Salmon + Raspberries = Yum?

It’s Monday, which means back to routine eating!  Today’s meals were all very good, but it was last night’s dinner that really stole the show.  I’ll get to that in a moment…

Breakfast

This morning I enjoyed my breakfast bff: oatmeal topped with peanut butter, banana and honey, with a splash of skim milk.  I also sprinkled roasted maple flax seed on top, which you may remember me picking up at the Outdoor Adventure Show.

Salad...again

Lunch was a homemade salad with baby spinach, broccoli slaw, tomatoes, cucumber, red pepper, green onion, sunflower seeds, and garlic flax seed (also from the Outdoor Adventure Show).

(Side note: looking back over my lunches, I eat a LOT of salad.  I think I am going to have to start to mix it up!)

And dinner was tacos!

Beefy Tacos

Lean ground beef topped with lettuce, tomato, cheese, salsa and Greek yogurt (to sub for sour cream), wrapped in whole wheat tortillas.

All very yummylicious, but all pale in comparison to last night’s dinner.

Sunday Dinner

Raspberry glazed salmon (with fresh raspberries for garnish), with asparagus and brown rice.

Wait, raspberries and salmon?!

Berrylicious Salmon

Yes I know, it is kind of a weird combination.  I saw Julie make it on her blog Peanut Butter Fingers, and I thought it looked interestingly yummy, so I decided I’d give it a try.

It was so easy and actually extremely good.  Andmo was skeptical at first (I believe his words were “Um, why are you putting raspberries on my salmon?”), but he warmed up to the idea after his first bite :).

Click here to view the original recipe.

Salmon with Raspberry Glaze

Ingredients

  • 4 salmon fillets (I only used two)
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons red raspberry preserves (or sugar-free raspberry jam)
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • Butter (or regular) cooking spray

Whisk vinegar and raspberry preserves until blended. Sprinkle fish with pepper, then spray with cooking spray (I used olive oil cooking spray).

Place salmon in pan (or on grill) and cover; cook 3–4 minutes on each side or until or flesh is opaque and flakes with a fork.  Top with raspberry sauce.  I garnished mine with fresh raspberries.

Simple and tasty…just how I like it!

2 responses to “Salmon + Raspberries = Yum?

  1. I made the salmon last night and loved it!!

Leave a Reply

