A Lazy Food Blogger (+ Balsamic Pork Loin)

Heyyyy-lo.

So I have noticed lately that for a food blog, I have been slack-a-lackin’ slightly in the recipe posting department.  I tend to eat a lot of the same things on a daily basis…bagelwiches, Greek yogurt bowls, salads, smoothies, crock pot pulled pork or chicken with veggies, homemade pizza, etc. which is all good stuff, but it can get a bit repetitive on here.

At the same time,  I definitely do not want to feel like I am obligated to cook or bake new things all the time, just so I have something to post on my blog.  Ja know?  But I like to post every day.  Conundrum.

To me, eating > cooking.  I genuinely like to cook, but I don’t have the time to spend hours in the kitchen experimenting with different recipes (especially after work), and nor do I really want to.  I’d rather be eating.

Sometimes I bake.  Sometimes I’ll make an elaborate recipe (though it’s not usually my own).  But I do cook and I always eat ;).

Something that I have personally always struggled with is eating healthy on a time budget.  If I get home from work and I’m not sure what to make for dinner, I’ll immediately suggest takeout, or ordering pizza.  Which is terrible for my bank account first of all, and also means that I don’t really know what I’m eating.  I don’t know what went into making my food, or how many calories are in there, or how much protein or fiber I’m consuming, or how many servings of vegetables it includes, and I like to know these things.

I do like to make my own meals, and when I cook it myself I know.

So you guys have probably noticed that I won’t have a new recipe every time I post.  I would rather talk about every day life with a few healthy (fine, sometimes unhealthy) eats thrown in, because healthy living should just be life, and it needs to be manageable and maintainable.

When I read other blogs, that is what motivates me.  Just a healthy-active lifestyle in general.  How is this person maintaining an active healthy lifestyle, while juggling life?  That’s what I want to read about, and hopefully that’s what you want to read about, too.

But I definitely hope that you can get meal ideas from my blog, that are not extravagant recipes, not crazy time-consuming, and easy to prepare.  My fave recipes are easy, quick, healthy!

And on that note, I tried a new pork recipe for dinner tonight 🙂

Porky

It was pretty quick and dirty.  I loosely based my recipe on this one for Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin from AllRecipes.  I liked it because it only had four ingredients:

  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Steak seasoning rub
  • Olive oil
  • Pork

I didn’t like the entire half cup of olive oil in there though, and I didn’t like how it had to marinate overnight.

When I arrived home from work, I put three boneless pork loins in a bowl, rubbed each side with steak seasoning, and poured about 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar and one tablespoon of olive oil on top of the pork.  I let it marinate for about 20 minutes while I tidied up the kitchen and made a side salad (which I’ll get to, because it was super yummy).

I then cooked the pork on a griddle sprayed with olive oil cooking spray until it was cooked through (maybe 7-10 minutes per side).  Easy peasy.

The Whole Shebang

For the salad, I recreated the one that was served at my friend Beth’s bridal shower last weekend.  It included baby romaine, walnuts, craisins and goat cheese with balsamic vinaigrette.  Alejandrew said it was the best salad I’ve ever made!  It was definitely pretty awesome.  We also had corn on the cob, which reminds me of summer so much!

It was a great little dinna.

In other exciting news, I have discovered my new favourite kind of ice cream.

Soooo Goooood

Maybe not this flavour (though it is pretty good), but this brand of ice cream has been making me scream lately.  I have tried four different kinds in total and they have all been ridiculous.  The Peanut Butter and Chocolate flavour is so far the frontrunner for the title of my fave.  I ate it all weekend and was DYING for it.  Peanut butter ice cream with chocolate chunks and extra swirls of peanut butter?  HEAVEN.

Maple crunch isn’t too shabby either, and it served as a delicious dessert tonight…

Hello, Yumfest

Pretty awesome.

Workout

Today’s workout hasn’t happened yet, and quite frankly, it may not.  I woke up this morning at 5:30am with a run on my mind, and I even made it out of bed and into my running gear before I decided the run wasn’t happening.

This may seem like a lame excuse (Ando thought it was ;)), but I have a pretty bad sunburn on my back from the beach on Sunday (which is surprising because I rarely burn, I usually just get really dark), and tight-fitting clothing is irritating it.  Last night at BodyPump during squats when I put the weight bar on “the meaty part of my back” (they say this every time without fail in BP), the bar was killing my sunburn, but I hunkered down and pushed through anyway.

