Spicy Fish Is Delish

Holy shmoly, the gym was rammed tonight!  I don’t know what was going on but it was like first week of January busy.  Maybe a lot of people have warm vacations coming up?  J to the EALOUS…

It also smelled heavily of cinnamon buns.  Probably one of the cons to having your gym above Superstore, ’cause I wanted to run down to the bakery and shove them all in my face…

I had originally intended to squeeze in a quick half hour run on the treadmill before my 7:30 BodyPump class, but all the treadmills were taken!  There was one arc trainer and one elliptical left and I quickly nabbed the arc trainer (I really prefer it to the elliptical, I feel like I get a better workout).

Even my BodyPump class was busier than usual, and I felt like I was squatting into the person’s lap behind me.  She liked it…

I go through phases of feeling the gym and not feeling the gym, and tonight I was definitely feeling the gym.  I don’t know what causes this, but maybe it was my protein-packed dinner?

Fishy Dinner!

Something I have been meaning to do lately is incorporate more fish into my diet.  Fish is so easy to cook, and since Monday evening’s tend to be busy for me, it seemed like a quick and healthy option for tonight’s dinner.

I had some haddock chilling in my freezer, so I did a little searching on AllRecipes and found a good looking recipe to use for my haddock.  I altered it slightly to correspond with ingredients I had on-hand, so you can click here to view the original recipe, but here is what I ended up using.

Spicy Haddock

This only serves three (or two hungry people ;)), ’cause the fillets are kinda small, so double the ingredients as needed.

Ingredients

  • 4 haddock fillets
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce (I used low sodium)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 dashes Frank’s Red Hot sauce

Directions

  1. Place fillets in a 9 x 13 baking dish sprayed with cooking spray (I covered my dish with foil for easy cleanup). Combine remaining ingredients, spoon over fish.

    Ready For Bakin'

  2. Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

Fish + Veggies

I served the fish with cauliflower and broccoli that I sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled lightly with garlic salt and a bit of Cajun seasoning before baking alongside the fish.

Very yummy.

Dessert was a cup of Liberté vanilla Greek yogurt topped with pineapple slices, which really does taste like dessert!

And while I’m covering food, my lunch was once again inspired by The Hunger Games!

Monday Lunch

A toasted whole wheat bagel topped with PC Blue Menu goat’s milk cheese mixed with honey, and apple slices.  It has been far too long since I’ve had this combo, and I forgot how delicious it is!  That goat cheese and honey is a ridiculously amazing combination.  If you haven’t tried it, you need to!  I think I’ll be making this more often…

Goat Cheese + Honey For The Win!

With my overnight oats for breakfast, this was a good day of eating!

Later gators!

One response to “Spicy Fish Is Delish

  1. Pingback: Jumping the Gun | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

