Oatmeal in a Jar (and a Double Rainbow!)

I kinda slacked on posting my eats this weekend (except for my breakfast yesterday), but I am working on another post like the Ghost of the Indian Chief (with lots of pictures), and it is a time consuming little sucker, so that is what most of my dedicated blogging time went to the last couple of days.  I hope to have that puppy up sometime this week.

But in the meantime, I have a full day of Monday eats coming up for you!

Before I go on though, I just want to stress that I usually only post the meals I eat at breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I have mentioned this before (but who knows where, it’s buried in my posts somewhere), but I want you guys to know that this is not all I eat.  I find that when I eat mini-meals between my regular meals, I stay full all day long and then I don’t overeat at actual mealtimes (usually, there are exceptions, especially if cookies are involved ;)).

My snacks on a typical day are Greek yogurt and fruit in the morning (sometimes a small amount of cereal mixed in for some crunch), and a whole wheat tortilla with melted cheese and salsa folded into a quesadilla for my afternoon snack (or sometimes apple with peanut butter).  I switch it up, but those are the regs.

'Dilla

I am also trying not to get obsessed with the amount of calories I am consuming, but rather concentrate on my overall health.

Since I have started eating like this (combined with working out three to six days a week), I cannot stress to you the changes that have been going on with my body.  I have somehow managed to drop two sizes (and I still eat a LOT), I physically feel better and more confident, and I have a lot more energy.  I just feel good.

I don’t know why I felt the need to get into that…

Shmanyways.  Let’s move on to breakfast.

What in the WHAT?

Oatmeal in a jar!  Normally I just throw my empty jars of peanut butter in the recycling bin, but I have read somewhere that can use them to make delicious peanut buttery oatmeal in!  Since I had an empty jar of PB kicking around (the amount of peanut butter we go through around here is ridiculous), I decided to give this a try.

A Vessel for Oatmeal?

I threw in my usual amount of oats and water, and cooked it in the microwave for a minute and 30 seconds.  I should mention that I used a plastic jar, and after I put it in the microwave I worried that the bottom might melt, rendering my oats inedible… I didn’t think of this beforehand.  But when I took them out, it seemed to be fine.  So I added sliced banana and dug in!

YUM!

I loved how melty the peanut butter was!  As Larry David would say, these oats were pret-tyyyyyyyy, pret-tyyyyyyy, pret-tyyyyyy good.

I pretty much die for Curb Your Enthusiasm.

Lunch was a homemade salad that seriously rivaled Druxy’s.

Salad Beast

Romaine lettuce and baby spinach topped with red pepper, sliced cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, chickpeas, sunflower seeds, and mozzarella cheese.  I dressed it up with Italian dressing and loved every bite.

And dinna was shloppy Joe’s!

Shloppiness

I made the sloppy Joe’s exactly the same as last time (with half a cup of ketchup, a quarter cup of apple cider vinegar, and sliced onion), except I used ground turkey instead of ground beef.  They were just as yummy, and I guess slightly healthier, so a win-win fo’ sho’.

I served the slop-fest on a whole wheat hamburger bun with sliced red pepper on the side.

Big Joe

Decent eats all around today.

Workout

Since I loved BodyPump so much on Friday, I decided to hit up my regular Monday night class again.  I loved it with my regular instructor (I wasn’t the biggest fan of the guy on Friday), and loved that she played the regular BodyPump beats.  I already seemed to be back into the swing of things in the weights department, so I don’t think I’ll be as sore tomorrow as I was on Saturday.

Hopefully a little bit sore though, ’cause I like that feeling ;).

And on my drive home I saw a sweet double rainbow.

All the Way Across!

You can’t tell from the pic but it went all the way across the sky!  I didn’t freak out and cry hysterically about it like this guy, but it was pretty cool.

Off to watch the Bachelorette/hockey game!  Have a great evening!

4 responses to “Oatmeal in a Jar (and a Double Rainbow!)

  1. Haha I ALWAYS save jars and eat my oats in there. Better than plastic and I like the confused looks I get from other people.

  2. Oh yay!! Another ghost of the Indian chief!! I love your stories.
    Thank you for talking in this post about how much you eat and not counting calories. Our society is WAY too obsessed with this (counting calories). People need to be more like you, focused on eating healthy in general and exercising. It is a perfect recipe for success. You look fabulous since you have been doing this and I’m so proud of you!!
    Love the PB and oats in a jar. Great idea.
    Double rainbow lol.

  3. No prob Bob

Leave a Reply

