Sunshine And Green Monsters

Today is definitely the first day that has truly felt like spring!  I am sitting outside on my patio enjoying the sunshine as I’m writing this, and it feels naaaaiiiiice.  Ohh how I have missed this.

Winnie is a sunshine fan too!  Just like her mama ;).

Winnie Kitty In The Sunshine

Andmo had an early tee time on the golf course with some of his lads this morning (another sign of spring, first round of golf), so I was up bright and early with him ready for a good breakfast.

Saturday Breaky

A toasted whole wheat bagel topped with peanut butter, banana, and maple flax seeds.  Nothing new, it’s been a staple combo for me lately, but it is delicious and filling.

One More Time

(I decided to use our nice SLR camera rather than my crappy iPhone [though I love my iPhone] for some of my photos lately, so you may notice a difference…hopefully for the better, or I guess I’m just a terrible photographer.)

I let that settle for a bit and then decided I wanted to get out in the sunshine!  Since my first 5k run is in one week and one day (yikes!), I decided I’d better get crack’a lackin’ on some kilometres!

Hi!

(Yeah, I took a self portrait in front of my mirror.  I’m cool like that.)

I’m wearing my new $7 Forever 21 capris if you’ll notice.  I am a big fan of them already.

I always find the first few minutes of a run to be the hardest.  I wasn’t feeling it so much, so I went back to my fave running mantra of “I have to run, I do not have to run fast,” and basically just jogged at a slow, steady pace.  It helped, because 10 minutes in or so I started to get more into it and I picked it up.  I ended up running for 30 minutes, and then had a 15 minute cool down walk.

I was hot also!  I had a lightweight long-sleeved shirt on because I thought the sunshine might be deceiving and it was actually cold out, but it was definitely not needed.  I was a schweaty mess when I was done.  It felt nice though.  While running itself may not be the most fun, the sense of accomplishment afterwards is seriously the BEST feeling.  Running is the only form of exercise I get that feeling with, and the main reason why I like it.

After showering and doing some chores around the house (got the patio all ready for leisuring in the sunshine!), I was hungry for lunch.  I didn’t want anything too heavy because we’re going to Andreezy’s parent’s for dinner and I know his grandma has unlimited yummy treats she’s going to offer me ;).  I didn’t feel like a salad, I didn’t want a bagel or a sandwich, I was debating making myself an unhealthy plate of nachos, and then I thought…wait, green monster fo’ lunch?  Yes please!

Green Deliciousness

Into my blender went:

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 banana (probably better with a frozen banana, but I didn’t have any frozen ones)
  • 1 large handful spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk (you could use any milk of your choice)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds (optional)
  • 4 ice cubes

Ready For Blendin'

I mixed it all up and it was ready to go!

Yummers

I am seriously in love with these smoothies.  They are so, so good, and I love that they’re healthy.  I enjoyed mine with a straw in the sunshine on my patio and it was perfect!

Enjoy your Saturday, hope it’s sunny for you!

2 responses to “Sunshine And Green Monsters

  1. You look A-M-AZING Lindz!!!! 🙂 …. but you always did anyway ;). Keep writin’ and I’ll keep readin’ …. such a great blog!

Leave a Reply

