Banana Blueberry Green Monster

First of all, thank you to Squash Ontario for featuring this blog in the Leisure section (and I do like to leisure) of their Squash Ontario Daily newsletter!  This was a huge surprise and totally made my week.  There are a ton of other (more) interesting articles in there, so I think everyone should check it out!  Do it!

I woke up this morning debating what to have for breakfast.  Since Ando apparently doesn’t know how to peel a banana properly (he accidentally peeled four bananas trying to pull one away from the bunch), we had a bunch of frozen bananas chilling in the freezer.

You know what frozen bananas call for…a green monster!

Green (Brown?) Monsta

Or a brown sludge beast…I dunno, but it was delicious either way!

In this mix is:

  • 1.5 frozen bananas
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries (you could also use fresh)
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • 3 ice cubes

I blended it until it was naaaiiiice and smoothy-smooth, and then I drank it all up!

Looks Like Bum, Tastes Like Yum

Oh so good.  Once again could not taste the spinach!  The perfect breakfast to fuel me through my workday.  Yumtastic.

Lunch was an old favourite of mine.  Tuna salad!

Fishy Lunch

I made my tuna salad last night while dinner was in the oven (multitasking baby!), and I included 2 stalks of celery (I like it crunchy), green onion, and a tablespoon of mayo.  I served it with baby spinach on a whole wheat wrap, and with some grape tomatoes on the side, it was a good little lunch.

Wrap It Up!

However, I still felt a little peckish after this so I wandered downstairs for a little lunch supplement in the form of a Druxy’s butternut squash soup!  It was my first time trying this kind of soup from Druxy’s, but it will definitely be added to my soup rotation.  It was so good, and low-cal also, which is always good.

My soup went unpictured, but my dessert sure didn’t…

Gushers!

Remember Gushers?!  I found those this morning at the back of our pantry, and I knew I had to pack ’em into my lunch today.  I haven’t eaten them in forever.  They reminded me of elementary school ;).  And of course I saved the red ones for last (green were the first to go).

After work I headed straight to the gym.  I had planned on doing the 5:30 BodyPump class, but I had to pick up Alejandrew from work at about 6:15, so I wouldn’t have had time for the whole class.  I ended up hitting up the arc trainer, which I think turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because it was open house night at my gym, which means bring all yo’ friends, your lover and your mother, and the Body Pump class looked absolutely rammed.

Also, this was my view from the arc trainer.

Gym Sushi Party

Seriously, that was right beside me.  I snapped it from my arc trainer post.  I could have reached out and grabbed some sushi while arc training.  Apparently open house gym night means all-you-can-eat sushi and fruit.  I wasn’t quite feeling sushi after my sweaty workout, or I would have been all over it.  I did snag a couple pieces of pineapple though…  And I could smell that salty tangy soy sauce the entire time, and all I could think about was dinner! (which was my new fave goat cheese and grilled vegetable pizza from Panago, which went unpictured).

I’m off to watch American Idol with Andreezy and Taylor.  Later gators!

Question:  What is your cardio machine of choice?  Treadmill, elliptical, arc trainer, stair master, bike?

You know how I feel about the treadmill, and I feel like the elliptical doesn’t give me the greatest workout (my personal opinion, I know how popular it is), the stair master kicks my bootay within 5 minutes, but it is the arc trainer where my heart lies!  I have been loving the arc trainer lately!

Arc Trainer

It’s similar to the elliptical, but I find it gives me a better workout.  It gets my heart rate pumpin!

2 responses to “Banana Blueberry Green Monster

  1. I use the arc trainer too! Do you like high or low intensity? Or do you mix it up, etc.?

    • I switch it up! I will usually do a 5 min. warm-up on 15-20 resistance, and then I alternate between 25-40 resistance and intervals with the incline. I will also usually do a couple minutes of higher intensity sprints.

Leave a Reply

