turkey bacon (and a slice of regular bacon), sausage, french toast casserole, and in the middle is Andrew’s mom’s chicken and broccoli quiche, which was delicious.

Andrew’s sister Sharlene makes that amazing egg and salsa wrap for all family brunch occasions, and I have really come to look forward to it.  I don’t know why I never make it myself, but I’m going to get the recipe from her and I’ll post it on here when I do!  It’s from Looney Spoons (low fat made fun!) which is by Janet and Greta Podleski, who also wrote Eat, Shrink and Be Merry, which you may remember from my Mexican Lasagna post.

I made that french toast casserole this morning and the recipe was definitely a keeper.  I’ll put it up at the end of this post.

I was so full from all of this yumminess, but of course I saved some room for cake!

Caaaake

And here are the birthday buddies in the flesh.

Birthday Buds!

Plus Andrew’s little niece (and nephew, who is sneaking in about to make a mad dash for that cake).

I enjoyed mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Cake + Ice Cream

I love birthdays.  And cake.

It was a good time.


Yes, we have the cutest little niece ever.

Oh, and Andrew’s hilarious grandma had this attractive old coat of hers that she thought would be perfect for me!

Meow.

I guess because I like cats?  I didn’t take it, but looking at it again now…what was I thinking?! I might have to go back for it.

Now for some recipe action.

This morning after the gym, I got to work in the kitchen.  I wanted to bring something to brunch, but I knew Sharlene had the egg’s covered, and Andrew’s mom had the pancakes taken care of.  I settled on a french toast casserole that I found on AllRecipes.

I used this recipe, only I doubled it.  I also subbed brown sugar for white.

French Toast Casserole

Ingredients

  • 5 cups bread cubes (I used whole wheat toast, cut into cubes)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup white sugar, divided (I used brown)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon margarine, softened
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly butter an 8×8 inch baking pan.
  2. Line bottom of pan with bread cubes. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, milk, 2 tablespoons sugar, salt and vanilla. pour egg mixture over bread. Dot with margarine; let stand for 10 minutes.
  3. Combine remaining 2 tablespoons sugar with 1 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkle over the top. Bake in preheated oven about 45 to 50 minutes, until top is golden.

French Toast Casserole

It was pretty good, but it could have been better.  I think because I doubled the recipe (I used a bigger pan also), the cooking time was a bit off.  I put it in the oven for a bit longer, but it made it kind of crispy on the top, and the bottom was a bit on the mushy side.  I am sure following the above directions would work out well though, because this casserole did have a delicious flavour.  I will be making it again, as-is.

Welp, we have a dinner date with our friends so we are off to do some more eating!  Catcha lata!

4 responses to “Birthday Brunch Party

  1. Wow! What a jacket! You could seriously rock that! Too funny! Love our family bday brunches!

  2. Goodness! You are GORGEOUS!

  3. Pingback: Birthday Food Fest (and Bathroom Mirror Pics) | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

