Chocolate Strawberry Green Monster

I woke up this morning with a serious craving for chocolate.  Probably stemmed from my little indulgence with the muffin top last night.

Chocolate for breakfast though?  Welp, why not?!

Chocolately Smoothie Deliciousness

I decided to make a chocolate-strawberry green monster to satisfy my chocolatey cravings.  Into my blender went:

  • 1.5 cups frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp-ish honey (basically just to taste)
  • 1 handful baby spinach
  • 4 ice cubes

I mixed it for a while.  My blender is not the greatest, and really struggled with the ice and frozen strawberries, but after a few minutes I had a delicious chocolate-strawberry smoothie.

More O' The Goods

I served it in a bowl with a straw, but I ended up eating most of it with a spoon.  It was delicious, and tasted like ice cream!  You can have a healthy breakfast that includes chocolate, my friends.  My chocolate craving was satisfied, and most importantly my hunger monster was satisfied until my mid-morning snacktime, which consisted of this:

PC Greek Yogurt Cup + Blubes

(I scored that at the Superstore near my work because they are alllllways sold out at my Superstore.)

Let me just say, I LOVE Fridays.  Everyone is excited for the weekend, and talking about all the fun activities they’re going to get up to in the two whole days off work, and just generally in a great mood.  It’s a beautiful atmosphere.

We also started up our Friday lunchtime yoga again today!

Back To This!

We had taken a couple weeks off from our last yoga session, so it felt great to be back into it.  We had the same instructor, and let me tell you, she is the best yoga instructor I have ever had.  I’ve said this before, but I’m really amazed at how much she gets you to concentrate on how your body feels in certain positions and how to really focus on your breathing.

Also, she was wearing Joe Fresh yoga pants (a new kind that I haven’t seen yet, they were almost like tights), and she said she actually prefers them to Lululemon pants.  This was fab to hear since Joe Fresh yoga pants are $2o and Lulu’s are $100.  I kind of agree though.  I have been practically living in my Joe Fresh pants for over six months and they have not balled at all.  My new Lulu’s I have only had for a month or two and are already starting to ball a bit in…well…certain places ;).

Anyway, I was telling our intern Mary today what I think really helps get me into our lunchtime yoga is not being able to watch myself in the mirror.  I love that we have no mirror in the boardroom we practice yoga in, because with no mirror I can imagine myself in these amazing positions and feel like my body is doing them awesomely and looking amazing while doing it.  But if I’m doing yoga and  happen to glance at myself in a mirror, I’ll see what I really look like, and how it is not exactly as good as what I think I look like, and I start to concentrate more on how I look rather than how my body feels, and my practice doesn’t feel as good.  This is just what I’ve noticed.  But yeah, I like no mirror.

Lunchtime yoga broke up my day well (lunch was leftover chicken and quinoa stir fry from yesterday), and before I knew it, it was home time!  I love the feeling I get when I skip out of work on a Friday afternoon and it is bright and sunny.  And warm-ish.

It was beautiful this afternoon!

Thumbs Up For Sunshine + Weekend!

I was a very happy camper on my drive home.  Hence the thumbs up.  I picked up my lovely Andy-roo after work and we immediately went out for dinner, to the Royal Oak!  (You may remember the Oak from my So Nice We Ate There Twice post with our friends Mike and Bri.)

The Oak

It’s not quite nice enough just yet for the patio, so we ate inside.  I really do love the atmosphere, though Andrew had some problems with the sun in his eyes…

Hehehe

The glasses were helpful.

After perusing the menu for a while, I ended up ordering the California Chicken Club sandwich (so chicken again, what can ya do?), which included chicken, lettuce, tomato, bacon, and guacamole on focaccia, and a side salad.

Dinna

The guacamole definitely made this sandwich.  It was a really good combination.

I’m off to enjoy some Friday leisuring!

I hope you all enjoy your Friday and first day of April!

What are you looking forward to this weekend?

2 responses to “Chocolate Strawberry Green Monster

  1. I am up to working this weekend. Yay…

    Love your blog, by the way. I read it every day and have passed along the link to my mom and some friends, who have also become fans.

    And nice new shades!

Leave a Reply

