I’m Baaaaaack (With BBQ Meatloaf)

Hello friends!  I hope all my little Canadian pallies had a fab long weekend!  And if you are American, I hope you had a good regular weekend.

May 2-4 long weekend has always been my favourite weekend of the entire year.  This is due mostly to where I used to live.  It’s pretty same old same old where I live now, but when I was growing up on a lake in cottage country, May 2-4 was the first weekend that all the cottagers were up!  Also meaning, this was the first weekend that all the boys were up ;).  I would always have my friend Dawn over for the entire weekend, and we would basically suntan and boy chase.  Good times.  I think I need to start a story time section of my blog, because there are so many stories I want to share, but they would be an entire post themselves.

Like the time Dawn and I “borrowed” a beat up row-boat we found, started rowing across the lake to a party we could hear, accidentally sunk the boat, but made it to the party…stranded.  And the party turned out to include a bunch of 40-year-olds with mullets.  I don’t have a picture of this, because my camera sunk with the boat.  Fun times.

Shmanyways, I took a little break from the blog this weekend, but I didn’t do anything all that exciting.  Ando was away at a boys’ cottage trip, so you know what that means…

Dance Floor Air Guitar

Party time!

(Photo from two summers ago)

No, not really… On Friday, I had a girls’ night with my friends Bri and Leah, whose boyfriends were away with Andmo on his boys’ weekend…

Myself, Bri, Leah

(Also from two summers ago…)

And Saturday was so gorgeous, I spent most of the day outside soaking up the sun!  I also dropped by my friend Dawn’s for a few hours in the evening.  I had actually planned to post, because I tried out some new eats (like spaghetti squash!), but I took photos on my good cam, which promptly ran out of batteries, and my charger is at work.  Ho hum.  A post without pictures is tres boring.

Hi, I ate spaghetti squash on Saturday!  It was surprisingly good!

(Insert pic of spaghetti squash)

See how boring?

But upon Alejandrew’s arrival home last night, I did make a nice beefy dinner for him to enjoy…BBQ meatloaf!

Beefy BBQ Meatloaf

I saw the recipe from Peanut Butter Fingers’ blog and I have been meaning to try that bad boy out for a while.  Since Ando is a giant fan of ground beef, and would eat it plain, I thought he’d be a lover of this dish, and I was not wrong!  It was delicious.

Here is the recipe:

BBQ Meatloaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2  pounds  ground beef, extra lean (raw)
  • 1/2  cup  dry breadcrumbs
  • 1/2  cup  chopped onion
  • 1/3  cup  barbecue sauce, divided
  • 1  tablespoon mustard
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  chili powder
  • 1  teaspoon  garlic powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 2  large egg whites
  • Cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine the beef, breadcrumbs, and onion, 1 tablespoon barbecue sauce, and remaining ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl.

Shape meat mixture into a 9 x 5-inch loaf or a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Spread remaining barbecue sauce over top of meat loaf. Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a thermometer registers 160°. Let stand 10 minutes. Cut loaf into 12 slices.

Yummy Little Loaf

I served it with a side of asparagus that I sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with garlic salt and roasted alongside the meatloaf for about 20 minutes.

My Plate

Yumballs.  I will be making this again, straight up.

For dessert I had all the goods to make strawberry shortcake, so you can bet that’s what we had!

I Love Shortcake

So easy.  All it takes is cool whip, fresh strawberries, and a mini sponge cake.  Andy-pants made a pretty serious double-decker shortcake with two cake shells, but just one was enough for me.  Though cool whip on its own is pretty good as well…

Do The Cool Whip!

Winnie looks like she agrees.

Ando is currently barbecuing up some turkey burgers that I made so I am hoping to post that recipe up here later.  I have some work to do as well (I have actually spent most of today finishing up my magazine, sadly :(), so we will see.  If not, it’s probably making its way into my lunch…

Workouts

Slacked a bit in the workout department weekend, not gonna lie… On Friday I had lunchtime yoga, and Bri and Leah came over right after work, and then later we ended up walking to Leah’s (which is about 4km and I think counts as exercise ;)).  I took Saturday off from anything (it was pretty hot for running outside anyway), but I did squeeze in a 30 minute run both today and yesterday.  Yesterday in the evening, and today first thing in the a.m.  I haven’t been running since last week, so it felt good to get back into it!

I’m off to see what’s kickin’ on the barbecue front!  S’laters!

5 responses to “I’m Baaaaaack (With BBQ Meatloaf)

  1. Meatloaf is not a sexy food. Though I am sure it was yummy.
    Love the strawberry shortcake! I have to take advantage of that. They are always tempting me with their display at the grocery store.
    How are you so awesome at random stuff? I will add air guitar to the list along with cup stacking, pregnancy week guessing and stocking application with dish gloves on.
    Word!

  2. Strawberry shortcake is my fav! Nothing seems more perfect for early summer.

  3. So, I don’t mean to come across as a preachy mcpreacherson, but have you ever looked at the ingredients on Cool Whip? It’s edible oil. Anything that has to be described as edible grosses me out. Just regular real whipped cream (I can’t remember the brand, but it comes in a red can with a red top) is much tastier, less gross & healthier. 😉

    • hmm…good call Devon. I don’t think I’ve ever bought cool whip or whip cream before, but I just checked the ingredients and you are not wrong. This did not stop me from squirting a bunch of it directly into my mouth just now though. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

