Guest Post: Why Run a Marathon?!

Hey guys!  I am currently pitching a tent in the great outdoors, and I assume I’m having an awesome time camping, eating delicious foods, and not getting attacked by bears (no worries, Ando brought his “bear axe” to protect us ;)).

Anyway, I am super pumped to bring to you my very first guest post EVER from Alyssa at Life of bLyss!  I love reading about all of her crazy shenanigans on her blog, and I’m pretty sure we would be bff’s in real life (not that this isn’t real life), so if you haven’t checked her out you should do so immediately after reading this!

Enjoy!

****

Guest Post: Why Run a Marathon?!

I’m Alyssa from Life of bLyss, where I blog about my newly single life in Virginia Beach with lots of running and fitness, my black lab and my adventures. I’m driven by fun, food, undercooked brownies, and too much wine. I like to run till my legs hurt, pretend I’m Ke$ha, and paint wine glasses.

And sometimes I play in the grass.

I’m pretty psyched to be guest posting for Lindsey. I knew I had an instant friend when I first saw her blog, as I found a kindred spirit in her “happy/hungry” mood swigs. 😉

And if you’ve already peeped over at my blog, you already know I’m training for my first marathon. The Marine Corps Marathon. 26.2 miles. October 30th, 2011.

I’m not crazy.

I completed my first half marathon in November 2009. Since then, I’ve been addicted. I’ve now completed four half marathons, one 5k, one 14k, and now I need a bigger challenge: A full marathon.

my first half marathon!

Seriously. I told my friends they were crazy when they told me to try a half marathon. There was no way I could do 13 miles without getting bored. There was no way I could possibly keep running for that long without the earth imploding.

I did it. And now I wanna do it forever.

Why would I put myself through this, you ask?

1. The goal. Once I have an actual goal to work toward, running is more fun for me. I like having a schedule I have to tackle each day.

2. The camaraderie. There is just something about the running community. The energy around you at a start line rivals no other feeling. Except maybe the joy you can feel around you at the post-race beer bash. 😉 duh.

3. The feeling.Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.” I love exercising, and running just does it for me. I can run out some emotions, I can listen to music, I can watch TV, and I’m burnin’ cals. Races just make it more fun.

4. The chance to fight. Upon signing up for the Marine Corps Marathon, I registered to raise money for the Dash for Dad with Zero: The Project to End Prostate Cancer.

5. The bragging rights. There is not one person on this Earth who hasn’t run a marathon partly so they could SAY they have tackled one. Seriously. I challenge you to find one. You won’t.

And, finally…

6. I want that sticker. I wanna slap that 26.2 sticker on my silver Rav 4 so badly. Rav wants the 26.2.

You may still think I’m crazy. Regardless, you can come cheer me on in my marathon training at Life of bLyss. 🙂 I can use all the motivation I can get!

9 responses to “Guest Post: Why Run a Marathon?!

  1. This was a great guest post. I am running my first half in November and one of my reasons is for that 13.1 sticker and I know once that happens I’m gonna have run a full for the sticker too! 🙂

  2. Yes! totally addicting. I once said I’d never run more than 5k, now I’m training for my second full marathon….

    looking forward to following your training

  3. I am working on my first 5K run ever. I really want to run a marathon someday and you provided much encouragement and support Alyssa. Btw – I love both your blogs and will be subscribing after I hit the “post comment” button.

  4. Love the guest post! I’m going to have to check out life of blyss now, too!

  5. Have fun up north!! And I seriously want to run a half marathon…or even a 5k. I just want to challenge myself. Thank you for the advice and the encouragement!!
    I’m so nervous to sign up for one..but sooner or later I’m going to have to take the leap!
    PS. Love the legally blonde quote. It’s obvious that the advice in that movie can be integrated into real life 😉 The bend and snap, works every time.

  6. Love this post! Bragging rights would be a major motivator to sign up for a race. haha! Hope I sign up for my first race soon…it has been on my mind a lot lately.

  7. Pingback: The Scar is So Worth It. [GUEST ILLUSTRATIONS] | Life of Blyss

  8. I recently read this great article in a magazine I get about my city, Toronto, Canada. The article was about marathoning and how it is the latest new thing. I wish I had an electronic version.
    I totally get all of your reasons to run. They are my reasons too! I was recently diagnosed with a condition that meant I couldn’t run, but since I have been pregnant and then breastfeeding I have had a temporary recovery and I’m going to start running again once I’m home from holidays. Wish me good luck!

  9. Hey that totally rocks, 2 Halfs, 1 Full and a 46 mile cross country march done here, I’m totally with you. Slap that sticker on your car and smile. Good luck in the MCM, I’m signed for the Soldiers Marathon in Nov (Couldn’t get into the MCM, since It’ss so close to the time I’m being assigned back to the US)

Leave a Reply

