Bring Your Brother to Work Day (Plus WIAW!)

First of all, judging by the comments on my camping recap yesterday, there are quite a few tent-camping haters out there!  This was interesting to me, but I guess growing up in the middle of nowhere will make you bug and weird-animal-noise-immune (but not spider immune…blechhh).

Even when my parents weren’t camping, I would usually set up a tent on our property in the summer and have camp-outs with my friends, so maybe this is why tents don’t bother me.  I actually prefer camping to sassy hotel stays, because you don’t have to worry about what you’re wearing and what you look like, and not showering for two days (or five) is A-okay.

Not Showering = Good Times

(My hair is wet from swimming…which is almost like showering, only more fun!)

Thoughts like this make me feel like I would be an excellent candidate for Survivor, because I think I could handle the elements.  But then I remember that whole not-eating thang, and what happens to me when I get too hungry…and I’m pretty sure I’d be voted off immediately because my hunger monster would make a HUGE appearance and piss everyone off.  I’d be the person sneaking beef jerky, and hoarding rice, for sure.

‘Cause I like to eat, and I like it a LOT.

Shmanyways, after two days of lounging on a beach with no worries, I was sad to be back to the grind at work today.  Luckily I brought along a slave my brother to help me tackle the back-burner of my to-do list!

Hard at Work

I usually bring him into my office at least once while he’s visiting…he actually likes it!  He thinks my office is fun (he’s correct), and he really likes my coworkers (because they are awesome).

I didn’t give him anything too terrible to do.  He mostly got to upload a bunch of pictures from my organization’s spring championships to our Facebook page, so definitely a step-up from toilet-cleaning or anything weird like that.  And he works at McDonalds, so I think hanging around the office is a nice break for him, and makes him feel like a big bad grown-up.

I didn’t even make him be my own personal assistant, and actually fetched my own iced coffee from Timmy HoHo’s this afternoon.  But he paid (what, I forgot my money).

I also introduced him to Druxy’s at lunchtime (and I paid!), and he was a big fan.

Lovin' Druxy's Like His Big Sis

He ordered a turkey sandwich with a side potato salad (he said both were amazing), while I stayed with my usual and ordered a giant (but this is actually a small!) Druxy’s salad with all the toppings I could handle.

Big Ol' Salad

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it a million times more, I love Druxy’s salads.  They are truly the best.

After work I dropped Eric off at my Dad’s so they could have some quality man-time, and headed home to make myself dinner.  Andreezy’s class was switched to tonight instead of tomorrow night, so for dinna I was on my own.

What’s a WIAW day without breakfast for dinner?

Healthified Egg McMuffin

It seems to be the theme of Wednesday’s.

Andreezy taught me his art of cooking over-easy eggs, and though I haven’t quite mastered it as well as him, I think I did a pretty good job.

Ova-Easy

And here’s breakfast, too.

Waffley Goodness

Whole wheat waffles topped with peanut butter and Andmo’s G-ma’s delicious strawberry preserves.  An unpictured banana (because I eat a banana at least once a day) served as a side to this.

And now I am off to watch the Bachelorette, since I missed it on Monday!  I have successfully made it through two days without seeing who doesn’t get a rose, and I’m hoping it is not JP or Ben, my two faves!  I plan on squeezing in a run a little later as well.

Have a great night!

What is your least-favourite work task?
Mine is updating our lists of past champions.  I don’t know why, but I dread doing this!

17 responses to “Bring Your Brother to Work Day (Plus WIAW!)

  1. Aw so cute! Looks like a delicious #WIAW 🙂

  2. Ooooh those waffles look so good!

  3. Aw that’s so neat that you bring your bro to work! I need to watch the bachelorette too…I missed it on Monday :(. JP is definitely my fave!

  4. Let me know what you think of the Bachelorette! I thought it was a bit boring and was way more interested in the interview with Emily. I’m sad because I would have loved her to be the next bachelorette but she made it sound like there is no way she would do that. Team JP!

  5. Happy WIAW!@!! This totally made me miss my little bro! He’s back in FL and i’m in NC now. booo! my little brother is actually no so little anymore.. he just started bartending and scaring the crap out of me! lol

  6. I love that you bring your brother to work! Ha that’s awesome! My sister work in the same building (I know, kind of crazy) so I get to have coffee breaks / lunch w her 🙂

  7. Ooh, I spy a Vaio! That’s what I have!!! Aren’t they amazing?

    I’d have to say anything involving dreamweaver – it’s a program that views our web pages in web coding (which I know NOTHING about), and I always feel in over my head!

    • I have a MacBook, so I’ve never used a Vaio! He really likes it though, and he’s had it for a while and it’s still going strong.
      Ugh, dreamweaver. I remember it from my college days…and not fondly.

  8. What an awesome brother you have!! I hate editing documents. I just had to tackle a massive (and totally screwed up) document yesterday and it made my head spin. I’m too much of a perfectionist to do editing. I fret about it until I make myself crazy because I don’t want to leave one thing wrong.

  9. I don’t think I could do survivor either. I’m much too high-maintanence with my food needs most of the time! I couldn’t live off rice … I’d probably just eat coconut 24/7 then complain about the lack of quinoa and greek yogurt. I’m a treat, lol. Your Druxy’s salads always look so good! I wish we had one here. And I’m all about the banana-a-day thing. Sometimes two. I think I’m the only blogger who doesn’t watch the bachelorette.. But entourage starts up soon!!

    • Oh I’d so be the same. I would be out scavenging food the entire time, and then I would probably eat it without sharing 🙂
      I am newly on the Bachelorette bandwagon! This is the first season I’ve watched all the way through. I can’t WAIT for Entourage!

  10. Love breakfast for dinner. It’s my fav type of food.
    I love homemade jam. It’s my fav. Do you think Ando and his G-ma might be willing to give me some? We could make a trade.

  11. Pingback: Goodbye Eric! | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

