Running Buddies

This morning my brother Eric and I woke up bright and early (well, I woke up bright and early, and then waited an hour for him to get up) and went for a run!

Look who joined me for my usual post-run pic in front of the mirror!

Runners

I love that Eric is down for joining me on my runs.  I don’t usually have a running buddy, and it is awesome.  We completed just over 4.5k, and with Eric by my side, the time flew by!

And I Rannnn, I Ran So Far Awayyyy

It was extremely hot though, and I am not used to running in the heat.  If I am running in the morning I am usually out there by 5:45am, and if I am running in the evening I don’t go until after 8pm.  We went around 9am, which is not quite the middle of the day, but it was HOT, and we were both schweaty beasts.  I don’t typically bring any water with me unless I’m planning on running more than 5k, but today I really felt like I needed it.

Definitely started the day off on the right foot though.

Afterwards we were hungry for some breakfast.  I never eat before a run because it just makes me feel gross and crampy, so I make myself hold off, even if I’m hungry when I wake up.

Luckily we had Ando around to make us some of his magical poached eggs.

Yumfest

I enjoyed mine on a whole wheat English muffin with a sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper, and cheese.  I love eggs for weekend breakfasts!

On today’s agenda is hitting up our local farmer’s market to see what sort of fresh produce I can score, and hopefully hanging out on our patio.  It is beauty out there!

Have a good one!

Question of the Mornin’

  • Do you prefer to run alone, or with a buddy?
12 responses to “Running Buddies

  1. I’m still realllll slow, so I like to run by myself. But maybe if I had that poached egg waiting for me I’d run a little faster. Probably.

  2. I like to run with a buddy. Even if we dont always run the same pace it’s nice to have someone hold me accountable for showing up for the run. And it pushes me to run harder.
    You’re little english muffin and eggs look delish!!

  3. I actually prefer to run alone. I never find a good pace when I am running with others.

  4. Hi Lindsey! I have been following your blog since the beginning but this is my first time commenting. I just want to say how motivating your blog is! I love that you have realistic eating and workout habits and focus more on overall health rather than calories. Since I’ve started reading I have totally revamped my eating and I am really starting to notice a change.
    You are an inspiration!!!!! 🙂

  5. Aw yay! What a fun run 🙂 Before I got injured I used to drag my boyfriend with me when I could but most of the time I was happy just to go out, alone or not!

    That breakfast looks amazing!

  6. I usually prefer to run alone, but I find that I have better stamina if I’m running with Adam because I am motivated to keep up with his pace.
    Those eggs look spectacular. I almost never have a savoury breakfast anymore but lately, I’ve been craving eggs & ketchup lol. I need to hop off the sweet breakfast wagon for a couple of days!

  7. If I was better at running, I think I’d love a buddy. However, since I’m still starting out I usually do it alone so I can go at my own pace. It needs to not be so hot here so I can run outside again!!

  8. Running buddies are awesome. They motivate you to run faster. I just hate when they run 10 feet in front of you. So obnoxious. Yes, I know you are faster than me. So either run slower with me or run alone faster, Mark! Honestly.

Leave a Reply

