An Amazing Day of Eating

Hello my cheeky food-loving friends!

Yesterday was absolutely, ridiculously, jam-packed with eating.  I cannot believe how much I ate.  I seriously think I am still full.

Allow me to explain…

Around lunchtime I left work and headed downtown to the Incentive Works tradeshow at the Convention Centre.  It’s a show for event planners mainly, so I went with my friend Jess who works for another organization in my building, to see if we could find new companies to work with/score free samples 😉 (my fave thing about tradeshows).

But obviously we needed to grab lunch first!  Our office is not right downtown, so I don’t eat lunch down there often.  We knew we wanted to go somewhere a bit different.

We chose Marché, a Richtree Market restaurant!

I have been a few times before and always LOVE going there.  They basically have every food imaginable, pasta, pizza, sandwiches, sushi, meat station, seafood, salad bar, WAFFLE BAR!!!, etc, all set up in little stations.

Pasta Station

Basically you go around with a tray and a little card, and when you see something you like, you can grab it and give the employees your card to swipe.  To pay, you hand your card to a server and it has recorded everything you’ve chosen.  Pretty cool.

Fresh Juice Bar

The Spanish Paella (rice with vegetables and sausage, in this case) caught both mine and Jessica’s eye.  It looked (and smelled) impossibly yummy.

Paella Station

We both ended up snagging the paella.  It was huge, and DELICIOUS!

Paella Deliciousness

I ended up only being able to finish half of this dish – it was so big and filling.  I actually packed the rest up and ate it for lunch today.  Still yummy the second time around!  I have to recreate for sure.

We also hit up the salad bar.

Salad Bowl

Those are bacon wrapped dates at the front of the bowl, which I had never heard of before!  Am I weird?  Are they common and I am just not in the know?  Because later on I went out for dinner with some other friends and bacon wrapped dates were on the menu!

Anywhoozles, lunch (and my company :)) was fabbity-fab, and afterward, we headed our stuffed selves over to the tradeshow.

We quickly learned that eating lunch was not necessary.  I had no idea there was even going to be food there, but there were TONS of samples.  Seriously enough to make up a meal…maybe two.

And if you’ve read my blog for more than two days, you know I have trouble saying no to free food…

First I scored a yummy little shortbread cookie from this booth…

And then I hit up the Lonestar Texas Grill booth and saw they were giving away their fresh homemade chips and salsa, which I can NEVER say no to.

Just as good as if I were actually in the restaurant.  I die for that salsa.  It is so fresh and delicious.

And then this plate of yummers found its way into my hands.

That would be some sort of goat cheese souffle (amazing), and a red velvet cupcake with cream cheese icing (!!!!!).

I was ready to burst at this point…but then I saw this:

And I couldn’t say no to a cake pop, obviously.  I have never tried one, and always wanted to!

And then I ran into a girl who I deal with because of my own tradeshow, and she was all “OMG, you have to go to the Niagara Falls booth!  They have real chefs over there and have AMAZING food!”

So, obviously we had to go to the Niagara Falls booth and check this out…

Slider burgers?!  Um, yes please.


The chef topped my little slider with strawberry-rhubarb ketchup and some kind of sweet mustard, with maple cheddar.  Jess and I both commented how we wouldn’t think we would usually go for sweet on our burger, but holy yumballs!  I died for this!  Amazing.  Amazing.

They had some other food kicking around the Niagara booth, but I couldn’t do it.  By that time I thought I was going to explode.  Good thing we walked downtown a lot!

After the tradeshow I met up with my Office Bestie Lexy and some of her friends, and we had some shenanigans planned that included auditioning for a car commercial!  Haha.  It is kind of a long and random story how that came to be, so if anything comes of it I’ll fill you guys in fo’ sho’.

But afterward we went out to eat MORE.

We hit up Joy Bistro, a cute little restaurant not too far from downtown.

I was still so, so stuffed from all my goodies at the tradeshow, so I kept my meal on the lighter side and just ordered an Apple Cheddar Salad.

