There’s ALWAYS Time For Lunch

Today has been BUSY.  I was back to the grind after the March Break, and I always find the first day after the holiday is the busiest with all the catching up that needs to be done.  By the time I had finished answering my emails and phone messages, it was time for lunch!

I hear people say all the time that they have been so busy they forgot to eat.  My boss in particular, I will see wander into our lunchroom around 3pm to get his little packed lunch exclaiming, “It’s been so crazy around here I haven’t gotten a chance to eat!”

Hahaha.  Not me.  Let me tell you, I always have a chance to eat.  It doesn’t matter how busy I am, eating is something I don’t forget.  Snacks, maybe (although I will usually squeeze them in), but lunch?  No way.  Lunch is very important to my productivity, and if I don’t eat by 1 pm I find it extremely difficult to concentrate on anything.  All I start to think about is what I’m going to eat, when I can eat, how much I’m going to eat, and how can I make my hunger monster GO AWAY?!

It can be bad news if I am this hungry for too long, because I will start fantasizing about all the different things I can possibly eat and then I overeat big time.  Even after I eat something, I’ll still have that unsatisfied hungry feeling, so I’ll go back for more.  It can take a long time for this feeling to leave me, so it’s very important that my hunger monster is kept in check!

So, although I was busy off my face today, I still squeezed in my lunch!

LUNCH!

Leftover quinoa and chickpea salad, supplemented with a Druxy’s beef vegetable soup.

I have seriously eaten this quinoa and chickpea combination every day for lunch since Friday, and this was the last of it.  Normally I get sick of the same lunch every day, but I have been eating this for four days in a row!

Quinoa = Good Stuff!

That is just how good it is.

My soup was no disappointment either.  Beef vegetable is one of my fave kinds of Druxy’s soup and alllll sorts of delicious.

I Love My Druxy's

Beefy.  Vegetabley.  Yummy.

I also managed to squeeze in a nutritious dinner before my evening BodyPump workout (upped my squat weights, woo!  But was definitely feeling lethargic after the weekend so that was the only weight “challenge” I did).

Dinner was the easy (healthy) chicken Parmesan I made about a month ago and posted on here.  This dinner is so easy, and so good!  Alejandrew and I were home by 5:20 and dinner was on the table by 6!

Deliciousness

We enjoyed the chicken on top of whole wheat spaghetti, with cauliflower on the side (sprayed with olive oil cooking spray, sprinkled with garlic salt and a little bit of Cajun seasoning and baked in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes).

Chicken + Cauliflower

Welp, I’m off to bed!  I’m a tired tamale and tomorrow is going to be another busy one!

Question:  Are you ever so busy at work that you forget to eat lunch?

7 responses to “There’s ALWAYS Time For Lunch

  1. No matter how busy I am at work, I still find the time to eat! I have a 2 hour meeting tomorrow morning and I’m already worried about when I’ll have my morning snack……I’ve decided to unwrap my granola bar ahead of time so it won’t make noise in the meeting. 😉

  2. Usually my tummy reminds me that it’s time to eat, regardless of how busy I am! I am a teacher, so I have a lunchtime everyday and that keeps me from forgetting! 😉

    First time here, too! Love your blog & your vitality!

  3. Always eat lunch! Hands down. I can’t imagine not. I think the only time I ever forget is if I eat a dirty breakfast at 11AM or something.
    Also on the teacher route, I think I missed lunch once because I had a meeting and math help all rolled into one lunch hour. WORST DAY EVER. I actually yelled at the children and fantasized about launching them into the SMART Board.
    So yeah…no lunch = terrible idea.

  4. Pingback: I am a Busy Beaver | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

