Flying Solo

I am really not a fan of when people say they have good news and bad news.  It reminds me of when my beloved car, The Teal Mobile, broke down in college and my mechanic called me and said “I have good news and bad news.  The good news is, it’s not your clutch!”  To which I responded “Hurrah, and also yippee!” (He knew I had been worried it was the clutch, and they are pricey to fix.)

Packed Into The Teal Mobile

And then he said “The bad news is, it’s your engine.  There’s a huge crack in it…and it’s not worth fixing.”

😦

I think that would be bad news and worse news actually…

Shmanyways, I definitely have some good news and bad news but no need to gird your loins because it’s really not that bad.

The good news is Mary our intern is the new Team Manager for the Ontario Women’s Rugby Team!  Very exciting, and huge congratulations to Mary.  She loooves rugby so it’s a dream job for her.

The bad news is (and it’s really only bad for me), tryouts for the team are this weekend and she has to be there, so she will no longer be able to run with me on Sunday in my first 5k!  This means I will be flying solo.

I was excited for a running buddy, although I know Mary is a much faster runner than I am and I’d probably be eating her dust, but it was comforting to know I’d have her there for moral support.  Doing it alone is kind of scary and I briefly debated not running either, but I’m all signed up and I’ve been excited about it so I am putting it in writing right now, I am still running in the 5k.  Rain or shine (it’s supposed to rain :().

Now I am accountable to my four followers ;).

Nothing too new on the eating front today, but lucky for you guys you get to see pictures of it anyway…

We were all out of oatmeal this morning (Andy-roo is on the oatmeal bandwagon these days so he has been depleting my stocks!), so I made myself a yogurt bowl with Liberté vanilla Greek yogurt topped with blueberries, crasins, and Kashi Berry Crunch cereal.

Yog Bowl

It was a yummy breakfast, but it did mean I had to switch up my mid-morning snack since I typically have Greek yogurt with fruit.  I ended up snackin’ on apple slices with peanut butter, and it was a nice little change.

For lunch I was back to that salad thang, ’cause it’s been a while!

Welcome Back, Salad!

In the mix is baby spinach, broccoli slaw, sliced plum tomatoes, cucumbers, sunflower seeds, slivered almonds, chia seeds, and goat cheese.  It was jam-packed full of goodness, and quite delicious!

And my dinner was awesomely yummy and fueled me through a 5k run on the treadmill tonight! (I actually skipped my BodyPump class because I was feeling the run so much.  Let’s hope I’m still feeling it on Sunday!)

Dinna!

Quinoa and shrimp stir fry, once again!  (You can view the original recipe here.)  It was just as good as the first time, took no time at all, and was very filling without being too heavy.  I can’t get enough of this stuff.  And of course there is lots of feta in there!

Nothing new, but a good day of eating for sure!  (Disclaimer: please know I do not post everything I eat.  There were snacks that went undocumented, and one included a Penguin bar ;).)

Have a good night!

Question: How many snacks do you typically have during the day?

I usually have three.  One mid-morning, one around 3:00 pm, and a small one after dinner.

3 responses to “Flying Solo

  1. Lol @ your car story. Good for you for still running! Im sure you’ll be awesome!

  2. i am about the same for snacking….i snack alot!
    i love your blog btw, i’ve been reading it for a few weeks and it always makes me laugh. and you’ve given me some great snack ideas!

Leave a Reply

