Another Day, Another Quinoa Stir Fry

Bonjour!

It is another gorge day here!  I was back to that regular work thang today, so I spent most of the day sitting indoors at my desk, but ho hum pig’s bum, what can ya do?  Hurrah for weather that is finally May-like, at least.

Today got off to a good start with my morning meal!

Kashi Go Lean Crunch

(Side note: I love how sunny and bright it is in the morning’s these days!  Not only are my breakfast pics better, but I wake up feeling naaaiiiice.  I think I may have to start up morning running again…if I can make myself get up early enough.)

Shmanyways, b-fast was Kashi Go Lean Crunch cereal with 1% milk and raspberries.  I don’t eat cereal on its own very often (I prefer to add it on top of Greek yogurt for a little crunch) because I have a seeeeerious problem with portion control.  One serving of cereal is so little!  Half a cup?  Psh, come on.  That will not fill me up in the a.m. (not like oatmeal!), so this was probably two servings…maybe a little more?  Yummy though.

And on the bright side, I saw a list of best cereal’s on the Men’s Health website a little while ago, and Kashi Go Lean Crunch was on it.  So, probably better than two servings of Cap’n Crunch (used to be my FAVE when I was younger ;)).

A leftover quinoa stir fry was consumed for lunch.

Woo, Quinoa!

(I forgot my iPhone in the car and I was too lazy to run down to the parking garage to get it, so I took this crappy pic on my computer’s cam.  You like it.)

I made this quinoa yesterday, and it was basically a variation of the quinoa dishes I have been making over the last several weeks (which can all be found on the ol’ recipe page).  No beans or chickpeas this time, but it included spinach, red pepper, onion, garlic, green onion, and quinoa with a bit of balsamic vinegar.  I cooked the onion and garlic first in a bit of olive oil, then added the veggies, cooked for another five minutes or so, added the cooked quinoa to the pan, added the vinegar, and stirred everything together.

This is what it looked like last night when I made it…

Deeeeeelish

Much better than my crappy computer snapshot (and PS I served this alongside some delishy fishy).

I am LOVING these quinoa dishes!  If you haven’t tried quinoa yet, DO IT!  Also, I want to mention that I cook my quinoa in water, not broth.  I heard from two separate people that they only thought quinoa was okay, and they both cooked it in broth.  I don’t know if that makes the difference, because I haven’t tried it in broth, but when I cook it with water I think it is yummy to the max.  If you tried cooking it in broth and didn’t enjoy it, try water.

Now for dinnah…

Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

This was one of the very first dishes I made when I started this blog, awww (recipe is linked there if you want to check it out!).  I seriously used to make these all the time, but I haven’t in months. They are an Ando fave.

Some enchilada goodness fell out of the back there, but not to worry, I took care of it ;).  For being on the healthy side, these are deliciously yummy.  I have missed them.

Workout

Tonight’s workout was BodyPump!  We had a sub instructor and she wasn’t as good as the reg, but I still got a great workout.  That bicep track on the latest release is killer, and she switched up the chest track to a tricky one as well.  My arms and chest are burning.  I haven’t been to the ol’ Pump in a week though, so it was good to make my muscles scream!

I really wish I could do BodyPump in the a.m., because with the class, station set-up and take-down, and travel time to the gym, it takes at least an hour and a half out of my evening, phew!  Unfortunately, my gym doesn’t offer BodyPump in the morning until 9am, much too late for me…

What time of day do you prefer to workout?
I would much prefer to workout in the mornings, and then I don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day.  I hope to start running in the morning before work.  Maybe tomorrow?  We’ll see, don’t get too excited…

I found an article from Women’s Health on losing weight while working in an office that I thought was intriguing, check it out!  Some good tips, and I especially liked #4, scheduling snacks.  I am a GIANT fan of snack scheduling!  And tip #9, place bets.  Andmo’s mom had a Biggest Loser competition at her work and lost 22 pounds!  She used Weight Watchers, and it worked amazingly for her.

But I am outta here.  S’laters!

4 responses to “Another Day, Another Quinoa Stir Fry

  1. I love Kashi Go Lean Crunch! I mix it with my yogurt and it keeps me full for hours.

    I prefer to workout in the mornings, but have the hardest time getting up at 5am to do so. Any tips on getting up early and getting it over with? I found out that the gym near me is now offering Body Pump classes, so I am excited to try them. I’m just worried it will be really intense.

    • I did it this morning, although not quite 5am. I will write a post on this, but mainly I just forced myself out of bed and chose to not think about what I was about to do to my body until I was actually outside ready to run 🙂

      You will love BP! It’s only as intense as you make it (as you pick your own weight), but I was scared before my first class too. Go light until you get the moves down and you’ll be good to go! You should see some of the grannies pumping iron in my class, hehe.

  2. Help. I have lost all motivation to exercise. Seriously, please help me. All I want to do is garden. My fingers are slowly becoming permanently dirt encrusted. Help.

Leave a Reply

