Chicken And Quinoa Stir Fry

Bonjour, and also salut!

The weather today’s been crappy and a half, oui?  Last year on March 31st I distinctly remember sitting outside on my patio reading a book and enjoying the sunshine!  Not this year.  This morning I awoke to a beautiful rain/snow mix, and it’s been dreary and cold-ish all day. Boo.  Spring better get started soon…I’m looking forward to a HOT summa!

But obviously I have more exciting things to talk about than weather.  Like food, for example.  Who wants to see a bunch of pictures of my eats today?  What, EVERYONE?!  Well then.

It’s my dinner tonight that I really want to highlight.

Chicken + Quinoa Stir Fry

Since I have been loving the quinoa so much lately I decided to give it a go again tonight.  I wanted to do the shrimp and quinoa thang but I had chicken breasts in my fridge that I wanted to use up, so I thought I’d eat chicken for the third day in a row (I really need to mix it up tomorrow…) and make a chicken, veggie and quinoa stir fry!

It was very easy, and very good.  Here is what went in my stir fry mix:

  • 2 large boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced
  • 10 asparagus stalks, chopped
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • half a yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon low sodium soya sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Kikkoman stir fry sauce
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa

I made my quinoa while I did everything else.  I cooked the chicken in a wok, and then added garlic and onion, cooked it for a bit more, and then added all my veggie goodness.

Veggie Goodness

And spinach last…

Spinny

Because you know how quickly…

Where'd It Go?

It wilts.

I then added my quinoa, soy sauce and stir fry sauce and mixed it all together.

I really wanted to add feta cheese because the shrimp + quinoa combo with the feta on the weekend was so dang good, but I wasn’t sure how feta and soy sauce would taste together.  But then Jandreusse brought it out the fridge and said he needed to have the feta, could not eat another bite without the feta, so I quickly got on board.

Feta Makes it Betta

It was better with the feta.  Not quite as good as my friend Dawn’s shrimp and quinoa stir fry, but it was still delicious.

Allll Togetha

What I really love about quinoa is that it seems to absorb the other flavours of a dish and enhance them.  It’s so versatile.  It can taste totally different depending on what you add to it.  I think this is why it is such a good combo with the feta, ’cause it picks up all the delicious feta flavah.  I mentioned all the nutritional benefits of quinoa the super grain (super seed?) the first time I tried it, so you can check that out by clicking on that link if ya want.

I also squeezed in a little dessert action.  A chocolate Vita-Top heated up with a smear o’ peanut butter on top.

Top O' The Muffin To Ya!

There’s some oozy chocolately goodness in the middle of the muffin top, so mixed with the peanut butter it was a rich and creamy chocolate peanut butter party.  Big fan, right here.

I quickly want to go over my breakfast also!  It was the same as yesterday’s, but the oatmeal edition!

Breakfast Remix

Oatmeal topped with blueberries, crasins, chia seeds, a splash of almond milk, and a pinch of brown sugar.  Very yummy (doesn’t really look the greatest though, I’ll admit).

I’m off to hit up my little exercise bike at home while I watch DVR’d Survivor.  I LOVE Survivor.  I have never missed a season and it makes me happy that Ando (and my Bestie!) is also a Survivor fan, so I have someone to watch it with ;).

I could never be ON Survivor though.  Eating only a spoonful of rice a day would probably make me a grumpy pantsed freakshow, so I’d be voted out immediately.  I think could survive the elements and all that, but the lack of food?  Doubtful.

Bon soir!

Question:  What TV shows are you currently into?

6 responses to “Chicken And Quinoa Stir Fry

  1. I wouldn’t last a day on Survivor…no food, no thanks! I’m watching American Idol at the moment. Waiting for Grey’s Anatomy to come on next.

    I am waiting for the next seasons of True Blood, Breaking Bad and Sons of Anarchy to start. (Whenever that may be…)

  2. Hi Lindsey
    I have enjoyed your Happy or Hungry blog while I stayed with Crystal in Calgary! How do you stop at one muffin top? I like your ideas and Crystal and I have our own version of morning oatmeal with coffee cream ! You got to try it for a treat….Yum.
    Mary G.

  3. Crappy and a half – priceless expression!

    I don’t watch that many shows, but I do love Criminal Minds and Tosh.0. One scary + 1 pee-your-pants funny, that’s all I need!

Leave a Reply

