Nana Visit

Hello friends!

I am lucky enough to have this Easter Monday off work (I know a lot of people are working today, Andrew included), so I decided to spend it visiting my beautiful little Nana.

Beautiful Nanners

She was unfortunately unable to make it to my dad’s Easter brunch yesterday, so I wanted to give her some Easter love.

Before I left this morning I enjoyed a quick breakfast consisting of a whole wheat tortilla topped with peanut butter and a banana.

PB + Banana

I then rolled it into a wrap!

Wrap It Up!

Nothin’ fancy, but it did the trick!

Back to Nana time.  We had a good little visit.  She lives about an hour away from me now, so I don’t get to see her as often as I’d like.  When she still lived in Toronto I used to hop on over to her pad for lunch about once a week (some of the best lunches of my life were enjoyed in her apartment), so I miss those days.  We do talk a lot on the phone though, as my Nana tends to be a bit of a phone stalker ;).

Nanny's Girl

Lots o’ love for my favourite gal!

Side note:  For being almost 97, doesn’t she have great skin?!  I don’t know if it is genetics or what (hopefully genetics! :D), but I ask her for her skin secrets all the time and she always tells me to “moisturize, moisturize, moisturize!” and that under-eye cream is very important, even at my age.  I also know she has used regular Oil of Olay moisturizer every day of her life, so I am now an avid user of it as well.

She is very funny about her appearance.  Even now in her nursing home, she will not go downstairs for breakfast without putting on makeup (concealer and lipstick), and doing her hair, and she would never go downstairs in her pajamas or even her robe.  She must get dressed first.  Most of the other residents don’t even know where their room is (or where they are, it is very sad), but my Nana always looks her best!  She kills me.  She also gives me hope for when I am old, because she is still so with it.

If you have read my other Nana posts (you can find them here, and here if you’re interested), you know what visiting The Nana means… Care package!

Today's Care Package

She always has a little somethin’ for me ;).  Today’s care package had a strong Easter theme.  Two chocolate eggs (that Cadbury cream egg was devoured seconds after this photo was snapped), a little knitted baby chick (I don’t know…), a very practical and attractive change purse (haha), Aero bar (will be donated to Andypants), and a pair of aromatherapy socks, which I am going to go out on a limb and say were either won at Bingo or Mystery Word (her fave game, she looooves Mystery Word).  There were also a couple of my favourite little foil eggs that did not make the drive home…

Ah, my Nana is awesome.

(Edit: I forgot to mention the change purse had $16 in it.  Score.)

When I arrived home it was nearly one o’clock and I was hungry fo’ lunch!

I have been noticing some bloggers adding xanthan gum to their smoothies to thicken them up, so last time I was grocery shopping I picked some up.

Xanthan Gum

(Found at Superstore in the organic/health foods section.)

I have been anxious to try it out and see if I noticed a difference in my smoothies, so today was the day!

I made myself a green monster smoothie including:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • chia seeds
  • pinch xanthan gum (for thickening)

I blended away until I had this:

Green & Thick Yumminess

It was thick!  So deliciously thick!  I ate it with a spoon, and it was almost like ice cream.  Xanthan gum was a good buy, and I think it will be a staple in my smoothies from now on!

Spoonful O' Smoothie

(Yes I realize this smoothie looks like it could have been from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Secret Of The Ooze, but trust me, it was delicious.)

Since it is a short week and I have a million things to do at work, I am off to do a little work from my bed home ;).

Did you have to work today?  If you are off work, are you doing anything fun?

4 responses to “Nana Visit

  1. This morning I had a bagel with cream cheese, apple slices & cinnamon a la you & it was delicious. It was like I was eating pie for breakfast. Yum!

  2. Thanks for the nanny update! She looks awesome as always. I love these updates and the pictures of her. I miss that little lady.. and you too (of course)
    Say hi to her next time and chat soon,
    Chrissy

  3. Pingback: Office Boccia Finals and Valentine’s Card Regifting | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

