Campus Cafeteria Food

Today’s workday was spent at Brock University in St. Catharines, as we have a coaching symposium coming up there in May and we were doing one last site visit.

Our conference committee spent the morning touring around the campus and finalizing some deets.  Fun times.

Last Year's Committee

We host a conference similar to this each year, and they are always a lot of fun.

Volleyballs Anyone?

(The above pic is from the conference two years ago)

After our tour, it was time for lunch!

I was extremely impressed with the food selection in Brock’s cafeteria.  If I was in school there I would probably gain a million pounds.  They had a salad bar that rivaled Druxy’s, a pizza station, pasta station, various soups, hot meal options, sandwiches, basically everything.  And a stir fry station that was set up similar to the Mongolian Grill!

Grill

You pick all your own veggies, meat, and sauce, and then they cook it for you on the circular grill (with water, not oil).  Obviously that is what I ended up getting ;).

Lunch!

I picked a bunch of veggies and chose to add chicken. I also added some sesame seeds and peanuts to this mix.  Served on top of rice noodles, it was pretty amazing.

And I made the mistake of walking by the dessert section and the cheesecake caught my eye.  I couldn’t pass it up.

Raspberry Cheesecake

It was really good, but it was very rich.  I was a little too stuffed after this meal, and felt kinda gross full for the rest of the day.  I skipped my afternoon snack, and didn’t eat again until I got home.

Ando made us pizza for dinner!

Homemade Pizza!

He topped a thin crust with pizza sauce, turkey pepperoni, spinach, red pepper and cheese.

My Plate

It turned out perfectly, and I was completely happy not to have to make dinner tonight ;).

Question:  Did you gain weight in college due to the ample food selection in the cafeteria?

I definitely did.  I still find it hard to eat healthy with the abundance of unhealthy foods surrounding me.  Though I chose a healthier stir fry for lunch today, I still couldn’t resist the cheesecake!  Eating one of those every day would definitely pack on the pounds.

8 responses to “Campus Cafeteria Food

  1. Don’t students still refer to the “freshman/freshwoman 15?”
    All you could eat buffet, dairy and bread at my university many years ago. I’m glad to see that it has changed.

  2. Oh I gained the weight alright. My personal faves were KFC, Subway (and not the healthy version – more like the fattiest meats, and extra cheese on white bread with ‘extra mayo’), pizza (especially after the bar), and my meal plan also included Eastside Mario’s and Casey’s, which did wonders for my hips and thighs. My handy meal plan also included taxis, so all we had to do to get back to our dorm was call up a cab. Thank goodness for Curves, which helped me shed the 30 pounds I gained!

  3. I most definately did. Most of mine were from eating ramen noodles, mac and cheese and peanut butter sandwiches. I stayed in to eat but, if my school had the type of cafeteria you were at, I would still be indebt and obese.

  4. I think it was a combo of the inactivity, alcohol and ridiculous food selection that did it for me. I can’t just blame the food because I kept gaining weight even when I was away from campus! I never understood people who stayed fit during university, they were ‘something like a phenomenon’ in the words of LL Cool J. It’s interesting how many people have lost their university weight though. I think most of us look better than we did in high school now. Must be our new found maturity….
    And on that note….I liked how you gently handled those balls in your pic.

    • I was thinking about that the other day actually, how we all look better now than in high school (minus my orange hair phase). haha, totally the maturity.
      That’s probably what did me in too, the combo of everything!

Leave a Reply

