WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday)

If you follow healthy living blogs, you may have seen “What I Ate Wednesday” (WIAW) posts, where bloggers post nearly everything they have eaten that day (on Wednesday, obv).

This is my first time participating in WIAW.  I usually post most of my main meals almost every day, but I have never posted everything I have eaten in an entire day, and I don’t usually post my snacks.  Probably because I eat a lot, and each of my posts would be a million years long.

At the risk of boring the pants off you non-food lovers (read yesterday’s post instead if you don’t get down like that), here is EVERYTHING I ate today.

First up, breakfast!

Smoothie-Smooth

This morning before work I blended myself a green monster smoothie that included:

  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and blackberries)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • 2 handfuls baby spinach
  • pinch xanthan gum (to thicken)

Pretty yummy, though I think I prefer my smoothies to include just one type of berry.  I just used a mix that was in my freezer.

Around 10:30 my tummy started a rumblin’, so I headed into my work’s lunch/storage room to make myself my first snack of the day.

Morning Snack Attack

Liberté Vanilla Greek yogurt topped with blueberries and oatmeal.  I LOVE vanilla Greek yogurt, it tastes like dessert!  This hit ze spot and kept me full until lunch.  Which was this…

Lunch!

Definitely not the most attractive thing I ate today, after sitting in the fridge all night and morning, but this was leftover soft taco bake from yesterday that I topped with salsa.  It was actually pretty delicious.  A lot better than it looks.

(Don’t hate on my super attractive plate…those are the ones available in the lunchroom ;)).

That was really just a little sliver of taco bake, so I supplemented that with a homemade salad.

Lil' Bit o' Salad

Baby spinach, tomatoes and cucumber with sunflower seeds and Italian dressing.  Pretty good lunch!

Followed by a pretty lame dessert…

Fruit Snacks

Usually I prefer somethin’ a little more “desserty”.

My afternoon snack (around 3:00) was just an apple.  Usually I have PB with it, but I didn’t bring any with me today.  When I arrived home after work I was FAMISHED.  I was so hungry for some reason.  So before I hit up my gym’s 5:30 BodyPump I quickly made myself a second afternoon snack.

Second Afternoon Snack

A whole wheat tortilla smeared with a tablespoon of peanut butter wrapped around a banana.  Definitely helped to power me through a great workout!

After feeling the burn at the ‘Pump (and ohh I felt the burn) it was dinner time!

Dinna

A homemade pizza with PC multi-grain pizza crust topped with tomato sauce, spinach, mozzarella cheese and turkey pepperoni, with steamed broccoli on the side (not nearly as good as the pizza).  I like to finish dinner feeling FULL, so this is where the veggies come in.  I can eat more without eating a zillion pieces of pizza.

And that is it for eats today! (so far ;))

I think this would be a pretty accurate snapshot of my every day eats.  Obviously I snack more on the weekends, and more (probably worse foods) if I am eating out.  And tons more if I am at some sort of event!  But day to day, that about sums it up.

My favourite meal of today was definitely my smoothie this morning!

What was the best thing you ate today?

14 responses to “WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday)

  1. Yummy! I had a delicious tuna melt panini from whole foods earlier. It was amazing!

  2. I had a Jimmy John’s sub last night which is my FAV place to get a sandwhich. I don’t normally eat out for dinner by myself, but I had a craving (for about a week) that just would not go away! I finally had to give in.

    Also – did you find that your smoothie had a ton of seeds in it? I made a similar one a few weeks back with a berry blend and didn’t really like it b/c of all the seeds. I was kind of disappointed because I wanted to add variety to the fruits I use.

  3. I want that pizza. like, now. and I’ve never wrapped a nanner in a tortilla! good idea. 🙂

    and I’m totally with you on the vanilla greek yogurt. it’s my faave! ever mixed in some strawberry preserves? 😉 it’s heaven.

  4. I had Italian tuna- I hate mayo so I love when it is made with lemon and olive oil!

    I can’t do smoothies for breakfast- whenever I have them I am STARVING all day long, even if I pair it with toast and peanut butter. It’s so weird!

    • I am not the biggest mayo fan either, not gonna lie…
      That’s funny, I feel like smoothies make me SO full. So much liquid!
      But I find that if I don’t include protein in my breakfast I am ridiculously starving, so maybe you just need to add PB or Greek yogurt to your smoothies and you’ll be good to go!

  5. Everything look awesome! =) So glad you joined our little foodie par-tay!

    is it weird that gummies are an awesome dessert to me? haha!

  6. I’ve never seen a banana wrapped in tortilla- do you heat it up so the PB is melty? or eat it room temp? looks yummy! so does your taco bake.

  7. Mmmm – that looks like a delicious Wednesday (especially that pizza!)

    The best thing I ate today was DEFINITELY my breakfast! But I am getting pizza tonight so that answer could change 😉

  8. Awe, I miss those plates.
    I will have try your soft bake taco sometime soon as I now don’t have wicked indigestion and can eat stuff like this. Though I don’t know how Mark and I will make anything once Mark’s parents are gone, as feeding and caring for the new baby takes all of my time.
    That was one racy afternoon banana snack pic 🙂
    My favourite thing lately to eat is my morning cereal with fruit on it. That is the best in the summer when the fruit is all fresh and in season!

  9. We went out for tacos. That is the best I can do right now. We did walk 20 mins to get there with the baby.

Leave a Reply

