Quinoa and Chickpea Salad

Today’s been a busy day filled with super fun activities such as closet organization and vacuuming.  Hurrah, and also yippee.  Hands down two of my least favourite chores (vacuuming especially), but I knew if I did not do it today while I’m still on staycation, I’d regret it next week when I’m back to the grind.  And I want to save the weekend for some real fun ;).

I did take a break to make myself a delicious lunch though.

Colourfully Yummy

Quinoa and Chickpea salad!

In this mix is:

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa (cooled)
  • 2 cups green beans (trimmed, chopped and blanched)
  • 1 can chick peas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 sweet red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese (well…maybe a bit more ;))
  • a couple sliced sundried tomatoes.

I originally saw this recipe in Canadian Living magazine (you can view the recipe here), and since I am looking for fun ways to prepare quinoa I was alllll over it.  The actual recipe called for a homemade tomato vinaigrette dressing for this salad, but I cheated and used Kraft fat-free Italian dressing.  There was already lots of prep work with all the chopping and dicing and cooking and blanching and draining and rinsing that was going on, and I was hangry.  The Italian dressing worked well though, and I think Greek would be yummy with it too.

More Of The Goodness

It was a very filling and nutritiously delicious lunch, and I have tons of leftovers.

Today was originally going to be a rest day on the running front because my shinny-shin-shins are still feeling a bit sore, but it is beeeeeeyooootiful outside.  Like spring weather for sure.  So sunny and at least 10 degrees!  I think I’m going to throw down a couple kilometres just so I can get outside in the sunshine.  My first race is quickly approaching, I gotta get those kilometres in!

Question of the day:  Have you tried quinoa?  Thinking about trying quinoa?  Do you have a favourite quinoa recipe?

3 responses to “Quinoa and Chickpea Salad

  1. Pingback: There’s ALWAYS Time For Lunch | Happy or Hungry

  2. Pingback: Girls’ Night (Plus Some Recipe Action) | Happy or Hungry

  3. Pingback: Sunny Saturday | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

