I Like Pools (and Burritos)

Hello pallies!

Thanks so much for all your love to my little Winnie kitty yesterday.  She was a very brave kitty cat at the vet, and was extremely well-behaved even though she hated every second of it.

Well, aside from pooing on the vet, but it was an accident (and that is what you get for sticking a thermometer up her bumoley).  Ando and I silently scream laughed to eachother when the vet left the room to clean himself up.  It was pretty funny…for us :).  No picture of that, sadly.

Winnie is on some new meds that are supposed to simmer down her digestive system, so hopefully those work out and she will be A-okay!  Fingers crossed.

Pool Time

In other news, Ando’s parents recently put in a sweet new pool at their house!

Pool Time!

Andmo’s niece Caitlyn is the CUTEST. EVER. and loooves the pool.  She is a good little swimmer!

We spent the rest of the day leisuring around there with Android’s family.  Annnd I’m pretty sure we will now be spending all our free time at his parents house ;).

Pool Buddies!

We enjoyed some lunch over there, and my plate included a bunch of fried goodies like jalapeno poppers and potstickers, spring rolls and chicken balls from M&M’s Oriental Party Pack.  It was yummy, and NOT healthy at all.  Ah well, it happens.

Dinner, however, is another story.  Andy-pop said it was the best dinner I have made for him, possibly ever.  I make a lot of dinners so…that is a pretty bold statement.  AND it is healthy!  Win-win!

Chicken and Black Bean Stuffed Burritos

Since I had some extra time tonight I knew I wanted to try a new recipe.  I hit up CookingLight.com (my fave healthy recipe website), and found one that looked amazing for Chicken and Black Bean Stuffed Burritos.  It did not disappoint.  These were simple, and a HUGE yumfest!

Here is the recipe!

Chicken & Black Bean Stuffed Burritos

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken breast (I used two cooked boneless, skinless chicken breasts and just chopped them really thin)
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced green onions
  • 3/4 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup refrigerated fresh salsa
  • 4 (8-inch) flour tortillas (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • Cooking spray

Preparation

1. Bring first 6 ingredients to a boil in a small saucepan.  Stir in shredded chicken and green onions.

2. Combine beans and salsa. Spoon 1/4 cup bean mixture and 1/2 cup chicken mixture down center of each tortilla; sprinkle with 2 tablespoons cheese. Roll up.

3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add 2 burritos. Place a cast-iron or other heavy skillet on top of burritos, and cook for 3 minutes on each side. Remove from pan, and repeat procedure with the remaining 2 burritos.

EAT!!!!

Seriously, soo delicious.

Don’t forget to put another heavy pan on skillet on top of them while they are cooking, it sears them together and is an important step!

You could easily make the vegetarian version of these by leaving out the chicken and only using beans.  I may try that next time…

I am off to BodyPump, and according to my workout log, for the first time in a month!  That is definitely one of the benefits of keeping an exercise log – you can see what exercises you have been slacking on.  I had no idea it had been that long since my last BP class until I checked that puppy out.  My muscles are gonna be on fire today!  Wish me luck!

Have a great Sunday!

9 responses to “I Like Pools (and Burritos)

  1. Aw poor kitty, I probably would have pooed on the vet too if a thermometer had been stuck up my butt haha. Those burritos look fabulous! My bf and I would love them! Hope your body pump class goes well 🙂

  2. Bahhahahaaa i had to watch the vet “clear out” a blockage in my dog a few weeks ago and i didn’t hear a word i said i was too busy not dying from laughter at how proud he was he got it out and wanted to show us – ewwwwwwwww
    Have fun at Body Pump and i think i now have a home for the black beans in my fridge – your burrito recipe 🙂

  3. MMmmmmm, burritos 😀 I want some!!
    And I hear/see a lot of pretty gross-slash-sort of hilarious things now that my sister is a vet technician …. lol.. she’s pretty immune to all the animals & their poop/etc. Yuck, haha.
    Hopefully she feels all better now though!

  4. that niece might be the cutest niece of all nieces. that was kind of hard to type, too.

  5. Oh my gosh…she pooped on the vet?! Hilarious!! I don’t think I could have contained my laughter. I always laugh at inappropriate times. Like that one 🙂

  6. Um, burritos look super duper yummy!!! I am going to try that. I love when I hear you mention Body Pump, I use to go twice a day to it! I love it so much! Oh and the kitty poo story made me laugh out loud in my office. hehe! good times!

  7. Marbles often poos when she goes in her carrier. She hates it. She has never pooed on the vet though. Very funny.
    Pool time looks fun. Ando’s niece is so cute!
    I will have to try out cookinglight.com.
    Good luck with body pump!

Leave a Reply

