Boccia Losers (But A Winner Dinner!)

Well friends, it is a sad, sad day.  We are out of the playoffs for Office Boccia, so that means, no trophy and no money for an office social.  Le sigh.

Our game today was against the founders of Office Boccia, Ontario Wheelchair Sports Association + ParaSport Ontario, who happen to also be two-time champions (three-time?), so I knew going into this that our chances were not good.  The game was in their office (home court advantage!), and we were seeded 14th, them 3rd.  The odds were not in our favour.

However, we have beat them before in an exhibition round of boccia, so I knew it could be done!

Ballers

From left: Mary, myself, Boss (our team), Matt and Mike (their team, but they were missing a third member today).

Fun fact about Mike, he actually works in our office, but when he started Office Boccia he worked for their office.  When he switched jobs, he stayed on his old boccia team.  Basically, he ditched us.  He is a traitor, and we harass him about it all the time ;).

On the bright side, if his team ends up winning, we get to crash the office social they get to have with the prize money (since he works with us).  This happened once before and we got a sweet bowling trip out of the deal.  There is always a silver lining.

Shmanyways, we played hard, and it did end up being a close game.

A few of rounds like this:

Round 1

One point for red (us)…

Round 2

One point for blue (them)…

But we lost 5-3.  We went into the last end 3-3, and they scored two to win.  Boo.

I had an impossibly good shot, which actually saved us from losing earlier than we did, and my boss got so excited he started fist pumping, Jersey Shore style.  I didn’t capture it on camera, sadly.

Boccia Action

Pretty good face right there though… Office Boccia is always intense.

At least afterwards I had a good lunch to look forward to!

Goat Cheese & Jam Bagelwich

This was seriously one of the best lunches I have ever had.  Toasted whole wheat bagel (WW) topped with goat cheese and strawberry jam.  Kind of a random combo (Alejandrew was looking at me like I was crazy when I was packing my lunch this am), but if goat cheese works with apple, why not jam?

I'mma Eat You, Bagelwich

So good.  So so so good.  New lunch obsession.  I savoured every last bite and I wanted to cry when it was over.  I could have eaten that bagel all day.  I rounded out my mid-day meal with some carrots and grape tomatoes on the side (which paled in comparison to the bagelwich).

Onto dinner!

When I get home from work, I am incredibly hungry.  I want to eat, and I want to eat now.  I do not want to spend hours in the kitchen prepping dinner, so my weekday meals tend to be fast and easy.  Ideally I’d like to be eating within 40 minutes of getting home, or else Ando better look out…

Today’s dinner was super amazing and took 25 minutes total.

Dinner!

Salmon, roasted cauliflower, and leftover quinoa and bean power salad.

That salmon was gooood.  I googled around for recipes, and found this one on AllRecipes that I modified quite a bit (I ain’t got no time for marinatin’!)

Here is the recipe with my quick modifications to suit my weekday dinner needs:

Brown Sugar Lemon Soy Salmon

Ingredients

  • 1 ginormous salmon fillet (probably about 1.5 pounds)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce (I used low sodium)
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • garlic powder to taste
  • salt and peppa

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Put salmon on a baking dish covered with foil.  Spray salmon with cooking spray (I used olive oil spray) and season with garlic powder, salt and pepper.
  3. In a small bowl, stir together soy sauce, brown sugar, and lemon juice and pour over salmon.
  4. Cover salmon with foil and bake for 20 minutes, or until the fish flakes easily with a fork (I actually baked it for 15 minutes, and then broiled it for the last 5)
Donezo.  I sprinkled garlic flax seeds on top of my salmon, but that is optional.  The salmon was tender, juicy, and perfectly yummy.

Yummers

I baked cauliflower alongside the salmon that I sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with garlic salt.

Easy.  Quick.  Delicious.  #winning.
Good eats all around today (breakfast was oatmeal with peanut butter, honey and chia seeds, and a splash of almond milk).

Oaty & Delicious

I’m outta here!  Enjoy your evening!

3 responses to “Boccia Losers (But A Winner Dinner!)

  1. Goats cheese is so good with fruit…I’ve gone bananas for the blueberry vanilla chevre from sams club. Its like eating blueberry cheesecake (but without the crust!)

  2. Pingback: Double Lunches | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

