I Love Harry Potter

I need to just geek out for a second here and say I LOVE HARRY POTTER.  I have read all the books (three times), seen all the movies (also probably three times), and finally saw the last installment tonight.  I thought they did a great job with the final movie, and it was an epic ending for all the movies.  But of course the book was better 😉 (it always is).

Normally I am not the biggest fan of fantasy genre, but Eric had all the books when he was young, so I picked up the first one back in high school one day when I had nothing else to read.  I could not put it down, and I finished the next three the same week.

I was working at Chapters (Canadian version of Barnes & Noble, basically) when the next three books came out, and we always had a big midnight party when each of the books was released.  Obviously I dressed up, twice as Professor Trelawney, and once as Narcissa Malfoy.  And it was always so much fun!

It really bothers me when people say they hate Harry Potter.  It’s cool to not be into it, to each their own, you know.  But to hate on it when you haven’t even read the books or seen the movies really gets under my skin, and when I hear people doing this I feel the need to defend HP.

When I was working at Chapters, I remember this angry red-faced man coming in and raving on about how stupid Harry Potter was, and how he couldn’t believe anyone would read that #$%@.  I told him that maybe before he formed an uneducated opinion he should try reading one the books, and he got even more furious and looked like he wanted to punch me in the face.  But how can you detest something so much when you don’t even understand what it’s about?

I think people like that tend to just hate on life in general.

But if you are in the anti-Harry Potter camp, I highly suggest you give it a shot!  Everyone I know who wasn’t into it in the beginning, ended up being a huge Harry Potter fan after they gave it a chance (Ando included).

Anyway, I loved the final movie!  I was on the edge of my seat the entire time (I paid for the whole seat and I only used the edge!), and I loved that they brought back characters from the earlier books that they easily could have left out (and Neville warms my heart :)).  I thought they did a great job of wrapping everything up and explaining all the loose ends, though like all of the movies, I still think I’d probably be a bit lost if I hadn’t read the books first.

I just want to leave you with this quote I read the other day that I really liked:

“Harry Potter is about doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.” – Stephen King

I do love Twilight, but haha…it is so true.

Gotta go, it’s my school-night bed time!  Have a great night!

8 responses to “I Love Harry Potter

  1. I haven’t seen it yet!!!! It’s stressing me out…omg!!!

    You worked at Chapters – very cool. I’ve been to two midnight release parties, swear on my life!!! I live for HP. Couldn’t get myself into Twlight though!

  2. I have to admit, I used to be a Harry Potter hater. However, my boyfriend loves the movies, so he convinced me to watch the first one a few weeks ago. I was hooked! I’ve seen the first 4 and hope to finish up the others this week, so we can see the new one this weekend.

    However, I am a bit lost quite frequently because I haven’t read the books (I do plan to read them soon, though!). Luckily, I can rely on him to answer my zillions of questions through each movie.

  3. I love Harry Potter! Haven’t seen the movie yet and probably won’t until it comes out on dvd- I loved the books but wasn’t a huge fan of all of the movies.

  4. I really wish I stuck with reading the books. I read the first two but I never saw the movies, except for the first one & a little bit of the fourth one. The preview looks so damn good for the last movie! I have a lot of catching up to do.
    I’m not a big fan of twilight. Actually, it’s like a love/hate thing because the movies are sooooo poorly acted. I still want to see the next one though.
    And people who say they “hate” things when they have never tried them are not cool in my books. These are the same people who “hate sushi” or think “yoga is boring” or whatever. Try something before you form an opinion!

  5. I love Harry Potter!! I want to see the new movie so bad but the new baby is restricting us. Too bad. Maybe we will go see it for our two year wedding anniversary. Romantic!! We have two sets of books and are going to start reading to our baby ASAP. Glad you loved it.
    I love Twilight. It is definitely a guilty pleasure. You introduced me to it. I blame you 😉

Leave a Reply

