Ch-Ch-Ch-CHIA

I don’t know if it was my abundance of energy from this morning’s green monster, or the absolutely gorgeous weather outside, but this afternoon I couldn’t wait to get outside and RUN!

I looked up a new route on MapMyRun (awesome website for runners, by the way), and it totaled about 5.4 km.  My legs (shins in particular) have been feeling a bit achy from previous runs this week, and I was actually a bit sore from BodyPump yesterday, but despite those things, I was really feeling it.  I completed my route in just under 40 minutes.

When I got back, I was craving a good snack.  I don’t usually post my snacks on here unless they’re different or unusual, and today’s definitely was!

Yogurt Bowl

Looks pretty same old same old, cup of Greek yogurt topped with blueberries, chopped strawberries and chia seeds.

Wait, chia seeds?

Yep, the same seeds that grow into chia pets!

Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia!

I am actually late getting on the chia seed bandwagon (as well as the green monster bandwagon), but the health benefits of chia seeds are kind of ridiculous.

Chia seeds have:

  • 3 times the antioxidants of blueberries
  • 5 grams of fibre per serving
  • 15 times more magnesium than broccoli
  • 2.5 times the protein in beans
  • SIX times the calcium in milk
  • 3 times the iron in spinach

(source)

Seedy

Sounds pretty awesome, oui?  Those little seeds pack quite a nutrient punch.  If you guys happen to follow other health blogs I’m sure you’ve seen these bad boys popping up all over the place.  They’re catching on!  And not one to be left out of a food loop, I snatched them up when I saw them in Bulk Barn the other day.

I am planning on incorporating them into lots of my meals, so hopefully this doesn’t start happening…

Chia Lindz

I think I’m probably safe…

Shmanyways, Happy St. Patty’s Day once again!  Enjoy a green beer for me!

4 responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch-CHIA

  1. Pingback: Overnight Oats | Happy or Hungry

  2. Thanks for send me to this post. Is it really the same seeds that they use in the chia pets? I will have to see if I can find them anywhere near me.

  3. Pingback: It’s A Good Eatin’ Friday | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

