Breaking Out of a Breakfast Rut (+ a Journalism Tribute)

For the last two weeks or so, I’ve felt like I’ve been in a bit of a breakfast rut.

Breakfast is one of my favourite meals of the day and I truly love breakfast foods, but recently I have been feeling a little uninspired in the morning meal department, and I’m not sure why.

Yesterday I just had melted cheese and salsa on a tortilla, folded into a quesadilla (A-Rod was all “Salsa for breakfast?!”  Why, is that weird?), and many banana-peanut butter wraps have made their way into mah belly.  I’ve just been feeling easy, and quick.

Today though, my love of breakfast returned in full force.  Oatmeal is my fave winter breakfast so I’ve been avoiding it for most of the summer, but this morning I decided it was time to bust into some oaty goodness.

He’s baaaaaack.

A little love from my breakfast BFF was all it took to rekindle my passion for breaky.

I topped my bowl of oats with Justin’s natural maple almond butter, a squirt of honey, sliced banana, and went to town.

Lurrrrve my Oats!

This breakfast was exactly what I was feeling, and I am already excited for breakfast again tomorrow.  I think I’m feeling eggs!!!

Fun College Times

Yesterday I was checking out the Elvis Impersonator video I posted on YouTube, and I remembered another video I posted wayyyy back in the day (well, four and a half years ago) when I was finishing college!

I took a three-year Print & Broadcast Journalism course, and I loved every second of it.  I loved the program, loved the professors, and LOVED the people.  I got really close to most of the people in my class, since we had all been together since day one.  It was absolutely the time of my life.

At the end of our three years, our big assignment for one of our classes was to make a multimedia video on anything we wanted.  I chose to make my video as a tribute to my Journalism friends, and all the great times we had.  I ended up uploading it to YouTube, and last night when I stumbled upon it, I called Ando over to reminisce about our good school times.

It made me miss school so, so much!  I miss being young and having no responsibilities besides school and my part-time job at Chapters.

Shmanyway, here is the video.  This is also where Andrew and I met, so you will get to see our love blossom ;).  I know it’s not as big of a deal for you guys because you won’t really know anyone besides me in the vid (I tried to include a picture of everyone in our class, although you may recognize a few from my blog!), but I still think it’s funny.

Enjoy!

I am off to a morning BodyPump class at my gym, and then Andy-roo and I have quite the busy day ahead.  Two birthday’s – his grandma’s 90th, and our friend Bri’s 27th.  I’m sure the difference between the two will be interesting…

Enjoy your Saturday!

Questions of the Day

  • Do you ever get in a rut for a certain type of food, or a certain meal?
  • What was your favourite thing about college/university?
11 responses to “Breaking Out of a Breakfast Rut (+ a Journalism Tribute)

  1. College & Other Pesky Things

    I really hate oatmeal… like a lot. I have always wanted to like it, but I just cannot bring myself to enjoy it. In theory, it sounds so good, but when I take a bite, I still hate it….

  2. You took a Journalism course?! I would have loved to have followed my heart and did writing when I was in school, but I didn’t and now I’m very stuck in a job/field that I can’t get out of – my student loan repayments are way too high! But, I still love to explore writing…

    Oatmeal always makes its way into my meals – whether as the base, sprinkled on smoothies – or eaten raw with a spoon 🙂

  3. Ok, that picture of you and the Quaker oatmeal man is HILARIOUS! I am not one to eat the same thing over and over again, so I usually don’t get into ruts, but once in a while. I miss the lack of responsibilities of my university days…it seemed like a lot of work at the time, but looking back now, life wasn’t all that bad!

  4. Your Journalism course sounds very similar to the design course I did. In the way you made so many lifelong friends. Best part of studying I think!! I miss it too! Two of my favs go to the same gym classes as me which is great though 🙂

    Enjoy your pump class!! I’m really looking forward to going to one again next week!

  5. I wish there were more journalism courses at my University, but I’d have to say my favourite class was Italian. I made some amazing friends in it, plus it was just downright interesting.
    And I’m currently in an oatmeal-only phase for breakfast. I need to get some variety in my life!

  6. That pictures is so funny girl! I tend to eat the same things over and over again so after a while I get in a rut

  7. Love the video! You and Andrew look so young!

  8. Looks like we both have fun college memories on the brain 🙂 I loved college because it was great having all of my friends in such close proximity. There was never shortage of things to do!

  9. I love breakfast food the best but always eat the same thing. It is definitely my rut food, but there is something so comforting about waking up and eating the same food every morning.
    Fall behaviours make me sad as they signify the end of my fav season.
    I loved university. It was such a great time. I wish I had made a video! My fav was the innertube waterpolo team I played on. So random and fun. Plus I was awesome at it! Those were the days.

  10. It was awesome!! As it was a random activity, you would have been amazing at it for sure.

Leave a Reply

