Run for the Cure

I don’t know about you guys, but it seems lately that I can’t go a day without hearing the word CANCER.

I feel like everyone knows someone who has either recently been diagnosed with it, is undergoing treatment for, beat it, or has unfortunately succumbed to it (RIP Jack Layton 😦 I was really sad to hear that news today).  Or all of the above.  It’s everywhere!  And it’s awful.

(As I am writing this I just got a Facebook invite for a Horseshoes for Cancer event.)

Over the weekend, Andrew’s sister Sharlene told me that she has signed up for the CIBC Run for the Cure, which is a 5k run/walk that benefits the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation.  She is running for her favourite Aunt Marlene, who has been battling breast cancer for the past little while and recently finished her last round of chemo (fingers crossed she is in the clear!)

I don’t know Marlene well, but I have met her a few times and I think she is the coolest and sweetest lady.  I knew right away I wanted to participate, so today I signed myself up to be a member of Marlene’s Pink Warriors!

I’m raising money for this bad boy and have set a personal goal of $3oo, so if you guys have like $5 dolla to spare, please sponsor me!



I really do not like asking for things, but in this case, it’s for cancer!  It would be so greatly appreciated.  If you can’t do it, no worries!  But it would be awesome if you spread the word :).  Tell all yo’ rich friends!

Anyone else participating in Run for the Cure?  Has anyone participated in previous years?

Time for some eats!

Lunch!

Leftover Tortilla Chicken Soup from last week for lunch, with a toasted whole wheat English muffin on the side for dipping.

Veggie-Packed!

I love freezing leftovers so they are ready for quick and easy lunches.  This soup was just as tasty as it was the day it was made.

Annnnd dinner.

Pasta Party

Dinner was a mix of Carba Nada pasta and egg noodles and cauliflower, topped with Prego pasta sauce.  It was inspired by Dawn @ Blonde on a Mission, who I noticed made a pasta bowl yesterday and made me start to crave one. Hers looked a lot better, but you gotta go with what you have!  And I had cauliflower.

Dawn is also the one who sent me the Carba Nada noodles!  Unfortunately they were almost gone (so sad), and there wasn’t quite enough left for both Ando and I, so I had to supplement with No Yolk egg white noodles.  Still yummy!

Workout

After work today, I tagged along on a run with Andrewski.  It was the first day of his second week of the Couch to 5k program, so the intervals were 90 seconds of running, and 120 seconds of walking, with a 5 minute warm-up and cool-down.

We did run for some of the walking intervals, but it was still a nice leisurely run for me.  We completed about 4k in total, and I convinced Ando to saddle up for the sweaty mirror pic.

He liked it.

The mirror pic is motivating, I tell ya!

I’m outta here, enjoy your evening!

13 responses to “Run for the Cure

  1. I’ve done a Run for the Cure for my 23-year old friend who was diagnosed with breast cancer. I’m donating towards your goal! 🙂
    Your Carba Nada noodle mess looks awesome! I love cauliflower — but it gives me mad gas. LOL.
    Mirror pics are definitely motivating… You guys are so cute 🙂

  2. I read a tweet about Jack Layton before leaving for work this morning but couldn’t find any articles about it so hoped it wasn’t true, but unfortunately it was 😦
    Run for the Cure is a great cause. I’m running with my coworkers for the second year. Good luck with your fundraising!

  3. Good for you for doing the run for the cure. I just donated to your page! I feel like I should join too…but who am I kidding!
    Love the couple mirror pic. Hilarious! 🙂

  4. Your food always looks so stinking good. I am gonna get me summa those Carba Nadas. 🙂

  5. I’ll sponser you 🙂

    I need to get back into c25k…just as soon as it decides to cool off down here in TX!

  6. YES. hooray for running for breast cancer! 🙂 🙂

  7. I did the run last year….I just might join you, you fabulous girl you.

  8. I will donate-a-roo to you. Good for you for doing this! You know my mama had it so mucho appreciation that you are raising funds.
    Wow, Ando is looking great!! Has he lost weight? Tell him I said he’s lookin fit.

Leave a Reply

