The Day Walmart Mixed Up My Photos

I was cleaning out my laptop bag tonight and I found a bunch of old pictures I forgot were in there.  They are way too awesome not to share with you.  A few of my friends have actually borrowed them from me for “show and tell.”

Several years ago (probably almost 10, whoa!), before the days of digital photography, I had taken a few of my rolls of film into Walmart to get developed.  I kinda miss those days, actually…not getting to see any of your photos until they were developed, and that feeling of excitement and anticipation waiting to see how they turned out.

Anyway, when I picked up my pics from good ol’ Wallymart, they were missing one of my own rolls, and had instead included a roll that was definitely not mine.

Gird your loins my friends, here are a few of the highlights:
(Disclaimer…I don’t hate, but I do laugh.)

I would say that poor child is about to get eaten.  But I’m not sure if she has any teeth… And that Kokanee man is a gem.  He was a fast favourite for me in these photos.

Yeah, I’d be covering my face too if someone tried to take a picture of me with these two.  Nice fanny-pack though.  Also, I’m pretty sure that is not a cigarette in Kokanee’s mouth…

“Ha ha ha, look how cool I am as I pretend to drink out of my child’s bottle whilst smoking!”

Notice also the tinfoil on the windows.

And my personal favourite…

Finding this photo felt like Christmas morning.  Could I have asked to receive a better one in the mix?  I don’t think so.  A few things I would like to highlight:

  • Kokanee’s “double-cigarette” and…air guitar?
  • The man beside Kokanee is wearing a pajama shirt, I’m pretty sure… He looks like a good time.
  • The attractive woman with the hat in the centre looks as though she’s having an absolute BLAST.
  • The woman beside Kokanee may have once been normal and doesn’t seem to quite fit in with this family.  She may be wondering what she has gotten herself into.
  • The kids look genuinely happy.  I feel bad for them, and I hope they all turned out okay.

Man, an entire roll of these!  When I discovered these gems, after laughing for a million years, I called Walmart and let them know about the mix-up.  They apologized and said I could return the photos and they would try to locate mine.

But then I thought about it, and I changed my mind.  Whatever was on my roll of film was definitely not as good as these.  I decided to keep them.  I have never regretted this decision, as these pictures have provided hours of entertainment.

Have you ever had your photos mixed up?

33 responses to “The Day Walmart Mixed Up My Photos

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA this is TOO MUCH

  2. Wow! Those photos are PRICELESS! Seriously. Those people appear to be stuck in a time warp. Haha! Too funny!

  3. Your bagel looks delicious, but unfortunately all I can find are those really, really thick ones and there are only 3 flavours to choose from – white, white with poppy seeds and blueberry. I think I may have to go to a specialty store to find some nice thin bagels that won’t sink a ship.

    Those photos are……interesting…..can’t really think of anything nice to say about them so interesting it is (lol).

    I loved your story about how you smashed your face into the ground and broke your nose – I know it probably wasn’t funny at the time, but I still couldn’t stop laughing. I loved how you were more upset about your friend not trying the bucket pulley rather than having blood spraying from your face – champion!

    Thank you for your comments on my blog, you are too sweet 🙂

    • Ohh I know those bagels. I can never find whole wheat bagel thins, so I have been buying the Weight Watchers whole wheat bagels, and they’re actually quite good!

      It was kinda funny at the time… but yes, definitely more funny later. I’m glad you couldn’t stop laughing 🙂

  4. yep. mission accomplished.

    my favorite: the fact that the “lady” in the middle (im convinced that’s a dude… the same dude hiding his face in the picture before) is in fact wearing a philadelphia eagles hat.

    fly, eagles fly. on the road to vic-tory, FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

  5. I totally miss those days when you waited in anticpation for your pics. Although then came the disappointment that I took 10 pics of my pocket.

  6. I am pretty sure these clothes were NEVER in style! I can just picture how hilarious this would be to open pictures thinking you are going to see you and your friends and you get this instead! lol

  7. When were you getting your photos developed?! 1975? That’s what decade those pics looks like they are from. Hilarious!! I’ve never had a photo mix-up, but now I wish I had.

