Sunday BBQ

Ahh weekend…you are much too short.  I am so sad that it’s Sunday night already.

Today was a good day though.  Ando and I spent most of it with our neighbours on their patio, and it was actually nice out!  No rain all day.

I wanted to bring a little something for us all to snack on, so I decided to make the Big Dipper (basically a cream cheese salsa dip) from Janet and Greta Podleski’s Eat, Shrink And Be Merry.

Nacho Dip

I have made this numerous times before, and I have to say, I think it is the best nacho dip I have ever tasted.  I am a big fan.

Here is the recipe:

The Big Dipper

(You can click on that photo to view it larger)

I left out the shrimp as I didn’t have any on-hand, as well as the olives, since I am not the biggest fan of them.  I also subbed plain Liberte Greek yogurt for sour cream to add a protein punch, and it was the perfect base for this dish since Greek yogurt has a thicker and creamier consistency.

Dippy Dip

This dip was annihilated by everyone!

Our neighbs also made us quite the barbecue for dinner.

BBQ'd Eats

Barbecued chicken that had been marinating in a Swiss Chalet sauce (so good), peppers and asparagus that was drizzled with balsamic vinegar, sprinkled with vegetable seasoning and then cooked in tinfoil on the barbecue, and Caesar salad and potato salad.  Yum friggin’ yum.

And for dessert…

Yumfest

Strawberry rhubarb pie topped with cool whip and fresh strawberries and blackberries.  I am not usually in love with rhubarb, but this was delicious!  I ate every last bite.

I’m off to sneak in some leisuring (and laundry, blech) before this weekend is over.  Hope you all had a great one!

11 responses to “Sunday BBQ

  1. That dip looks amazing! I’m mildly obsessed with adding Greek yogurt to everything

  2. I would DEVOUR that dip. I have an oooollld Janet & Greta cookbook called Looney Spoons that I think would be quite useful now!

    • I love their recipes! Looney Spoons is a good one too. Sometimes I find their ingredient lists to be pretty extensive, so not ideal for weeknight dinners… but that would be my only complaint.

  3. Pingback: Dip for Lunch | Happy or Hungry

  4. Mmm that BBQ looks delititous! (delicious and nutritious…i’m so clever).

  5. Omg! I love, love layered dip. I think it’s one of my favs in the appy department. I will have to try this.
    BBQ season is the best!

  6. Pingback: Your Sweater is Ugly | Happy or Hungry

  7. Pingback: Food Lately | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

