Jaaaack Asssstor’s

Last night, Ando and I hit up Jack Astor’s with some of our fab friends for dinner.

To be honest, I haven’t really been impressed with Jack Astor’s the last few times we’ve gone there.  Although they have a great atmosphere, I find their menu items to be overpriced, and the last two dishes I ordered there were just not very tasty at all.

Last’s night’s dinner may have changed my opinion though, as it was truly amazing.

Big Ol' Sal

I opted for the Chicken Chopstick Salad, which included mixed greens, cucumbers, cilantro, red pepper, craisins, roasted pecans, wonton strips, sesame seeds, and grilled chicken, with a sesame-soy dressing.  And some chopsticks.

All Mixed Up

Definitely a huge improvement.  No complaints here.  And it was huge, I couldn’t even finish it!  Trust me, I don’t say that often.

Anderoni and I also shared garlic pan bread with cheese to start.

Greasy. Cheesy. Garlicky. Delicious.

If you are at Jack Astor’s, the pan bread is a must-order.  It is a giant hunk of white bread, smothered (marinated?) in grease and garlic and cheese, so it is absolutely terrible for you, but I love love LOVE it.  I read something once on healthy eating that said you should rate your favourite junk foods out of 10, and if they don’t garner a 9 or a 10 it’s not worth putting them in your mouth.  I don’t know if I agree with that, but I would rate this bread a 12 bagillion, so…passing it up is not an option and I actually had two pieces.

The company wasn’t bad either.

Dinner Group!

From left: Mark, Julie, Dawn, Andrewski, moi, and Rob (but you can just call him Khaki. We do.)

Looks like the hockey game stole Mark’s attention at the last second there, so he ended up shafting our photographer/server…and therefore this blog ;).

One of those punks also sneakily mentioned to our server that it was my birthday, so of course all the staff came parading over clapping and singing (for what was seriously the 15th time. It was a popular night for birthdays.)  No hat this time, but I did get a free brownie!

Yayyyy

With a sparkler!

I am really getting some mileage out of the whole birthday thing this year, it’s awesome!

We were actually supposed to have a lunch date with my dad and step-mom today at Imperial Buffet (also for my birthday), but my dad had to reschedule for next weekend.  I am kind of grateful for that though, since I have done a lot of eating out this week already, and instead of eating fried meat for lunch (which is what I typically end up filling my plate with at Chinese buffets: chicken balls, torpedo shrimp, lemon chicken, etc.), I was able to enjoy this:

Healthy Lunch

A toasted whole wheat bagel topped with peanut butter, nectarine slices, and sprinkled with cinnamon, with a handful of red grapes on the side.

The peanut butter and nectarine thing may seem like a weird combination, but trust me it was gooooood.  I made one for Jandreusse also, and he was definitely skeptical at first, but he ended up being a big fan.

Cinnamony

Yumballs.

I’m off to do some laundry (oh HURRAY!!!!) and figure out what’s for dinna!

4 responses to “Jaaaack Asssstor’s

  1. Hey! I just came across your blog. I’m also from just outside of Toronto, now living downtown. I saw your post a few back about Lone Star. I just went to the Kingston one on Saturday. Gotta love Tex Mex!

    P.S. – Just kicked off my Spring Shape Up Challenge and there is a giveaway for a $10 iTunes card! Come on over and enter the contest!
    http://smallhomebigstart.blogspot.com/2011/03/giveaway-10-itunes-gift-card.html

  2. Pingback: Neb’s Fun World | Happy or Hungry

  3. What’s up mates, pleasant paragraph and pleasant arguments commented here, I am really enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