  8. Definitely one of your best stories, Lindzo. I still remember the day you brought them into school – remember how some of them were up on the journey wall? Hahahahha.

  9. Pingback: WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) | Happy or Hungry

  10. I am completely speechless about the pictures. So awesome!!!!You will have to join our BB tweet party when it starts back up!
    I remember Britney saying that, too! I’m going to be pretty sad without the Brigade this season, but I’m happy to see Brenchal go. Seriously. I sound like such a loser.

  11. I just found your blog through WIAW on Peas and Crayons, and I must say I am so glad! I have not laughed this hard in a very long time. Although, I do work in a Emergency Department so I get laughs quite often. 🙂 Love your eats too! Sound like mine! Can’t wait for the next blog!! 🙂

  12. LMAOOOOO. OMG. Trailer park family reunion??!!! OMG. I would have so kept these photos too. I want to see the rest of them. I am dying at the last 2 photos – the kid in the window & the last one. Just all of them. ESPECIALLY the one on the far left. This. Made. Me. Pee.

  13. I feel like you called me immediately after having these developed and I drove over to your house. I am actually crying, I am laughing so hard. Fantastic memories.

  14. I love these photos!! I know you have shown them to me and as with your other stories I have heard, it kills me when I read it in blog form. You are just full of stories like this, it is so great and so YOU. Of course you got these photos. Anyone else would have gotten boring photos of someone’s Christmas party. But not you!

  15. Pingback: My Seven Links | Happy or Hungry

  16. Pingback: Coming Back from Indulging | Blonde on a Mission

  17. Pingback: Happy or Hungry | PinkGiggles

  18. I don’t get it? Do you not KNOW any poor people? Why are people who are obviously poor funny? Is it their clothes? Sort of like AwkwardFamilyPhotos or something? Because it sounds like you are basing the “funniness” factor on the fact that they smoke (maybe weed) and have tinfoil on their windows and may be missing some teeth… Which, points to poverty and is sorta sad and not really funny… Sorry if I am missing the point.

    • These are not funny because the people are poor… I did not grow up with a lot of money, my parents were basically hippies, smoked weed (prob did worse when they were younger) and also cigarettes, and honestly they probably took photos that were similar to this (maybe to a lesser degree though). I have no problem with any of that…but I do think it’s funny. And getting these pictures instead of my own, I thought was funny.

      There is a picture of my mom holding me when I am a day old and she has a cigarette hanging out of her mouth…and I think THAT’S funny. These pictures are clearly old, and probably taken when times were a bit different. I am sorry if you miss the point though.

  19. So glad I found your blog 🙂 This made my day!

  20. I just stumbled upon this today (I won’t be back) and I don’t get it either. It’s not even like these people put themselves out there to be criticized. These were their personal pictures that you kept so that you could publicly ridicule them for being poor, low-class, unattractive, or whatever your perceptions are. It just seems mean to me.

    • Well that is not entirely true…I did not keep these pictures so that I could one day publicly ridicule them. I kept them because I thought they were funny. I’m sorry you do not, but I am not maliciously attacking these people, nor do I perceive myself to be any better than them. I am poking fun of them in jest, because it’s just funny, and I truly believe that if any of them happen to ever stumble across this, they would LAUGH! Maybe it is because I am not easily insulted or offended… But I’m pretty sure they got my pictures in exchange, and I hope they made fun of them!

      As I said to a previous commenter who shares your viewpoint, my parents were not exactly the epitome of class… but who cares? I really was probably in similar pictures when I was growing up (minus a few details). But what do you do? You just gotta laugh! So no judgment here. I would be friends with all of these people. Kokanee especially.

      Just want to edit to add – with the tinfoil on the windows, I am not implying that they are poor. I actually thought that meant they had a marijuana grow-op going on.

  21. Lindsey, I think you are one of God’s special creatures and know that you meant no harm with your post. I actually dated the man in the Kokanee shirt…and yes, it is OK to laugh at him. He’s actually a stand up Comedian in Moose Jaw, so he likes to be laughed at. How he ended up in your pictures is beyond me. Keep on blogging beautiful.

  22. Pingback: Action Photography Techniques and Tips | PhotographyGiveaways.ComPhotographyGiveaways.Com

Leave a Reply

