Pinning on Pinterest

Allo.

Please forgive me if this post sucks… A surprise cold popped up yesterday evening (boo) and it’s giving me a bit of mushy brain.  I’ve also been working non-stop since 7am (from bed home) trying to get a bunch of stuff done for work, so that may be contributing also.

Winnie loves it when I work from home.

I usually get a cold twice a year, around the time of change in seasons.  I actually missed my spring cold this year (no complaints here!), but my fall cold seems to have set in a bit early.

Thankfully, that is really the only time ever get sick.  I rarely get headaches, and I haven’t had the flu since Grade 7, so…I can deal with a little cold a couple times a year.  No biggie.  I’ve been drinking lots of OJ and water, and taking my vitamins, so hopefully I am back in tip-top shape tomorrow!  I even plan on making it to Body Pump tonight.  Maybe I can pump this silly cold right out of me…

Eats

You know how some people lose their appetite when they’re sick?

Well, not me.  I have never been one of those people.

Andy-pop came home for lunch today, and he brought me this monstrosity from a deli near his work:

Big Sammy

Holy ham!  I don’t think I have ever seen so much ham on a sandwich!  This thing was HUGE.

Whole Lotta Ham

I had some troubs getting the entire thing in my mouth, but in the end I ate it all up.  It was pretty darn tasty.

I didn’t skimp on breakfast either, but I didn’t want anything too heavy since I wasn’t feeling the greatest.  I also wanted a nutrient-packed breakfast to hopefully speed up the healing process.  A green monster sounded perfect.

Green Monsta

My smoothie included:

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds (optional)
  • pinch xanthan gum (optional, to thicken)

Yummers in my tummers.

Pinterest

A couple of weeks ago I discovered Pinterest, which is a virtual pinboard that lets you share photos of interesting/funny/beautiful things you find around the internet.  Then you can browse around other peoples’ pinboards and get inspiration, or repin them onto your own boards.

It would be perfect if you are planning a wedding, or decorating a new house.

My Pinterest Profile

At first I thought it was just another social networking site to keep up with…but I spent a couple hours on it yesterday, and it’s kind of awesome.  I am always seeing things I like around the web and sometimes I bookmark them, but mostly I forget about them.

I think Pinterest is going to be especially helpful for me for work, because I do a lot of posters and graphic design and I am constantly looking for inspiration.  I regularly troll the internet and bookmark posters that I like, but with Pinterest it’s pretty awesome that I can just pin them all into one spot and they’ll always be there.

Same with recipes.  Sometimes I will find a really good one that I want to try, and then totally forget where I saw it.  No more!

If you guys have Pinterest, feel free to follow me!

I leave you with a quote that I found and repinned from someone else:

“I’ve got two daughters who will have to make their way in this skinny-obsessed world, and it worries me, because I don’t want them to be empty-headed, self-obsessed, emaciated clones; I’d rather they were independent, interesting, idealistic, kind, opinionated, original, funny – a thousand things, before ‘thin’.  And frankly, I’d rather they didn’t give a gust of stinking chihuahua flatulence whether the woman standing next to them has fleshier knees than they do.  Let my girls be Hermiones, rather than Pansy Parkinsons.  Let them never be Stupid Girls.” – J.K. Rowling

I love it.

Have a great evening!

18 responses to “Pinning on Pinterest

  1. I get so frustrated when I hear people say “Oh, no thanks, not hungry, I’m sick…” I think they’re lying to themselves. Never once have I been too sick to eat! Actually, sitting at home all day makes me want to do nothing BUT eat! Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Feel better soon!!!
    Being sick makes me hungry for about 49 meals a day, its ridiculous!
    I added you on Pinterest, i joined about 2 days ago and have lost about 7 hours of my life 🙂

  3. Me too on the sick front! It’s like my body wants to eat its way out of sickness. Bring on the cookie munchies ;p Yay for Pinterest. I have about ten tabs of it open at the moment haha….

  4. Oh my that is a whole lot of ham!
    And I don’t know what is going on with my commenting 😦 Sometimes they end up in spam and sometimes they dont…sad day
    Field better soon deary!

  5. I love the JK Rowling quote!!

    Going to find you on pinterest now…..

    Feel better!!!

  6. hope u feel better! was great to see u on the weekend! i can’t believe the last time you had the flu was in grade 7! for real? lucky! love the rowling quote too.

  7. When I have a cold i crave crappy food court Chinese food like from Manchu Wok! I don’t even give it a second glance normally but as soon as a cold hits me it’s all I can think about lol

  8. I hope you get better soon! I have major sniffles, probably due to the change in temp.
    And the only time I’ve ever lost my appetite was when I had strep throat & the flu…. but I think even then I tried to eat ice cream. I’ve never been one to lose my appetite, like ever.
    I need to start Pinning more! I feel like I’m not in the addiction loop yet haha.

  9. I’m just like you, I NEVER lose my appetite when I’m sick. I always wish that I would, but nope, never do. I remember the one time that I did and that’s when I knew I was really really sick. Blah. Hope you feel better soon!

    I haven’t checked out pinterest yet, but maybe I should. I am just new-technology phobic, so I have to really work up the courage to try something new and figure it out!

  10. I’m glad I’m not at work because my body seems incapable of fighting off anything your body can’t.
    The conservationalist in me sees a sandwich like that and wants to take it apart and make 3 sandwiches. Is that much meat really necessary?!
    I have been hearing about Pintrest. Thanks for the explanation.
    Sounds neat.

Leave a Reply

