Parsnip Fries

Since I have been enjoying turnip fries so much lately, and I hear there are a few other vegetables you can make fries with, for tonight’s dinner I decided to try out parsnip fries!

Parsnips

I picked those bad boys up at the grocery store on Saturday with the intent of making them sometime this week.  I had a bit of extra time today for the prep, so I decided to go ahead and do it.

Preparing the parsnip fries was very similar to preparing turnip fries.  I first washed and peeled the parsnips, and cut off the ends.  I then sliced them into fries with a sharp knife, which was a little trickier than slicing the turnip fries, since they are carrot shaped, but it worked out.

Parsnip Fries

I sprayed them with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled them with garlic salt and a bit of Cajun seasoning before baking them at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes.

Andmo and I enjoyed the parsnip fries alongside homemade baked chicken fingers (boneless skinless chicken tenders that I dredged in egg and then Italian breadcrumbs).  I was so into the fries, I didn’t snap a proper pic of the chicken (though it was also delicious!).

Just Like The Real Deal!

I have to say, parsnip fries are amazing!  I think I actually liked them better than turnip fries!  The texture was similar to a regular french fry (whereas I find turnip fries to be a little mushier), and they are low in calories and fat, and nutritious.  Parsnip fries for the win!  I will definitely be making these again!

Fries Need Ketchup!

I’m off to get ready for BodyPump.  Hopefully I can turn all the Easter chocolate I’ve been eating into some muscle ;).

3 responses to “Parsnip Fries

  1. I love parsnip fries! Thanks for reminding me of how awesome they are – definitely on the menu this weekend 🙂

  2. Pingback: Lots o’ Leftovahs | Happy or Hungry

  3. Pingback: Just the Girls (Well, + Eric) | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

