I Like Chips!

One of my very favourite things in the world is receiving packages in the mail.  I rarely get any good mail (bills are not good), so packages are exceptionally exciting!

It is also no secret that I love any and all things free.  And free food?  Even better.

So when a mysterious package was personally delivered to my office this morning, I all but peed myself.

What Eez Dis?

What could be inside?

Chips!

Ohh yes.

The gals at Rock-It Promotions sent me six kinds of these babies to try out!

Ohh Yumfest

I cracked open the sea salt and vinegar chips right away, and the bag was devoured in minutes.  They were very tasty.

So here is the story behind PopChips.  They are real potato chips, though healthier, and they are POPPED, not baked or fried.  According to the PopChips website, they are made with all-natural ingredients, with no fake colours, no fake flavours, and no preservatives.

I was impressed with the nutrition stats.

Stats

100 calories per bag (not bad), with zero trans and saturated fats?  For chips?  Not too shabby.  I don’t even think Baked Lays can claim that (and I actually thought they were a lot better than Baked Lays).

So I was pretty impressed with the chips.

Chips Fo' Meeee

Over the course of the day, my coworkers and I ate all six bags (and I saved the barbecue for Andy-roo), so I tried all the flavours.  My faves were definitely the sea salt and vinegar and sour cream and onion, but they were all pretty good.  My entire office enjoyed them.

Chippers

They reminded me a bit of rice chips, but they were a lot better (let me just say, I am not a fan of rice cakes.  They have absolutely zero nutritional value, they don’t fill me up at all, and I just don’t think they’re very good).

Oh, and guess who is also a big fan of them?

PopChips Pop Culture President

Ashton Kutcher.  I wonder if these chips help Demi stay so slim?

Shmanyways, let’s get on to the rest of the day’s eats!

Chocolate Green Monster

A chocolate green monster for breakfast, which included:

  • Spoonful of cocoa powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • 2 handfuls fresh baby spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • Squirt o’ honey to taste
  • 2 pinches xanthan gum (to thicken)

So thick and chocolately and delicious.  Perfect breakfast.

Lunch looked like this:

Ham Bagelwich

Ham, spinach, and spinach cream cheese on a toasted multigrain bagel thin.  And a bit of Caesar salad on the side that was leftover from a meeting (note: Caesar is my least favourite salad, I like to pack my salads full of different veggies, nuts, and seeds, but if it’s around, I’ll still eat it ;)).  I also had about half a pint of grape tomatoes that went unpictured.

And dinner!

Pasta!

Whole wheat yolk-free egg noodles, topped with ground chicken, Prego pasta sauce, spinach, chopped green pepper, and a sliced onion.

Spinach made its way into all my meals today!  Sneaky spinach…

And I’m off!  Hope you all had a great almost Friday!

What is your favourite potato chip flavour?
I have two that I love equally:  ketchup and dill pickle!

5 responses to “I Like Chips!

  1. I found the Pop Chips at the store over the weekend. I had the salt and pepper and they are very good. I had a few of them but the kids ate the rest of the bag.

    I like all flavors of chips. The weirder the better and hot ones rank high with me as well.

  2. i LOVE salt and vinegar. the first time i typed that it was vin-gear. hm.

  3. Pingback: Friday FTW | Happy or Hungry

  4. Pingback: Marlene’s Pink Warriors | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