I know that I have said this about basically everything I ate…but this salad was really good.  It included fresh apple slices, grapes, white cheddar (which was so flavourful), pecans, and a balsamic vinaigrette.

Just like lunch, the company for this dinner was really awesome too 🙂

Dinner Group

After dinner we decided to head down the street to a little ice cream shop that served fresh, homemade ice cream.

What, it’s not like I was full or anything… Who can say no to ice cream?!

I really got a kick out of this sign…

And these cones (the one on the far right in particular)…

Hehe.  Clever.

I ordered a mix of maple walnut and some other kind that I can’t remember the name of right now… But it tasted exactly like a Ferrero Rocher!  Both kinds were very yummy.

After that ice cream, I was DONEZO.  Absolutely donezo.  I never wanted to look at food again.

Until I got home and snacked on some popcorn while Ando and I watched the crazy storm 😉

I loved everything I ate yesterday!  What an amazing day of eating.

I hope you guys all had a great day of eating as well!

17 responses to “An Amazing Day of Eating

  1. haha love the sign!!! im so jealous of all the amazing food you got to eat! yumm!

  2. Blonde on a Mission

    I’ve seen that sign!! In Chicago, only it said free puppy. I’ll dig up my pic. I got a kick out of it too! And the pine cone really made me laugh.
    And wow — what a day of eats! I would not have passed up those cake pops (probably would have taken a bouquet) nor would I have passed up the goat cheese soufflé.
    And the first restaurant you went to looks so unique & cool! I’d love a place like that.
    I did not have an amazing day of eating because I have not gone grocery shopping in a long time, so I’m eating whatever I can concoct, but I’m seriously considering going for real ice cream right now. Ferrero Rocher chocolates are to LIVE for.

  3. My mouth is watering after looking at your pics!!

    Love that ice cream shop’s sign. Literally made me LOL 🙂

  4. Soo many things to say about this post!
    Goat cheese souffle? YES PLEASE
    I have never had a cake pop either, are they everything people say they are or a dismal disapointment i’m hoping cause i never want to pony up the $ at starbucks!
    Whenever i visit toronto I alllwwayyss eat at Marche, there banana caramel crepe is the stuff dreams are made of and that sign is frickin hilarious i love shops/stores with a sense of humour 🙂

  5. I have just landed on your Space, read your delightful posting and now I am absolutely starving while i tap out this comment, to be honest I think that I will be hungry all night now 😦 lol Just kidding my friend…

    by the way, the Maple and walnut ice cream looks deliciously sublime, well I will return to My Gothic Realm now, I am really hungry, yes I mentioned that already… lol

    Have a wonderful start
    to your Friday my friend 🙂

    Androgoth

  6. Wow, that is so much food! But it all looks freaking awesome! I would have stuffed my face and stomach until it probably hurt haha

  7. First of all, goat cheese souffle?! I just tried goat cheese for the first time recently (I know, the horror) and immediately fell in love. I must try this souffle amazingness sometime 🙂
    Maple and walnut ice cream is a flavor I forget about sometime… which is silly because it’s awesome

  8. That looks like such a great place to go for a meal! Bacon wrapped dates…. divine. A friend and I hosted a Spanish tapas night a while ago and that was by far my favourite dish.

    I’ve never tried a cake pop either! Really want to try making some oreo cheesecakey ones sometime. YUM.

    Haha wow it really was a day of GOOD yum eating. It all looks great. 🙂

  9. OMG I LOVE ALL THESE RESTAURANTS!!!!!! Marche, Joy Bistro, and Ed’s are FABULOUS!!!! I teach a yoga client who is Mrs. Ed!!!!! She’s brought me ice cream a few times that I’ve happily accepted 🙂

  10. All that food looks amazing. I hate when I am so full but there is so much more food I want to try- it is totally depressing lol.

  11. I taught Ed himself a learn to run course.
    I’m so jealous of your eats. They look so good. I will have to come to the tradeshow next year. Looks awesome!
    We had a fun day. You are a great office bestie. I love Joy Bistro and Ed’s is really The Best!
    I will have to go to the Marche sometime. I love that place.

Leave a Reply

