The Cycle of Inspiration

S’up, buttercups?!

This morning started out with what I failed at nearly every morning last week, an early morning run!

Schweaty

I set my alarm for 5:30 am, and definitely struggled to get out of bed when it went off.  I turned off my alarm and nearly went back to sleep, but then I remembered a tweet from Lisa yesterday, my good friend from college:

Thinking about Lisa feeling awesome after her run reminded me that I would feel awesome after mine.  And it seriously is a feeling that lasts all day long for me.

Basically, her saying that I inspired her inspired ME!  It is a cycle of inspiration.

And who knows, maybe someone saw her tweet and was also inspired!  Twitter is what inspired me in the first place!   I started following all these healthy active living magazines, websites, and blogs, and I was bombarded with info in my timeline.  It was the kick-start I needed to jump on the running bandwagon!

Shmanyway, back to my run!  I completed just under 5k in about 30 minutes, mostly in the dark.

Runnin' in the Dark

(Ehhh, greaseball hair…)

I have noticed a huge difference in morning lightness since August hit…it is already starting to get lighter later.  I am not excited for winter at all :(,  however, it’s cooler in the mornings these days, so that’s always good!

Also, last night when I was running I pretty much hated it the entire time and wanted it to end.  I listened to good beats, played my I Win game, and tried as hard as I could to occupy my mind, but I still just wanted to be done.  This morning, on the other hand, I felt awesome!  I felt light and breezy, and my run flew by even though I didn’t do anything differently.

Each run is different!  Such a mental thing.

Dexter was really proud of his mama.  I could tell.

Breakfast

After my runski, I whipped myself up a cool smoothie for b-fast.

Purple Nurple Smoothie

My little smoothers included:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup (ish) mixed frozen raspberries and blueberries
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • pinch xanthan gum (optional, for thickening!)

I then topped the mix with a handful of Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal for some crunch.

Yummers

I really need to break out the SLR and stop using my iPhone for photos…but it’s easier because I always have it with me!

I hope you are all having a great day!  Catcha lata!

What inspired you to start running and/or working out?

13 responses to “The Cycle of Inspiration

  1. Its so much cooler in the mornings now too huh?
    Love the inspiration cycle – i inspire my work friends to come to the gym classes with me so now i have to show up and if i don’t i hear alllll about it since i nag them when they bail
    My weekend recap posts are usually all iPhone photos, i’m WAY too lazy to use my SLR for anything other then food photos 🙂
    Good for you for getting your run done!

  2. hehehe I love how you take pics of yourself outside at that god forsaken hour…your neighbours probably think you’re nuts!!! I’m heading to the gymbo now peach pit 🙂 Your blogs put me in a cheery mood! Love, Uncle Leon

  3. Love that pic of you! And your hair doesn’t look greasy. I think I originally started working out because I had quit dancing and needed some form of exercise haha. But now I’m inspired by the people in my life who lead active and healthy lives!

  4. I’m reading your blog!!! I feel like a better friend already. But I do actually enjoy it. I cannot believe you get up at 530 to run. That is unbelievable. I scrolled down a little after reading your post and that picture of you and Andrew is SEXY!!! You guys look hot! I would frame this puppy for sure. I continued to scroll down and found some older pics of when you first moved in and you really did lose a lot of weight. I mean that as a compliment! I’m sure it came out the wrong way though….hopefully not. You look awesome.

  5. I so agree… when other people tell me I inspire them, it inspires me all over again! you inspire me. 😉 now go use that.

  6. I use my ihpone for pics all the time- it is SO much easier. I just send it right to my email, I always have it with me, etc.

    Good for you on your morning run!

  7. I always say: I run because I can’t do anything else. My mom’s a jogger who took it up in university, and that’s when I started, and haven’t looked back. For a girl who loves food as much as I do, I need as much calorie-burning activity as I can get! And I totally hear you about dark morning runs…DO NOT LIKE!

  8. Pingback: The Painters Are In! | Happy or Hungry

  9. You inspired me to start running again!! I have been reading you blog and thinking, why not start again? Yay! Thanks.
    There is the circle of inspiration in action!

Leave a Reply