This morning when I put on my heavy-duty sports bra for running, it immediately hurt my burn :(.  Running in it was out of the question, and running without it was out of the question, because without it the gals would be running free and wild in the wind…and I prefer to keep those suckers strapped in tight while I am running.

Ohh well, hopefully I’ll be all good to go by tomorrow.

I’m off to do a bit of leisuring instead.  I hope you all have a great evening!

A few articles of interest for you:

The Best And Worst Sandwich Condiments (via Men’s Health)
The 20 Worst Foods For Women (via Eat This Not That)
10 Surprisingly Healthy Foods (via Cooking Light)

14 responses to “A Lazy Food Blogger (+ Balsamic Pork Loin)

  1. Girl, dose pork chops be killin’ me. FOR REAL.

  2. When I read other blogs, that is what motivates me. Just a healthy-active lifestyle in general. How is this person maintaining an active healthy lifestyle, while juggling life? That’s what I want to read about, and hopefully that’s what you want to read about, too.

    YES! Health in the real world! I do follow some people who are ‘extreme’ health/fitness people-gluten-free vegans who run marathons daily etc. While I think that is admirable and we can def learn things from them…it isn’t terribly practical. Most people aren’t willing to give that kind of time/effort to health and fitness so it just isn’t applicable to their lives. Part of my goal with starting my blog was ‘here is someone who knows what to do, but struggles doing it b/c food is awesome and exercise sometimes sucks. but if I can do it, literally ANYONE can! here’s how to make it as easy as possible’

    weird segue-what is your heavy duty sports bra? I feel like we have similar builds in terms of boobs (um, yeah, that sounds super creepy!!) but can’t find one I love. I usually just smoosh them down with a tiny compression bra.

    • Yeah, it isn’t practical! It definitely has to work for you. Your blog is very motivating.

      Now sports bra… This is a HUGE issue for me with running actually, and probably one of the reasons I hated running in high school. The Moving Comfort line by Brooks are all really good, they definitely keep the nungas in check. Also, Lululemon’s Tata Tamer is AMAZING!

  3. I got up this morning with the intention of running, too! I even GOT to the gym. But I had a pounding head ache AND bug bites all over my feet (OUCH!) so I cut my losses and walked back home 🙂 Oh well! Have a great day, lady!

  4. I have been working 11-hour days until 3 AM (I am NOT a stripper, lol, but super ironically a manager at Boston Pizza) the last 3 days, so during the day I have NO motivation to exercise. Today is my day off & I’m going to try to motivate myself to go to a hot yoga class at least.
    I admire CCK a lot for coming up with something new & yummy to bake almost everyday, but I can’t do that myself. However, I do spend a lot of time in the kitchen making recipes just as a spur of the moment thing because if I’m not freelance writing, I have a lot of time during the day most days. I love your blog & looking at your eats! Oh, and the bubblegum PC ice cream? RIDICULOUS. That whole “Ice cream Shoppe” thing they have going on is tooooooo effing good.

  5. I agree 100% with this post and that is why I like that I am finding bloggers like me, who have to fit being healthy into a crazy schedule!

  6. Ouch…I hate sunburns!! I would have skipped that run too. The thought of a sports bra on a burn…eek. Not fun!

    Your dinner looks great. I’ve been wanting to have pork chops for months now. I like the looks of that recipe!

  7. call me cuh-raze, but I’m really not a pork fan. it’s prob my least favorite type of meat. wah.

    and UH, I got a sa-weet sports bra burn/tan line on my back this weekend. twinkies!

  8. I just found your blog and love it, so I wanted to say hi!
    And by the way, maple crunch ice cream sounds so so good.

  9. Pingback: Hurrah for WIAW!!! | Happy or Hungry

  10. I love reading your blog, and not just because I know you. But because of your great message and what I have seen this blog do for your life. Most of us are just trying to make it through everyday making good, healthy choices. It’s best to focus on that and that is what most people can identify with.
    Also, most people make the same dishes over and over because it’s easy and who has time to be trying new dishes and cooking for hours?! We try to try something new every Sunday night for fun and because we usually have time.
    Though now that we have a 3 week old baby, we are lucky if we eat at all. Consider yourself lucky to have any time to work out, shower, eat or sleep!!
    Got to try this ice cream!

    • Aww Lexy, you write the best comments. They always make my day (even if I forget to respond to them!)
      And it’s true, I barely have time for all of those things without a baby.
      Could you imagine if Mark wasn’t home with you?! I wonder what single mothers do… No eating?! I would probably go mental.

  11. No prob bob. I know! I think that everyday. I think you just do the best that you can. I’m so lucky.

Leave a Reply

