Spring Cleaning

Last night Anderoni and I hit up my friend Dawn’s house to celebrate her boyfriend Mark’s birthday.

Finger Bite

(Me, Dawnald, Jo, Uncle Leon, Melon)

We had a good time hanging out, playing flip-cup (prob my fave party game of all time), and eating cake.

Cake + Ice Cream

The cake was yummy.  Dawn made it for her lovah, and I’d post a picture of the whole thing but it was X-rated, and this is a family blog ;).

Three of my high school gals were there as well, so I had fun catching up with them.

Lisa, Jo, Moi, Dawnald

It turned into quite the party and after a few hours the celebration moved over to a local bar.  Being the 80-year-olds we are, Ando and I skipped that part and headed home.  Still a good night though!

After waking this morning, Andmo and I enjoyed a late breakfast consisting of yesterday’s lunch leftovers.

Leftovahs

Just as good as the first time.  I cannot get enough of those egg and salsa wraps!  I am planning on making them tomorrow for brunch at my Dad’s house.

This big ol’ breakfast powered me through our spring cleaning fest.  We seriously spent more than five hours cleaning our house today.  We cleaned everything.  We are both fairly tidy, so we keep our house pretty surface clean.  However, we both dislike hardcore cleaning, so serious dusting (like under things, not just around them), baseboard scrubbing, cupboard wiping, cleaning under the sink, etc. doesn’t happen very often around here.

We put on some beats and went to town, divvying up the chores.  I took our main everything room (living room + dining room), master bedroom, family room, office, kitchen and front hall.  Ando got to do the bathrooms (we have three full bathrooms, so it’s a big job), floors, and vaccuuming (including the stairs, sucka!).  This was alllllright with me, as those three are my least-favourite chores for sure.

Gleaming Kitch

I took all the appliances off the counter, scrubbed it, wiped down all the cupboards, cleaned the mirrored backsplash, and then cleaned each separate appliance and put it back in its place.  Sad to say that I don’t think I’ve ever done that.

Ando’s bathrooms were gleaming also.

Master Bath

And Again...

I realize this is not exciting at all, but it leads me to a question.  Andmo and I are thinking about getting a housekeeper just for the floors, vacuuming, dusting, and bathrooms, once or twice a month.  This is totally new to me.  If you have a housekeeper, do you recommend getting one?  Is it expensive?  Worth the price?  Do they do a good job, or are they sloppy?  Have they taken off with your jewelry?  Any Molly Maid-type organizations you would recommend?  Tell me yo’ thoughts!

Shmanyways, it feels awesome having all this cleaning business taken care of.  Now I can fully leisure without anything bothering me.  I love spring cleaning once it’s over!

When we finally finished I realized how ridiculously nice it was outside!  Sunny, +18 degrees, and a warm breeze.  I decided to get some fresh air and go for a run.  It was my first outdoor run since my 5k and I felt a little sluggish in the beginning (this could also be due to the inordinate amount of food I’ve been consuming over the last couple days), but I got more into it and ended up completing about 4k in 30 minutes.  Not too shabby!

Tonight’s dinner was Kraft dinner and sliced turkey dogs made by Alejandrew (I haven’t had KD in forever, it was delicious and reminded me of summer ;)), and I made a salad to go along with it to healthify it up a bit.

Dinna

My salad was pretty delicious as well.  It included baby spinach, thinly sliced red onion, walnuts, feta cheese and pomegranate arils.  So good!

YUMMY!

Those arils are tricky little minxes to get out of the pomegranate.  This was my first time making anything with pomegranates so I had to look up a tutorial on how to slice open the pomegranate.  I will tell you guys if anyone is interested.  Make sure you’re wearing an apron or old clothes, because it can be messy and the red juice will stain your clothes!

First slice off the crown.


Then cut lengthwise with a sharp knife in between each of the aril patches.

One at a time, put each section in a bowl filled with water and pull out the arils (under water because it is messy, and this way the red juice doesn’t get everywhere).  Let the arils fall to the bottom of the bowl.  Strain out the water, and voila!


Juicy little arils for ya.  They’re so good!

Annnd I’m off.  Enjoy your Saturday!  I hope the Easter Bunny is good to you all tomorrow morning! 🙂

3 responses to “Spring Cleaning

  1. Evanoff….of all the pics you put up, you put the one of Leon sexually harassing my face. Come on. On a happier note, so glad you guys came out! Can’t wait to tell you allll my stories. I’m definitely going to Don this week….so I REALLY hope to see you there.

    • haha, that was the only one I had of all of us, you picture ruiners! I think Jo has a better one she’s going to email me. I am excited to hear your stories as well.
      Yes to Don, I want to go spinning!

  2. Pingback: Can’t Find Happy or Hungry? No Worries | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

