Bucket Party

So last night Andmo and I hit up our friends’ Karen and Chris’s for Karen’s Birthday Bucket Party Extravaganza.  When Karen and Chris were on their honeymoon, they went to Thailand where they enjoyed traditional buckets of…adult juice.  I don’t know all the deets, but apparently it was good times and they were big fans of the buckets (I really like the word bucket so I will be using it as much as possible in this post).  Karen wanted to recreate this for her birthday and host a bucket party.

It was an awesome idea, and let me tell you, if you are ever wondering how to get a party started…hand your guests a bucket.  It was literally a bucket of fun.

Bucket Girls

Leah, myself and Bri with our buckets.  We even got to decorate them!

I wouldn’t have thought it was possible to have a classy bucket party, but Karen definitely pulled it off!

Bucket Boys

Even the boys are classy with their buckets.

Birthday Girl + Bucket

A good bucket time all around!

Me & Mah Undecorated Bucket

Workout

This morning I woke up feeling slightly less than stellar (I am going to go ahead and blame the bucket), so I dragged myself out of bed and immediately decided to go for a run.  This may seem like an insane idea, but it has been the best way to perk myself up lately.  Just like last weekend when I ran to retrieve our car after a night out, I felt a bagillion times better when I was done.

Plus it was so beautiful outside!

Perfect Day

I completed my run in about 30 minutes and did just under 5k.  Both my runs today and yesterday have felt super light and easy, even though I have been keeping a decent pace.  I was telling the girls last night how amazed I am at this because I seriously used to hate running.  I know I have said this a million times before, but I really need to emphasize how much I used to want to punch running in the face.  I never would have thought it was possible that I would ever be a runner.  I really thought it wasn’t for me, and why bother, I’m never going to be able to do it.

I think running is so much more mental than physical.  When I used to start out my runs, I would immediately think “why am I doing this to myself, I hate running, this sucks, I should be on my couch, this is so boring,” and in the beginning, I would stop and turn around.  But then I started forcing myself to keep going, and just get out there and do it, run through the hate!  Things started to turn around.  Suddenly I wasn’t forcing myself to like running anymore, I actually did like it!  My body was adapting, and soon I could go further and faster than I ever thought possible, and it was so uplifting and motivating!

I am saying all this not because I think I’m a running superstar (I’m not), but because I hear people talk about how they hate running, and how they’re not a runner, and it’s not for them… And that was so me!  But I think it is a mental block and it’s possible to overcome it.  Just get out there and do it.  Or, you know, don’t…this is just my opinion…

Anyway, I’m sure you’re all hoping I’ll shut up and get onto some food, so let’s do it.

When I got back from my run, I was hungry for breakfast, so I made up a batch o’ Greek yogurt pancakes!  (follow that link to the recipe if you want it!)

Yummy Little Cakes

I haven’t made these again since the first time, and I forgot how delicious they are!  I covered them with syrup and dug in.  They were the perfect Sunday breakfast.  Yummy scrumboes and a half.

Enjoy your Sunday!

Questions of the afternoon:
If you are a runner, have you always enjoyed running?
If you used to hate running like me, how did you start to like it?
If you still hate running, do you ever plan on overcoming your fear of the pavement?

8 responses to “Bucket Party

  1. catherinekittenthecat

    I am soooo trying to get over my fear of running! I was really hoping that when we have lunch you will tell me how amazing it is and finally give me that kick start I need to get going! But it is sooooo hard!

  2. I am new to running and I used to HATE it! I never understood why people would put themselves through such torture. However, I decided to start couch to 5K back in March and I have to admit, I’m kind of hooked! There’s just nothing like completing that first long run or going further and further to make you feel good about yourself.

    By the way – I really enjoy your blog! Keep up the good work with the running 🙂 I’m hoping to do my first 5K soon.

  3. Looking at everything you do always puts me back into my vanilla shell. I wouldn’t be able to handle a Bucket Party. I would be passed out after one bucket.

  4. I like vanilla ice cream.

  5. My reader just gave this to me as a new post. Idek. But I do know that I need a bucket party immediately!!

    I run (slog) but I don’t really consider myself a ‘runner’. I’m not sad if I miss it. I don’t loooove it, but I’m getting better. I’m trying to work on the mental aspect. I’ve been running about the same time/distance and realize that I should really be getting better and going farther, but I haven’t been pushing myself. It is all mental. It isn’t like I end my run with all out exertion so I can’t run another step. I just stop and walk awhile. So I’m trying to push myself. I can only run with motivational music though!

    Thank you for your sweet, not at all creepy comment on my blog. It made me laugh b/c I legit had typed “I followed you from twitter b/c you look like Kate Hudson!” and thought, whoa, that’s wicked creepy and stalkery. Which I am, but I like to keep it a secret before all the crazy comes out.

  6. Pingback: The LeBarge Booze Cruise | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

