Beaches and Babies (and Some Eats)

Hello friends!  I hope you all had a great long weekend and Canada Day, and if you are American I hope you’re still having a great long weekend and Independence Day! (I’m jealous of your Monday off, even though I had Friday off ;))

Check out my tribute to our awesome country if you missed it!

I had a pretty low-key weekend, which was what I was exactly in the mood for.  Ando and I spent all of Saturday cleaning and organizing our garage (much-needed), before heading out for a date night!

Date Time!

(Taken in our freshly cleaned garage)

And yesterday we spent almost the entire day at the beach with our friends Mike and Bri (also much-needed).

Swimming!

(Waterproof mascara was much-needed also.  I wanted to include a picture of Bri and I but I seriously look like I have two black eyes in it.)

That is the shore way behind me in the pic… You could walk out forever and it was still sandy and shallow.  Usually I like deep swimming, but yesterday I was feeling lazy and didn’t mind frolicking around in the shallow waters.

It was seriously the perfect relaxation day.  I love swimming and playing in the sand!

Just Beachy

See that boat way out in the distance?  You could seriously walk to it from shore (we almost did), and it was still only waist-deep and beautifully sandy.

It was such a gorgeous day too.  Beach days are awesome.

I squeezed in some decent workouts this weekend (BodyPump on Saturday morning, 3k run last night), but as seems to be the theme this summer on weekends, my eating was all over the place.  I was excited this morning to get back into my structured eating routine.

I started my day off with a cool and delicious strawberry green monster smoothie.

Green and Gooooood

In this mix is:

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls fresh baby spinach
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • pinch xanthan gum (to thicken)

I had a handful of almonds on the side as well.  It definitely powered me through my morning at work.

I took a late lunch today because my lady coworkers and I dropped by my office bestie Lexy’s house to meet her new baby!  She had her baby boy, Hudson, one week ago today!  We were super excited to meet him.

Baby Hudson

Meet Baby Hudson!  Isn’t that an awesome name?  He is soo adorable.  I loved snuggling with him.

And Lexy looked amazing!

Lexy and I

It was great to see her.  I miss having her around the office already!

After our baby visit it was lunch time!

English Muffin Za

I made myself an English muffin pizza, and it was easy to whip up at work in my office’s lunch/storage room.  I first toasted the English muffin, then topped it with Prego pasta sauce, mozzarella cheese and turkey pepperoni before broiling it for a few minutes until the cheese was melty and just starting to brown.

If you have a toaster oven in your office, this is an easy and yummy lunch!  It does not have that typical work-lunch feel.

Some sliced red pepper on the side rounded out my meal.

Dinner was Mel’s Cool Beans and Rice, but the quinoa version (with quinoa instead of rice).  Yumfest for sure!

And I gotta go, I am off to BodyPump!

What’s one exciting thing you did this weekend?

19 responses to “Beaches and Babies (and Some Eats)

  1. Rented a cottage this weekend! The weather was perfect! Sam and Bentley had so much fun! 🙂

    What is up with the odd looking picture that shows up with my posts? I sure didn’t choose it!

    • Haha, I think it’s automatically generated, and once you comment, that stays as your picture. I think it’s attractive.

      I forgot you guys were doing that this weekend, that’s awesome! Can’t wait to see pics.

  2. I surprised my mom by driving up to watch the fireworks with her!

    Love all of your pictures–you look so happy in each and everyone, and we all know that’s the best accessory! 🙂

  3. Aw that sounds like a fun weekend! One exciting thing I did was go to dinner for an early b-day celebration with my dad! 🙂

  4. What beach did you go to, chica?

  5. I got to see fireworks and cook-out twice this weekend! I love three day weekends.

    I obviously need to talk my office into investing in a toaster oven! It would be awesome to have lunches like yours. All I have to work with is a microwave. I guess that’s better than nothing, though!

  6. Awww baby Hudson is too adorable!! And so jealous of your beach time – I’m dying to get some myself this summer!

  7. Looks like you had a great weekend! Oh and I am SO glad to see your smoothies look like mine! Mine are never green! bahahaha! Oh and how long should the banana be frozen? Not a trick question because I put a banana in the freezer for 2 days and it was hard as a rock! I mean I literally threw it on the ground and it never phased that banana!!! It was crazy! Oh and btw, those mini pizzas look yummo! And congrats to your brother! 🙂 I have 3 brothers and one is 10 yrs older than me. It seems that we are still so young, although he is 37 and I’m 27!

    • haha, mine usually look like brown sludge monsters. Yuck…but YUM!
      Hmm… re: banana freezing. I think my freezer must suck because I the one I used had been in my freezer for like a week and I was very unimpressed with its hardness (TWSS).
      Aw, hooray for brothers 🙂 I always wanted an older brother.

  8. I introduced my two-year-old nephew to my dog. and videotaped it. and laughed at it for a really long time. and posted it to today’s post

    …whiiich you’ve already read cause YOU are awesome. the end.

  9. Awe, I love when I make it into your blog. My little baby is pretty cute. He is wearing that same outfit today and is still swimming in it. Love the beach. We did absolutely nothing for the Canada Day long weekend because we had a week old baby and our lives revolve around taking care of him. Sigh… Life has changed.

  10. Pingback: I Love to Eat and Everybody Knows it | Happy or Hungry

  11. Pingback: Fear Street and Goosebumps | Happy or Hungry

  12. Pingback: Toronto Women’s 5k Run Recap | Happy or Hungry

  13. Pingback: SUPGirlz | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

