Meatless Monday

And just like that, it is Monday again.

I woke up in my bed this morning and longed for this to be my view…

Lake View from my Bed this Weekend

Seriously, FROM MY BED.

Why can’t I see that every morning?  Ahh, back to reality.

Back to healthy eats as well!  Though we actually ate fairly healthy cottage meals this weekend, there were a lot of unhealthy snacks.  The s’mores, late night chips, giant bowls of ice cream… I was sad to not be waking up at the cottage, but I welcomed healthy eating back into my routine with open arms.

Breakfast was up first.

Welcome Back, Bagel!

I topped a toasted whole wheat bagel with garlic and chive cream cheese and added some berries on the side.  I also had a handful of assorted nuts on the side that I didn’t get a pic of, to squeeze in some protein and keep me full longer!  I have noticed lately that if I skip on the protein for breakfast, I am absolutely ravenous by the time I get to work, so I’ve been trying to make sure I include it.

Lunch was a green salad that I bought on Friday from Superstore to bring up to the cottage and never ended up eating.  It still looked good, so it made for a quick and easy lunch.

Pre-Made Salad

I added some sunflower seeds and a few scoops of trail mix with craisins to again, aid in keeping me full.

I also made sure to drink a lot of water during the workday.

Re-hydrating!

It is scary to think how little water I drank all weekend.  I may have only had a couple glasses total, and instead opted for adult bevvies and juice.  Bad news!  Even last week when I was out at championships in the sunshine, I didn’t drink very much water.  Though I usually drink a ton of water at work, I tend to let the water-drinking slip when I’m out of my regular routine.  I think my body was feeling the difference.  I filled that baby up so many times I lost count, and sipped on it all day long.

Since I spent the weekend with my friend Mel, from Mel’s Cool Beans (and Rice), I had been thinking about that dish all weekend and knew exactly what I wanted to make for dinner tonight.  Except I switched it up a bit and made…

Mel's Cool Beans...and QUINOA!

I followed Mel’s original recipe exactly, except I only had a can of mixed beans, and I used a cup of quinoa instead of rice.  It really worked out, it was amazing!  Even Ando went back for seconds and already packed some up for his lunch tomorrow.

Are you noticing anything about my meals today?  I just did as I was writing this up.  No meat!  I did not eat any meat at all today.  I’m not going vegetarian, but it was a nice change, and I didn’t feel like I was missing anything.  I squeezed a lot of protein in, even without the meat (Greek yogurt and fruit for my morning snack, apple with peanut butter for my afternoon snack), and I’m currently feeling full and satisfied.

And it is Meatless Monday, so I guess it’s fitting!

I’m off to squeeze in a long run before hitting up my couch to watch the Bachelorette.  I haven’t run since Friday…and I’m actually kind of excited.

Do you participate in Meatless Monday There are a ton of great meatless recipes on that page if you do!

7 responses to “Meatless Monday

  1. I Know that feeling of being excited to get back into a healthy routine all too well, haha

  2. I just got back from vacation and was equally as excited to get back into my routine. I had wayyyy too much ice cream and other treats over the past week. Well worth it, though!

    I should make more of an effort to go meatless on Mondays. I love vegetarian dishes, but I never think about doing it for an entire day. Maybe next week!

  3. I love Northern Ontario. It’s so beautiful! I would love to be there right now. Loving that quinoa dish.. Seriously, I’m obsessed with it. It goes with eva-ry-thaang. I have probably done a Meatless Monday, Meatless Tuesday, Weds, Thurs etc but I never really keep track of it. It’s just, oh, I didn’t eat meat today. Maybe I need to start making a conscious effort and see if I’d really miss it!

  4. Pingback: That Silly Grocery Shopping Thang | Happy or Hungry

  5. I know what you mean about liking to get back to your routine of eating during the week. I am the same way. I barely drink water on the weekend and I eat out a lot. My stomach and whole digestive system really pays for it and by the time I have my breakfast smoothly on Monday, I can almost hear my body sigh in relief. It is even worse as a preggo lady as indigestion is my new best friend. Hopefully having kids will calm down the bad weekend eats.

    • Yeah, my eating usually suffers a lot on the weekends, so I hear ya.
      I find that boys have a big part in this as well…Andrew eats so many unhealthy snacks, and I just want to take part. I’m sure Mark will still rope you into the unhealthy eating still once the baby is here!

  6. For shiz!

Leave a Reply

