S’laters August! Welcome September Goals

Well friends, it is the last day of August, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little bit sad.  I love the fall, but I LOVE the summer!

The summer has always been my favourite.  I don’t know if it has something to do with growing up on a lake and having access to awesome summer activities 24/7, but I love everything about it.  I love the sunshine.  I love having a tan (or looking Mexican).  I love throwing on a sundress and flippies and being good to go do whatever.  I love how everyone is in vacation leisure mode all summa.  I love cottaging, and summer event eating, camping, and the beach.  And I love seeing my family and friends (like my bestie :)) more often.

I know it isn’t fall just yet, and I plan to soak up every last second of this summer before it is over, but it will be September and I think everyone’s mindset changes after Labour Day weekend.  The party is over.  It’s back to reality.  Time to start wearing socks again (aside from workout socks, I don’t think I’ve worn socks since May ;)).

These Days are Over

However, now that September is here, I want to take a few moments and set some goals for myself.

I will admit, that I am bad at goal-setting.  I tend to just let things sorta happen, and then go from there.  I have a general idea of the direction I’d like my life to take, but aside from that I don’t really “plan” anything (aside from to-do lists, because I LOVE making to-do lists).

I am noticing this about myself and it is something I’d like to improve upon.  It is good to have something, or several things, to work towards.  I think it will keep me on track, and help me to live the life that I want to be living.

What do I want my life to look like, and what actions am I going to take to get to that place?

So with that, I am going to start setting monthly goals, starting with September.  As my friend Jessica said, September is like New Years!  I wholeheartedly agree.

I am going to start with some general goals, and then maybe they can get a little more craycray later on.  Here they are!

September Goals

  • Switch up my workouts

For the majority of the summer, I have just been running (unless I squeezed in other activities like hiking, swimming and kayaking).  I have strength-trained only a handful of times, and I only did yoga one day on the dock (and I half-assed it, I’ll admit).  I want to incorporate at least one other type of exercise besides running into my workout regimen one day a week.  This can include strength training, yoga, a bootcamp class, or spinning.

  • Hit up an active activity with a friend

This one shouldn’t be hard, since I have signed up to run the 5k Toronto Zoo Run with my office Bestie Lexy.  Well, I’m on the wait list currently, but I’m sure someone will drop out.  I’ll see how that goes.  If not, a spinning class with a friend will count also!

  • Read at least two books

I am a HUGE bookworm.  I can devour a book a day.  Before I started my blog I was always reading something and carried a book with me constantly (I haven’t made the switch to an electronic reader just yet, and I love books so much I don’t know if I’m going to anytime soon).  When I was younger, that’s what I wanted for Christmas, and for my birthday (I was a giant nerd, I know this).  I love reading.

Since I started my blog in January (whoa!), I have read maybe four books.  This is extremely unlike me, but I find that my random spare time goes to blog stuff instead of reading.  I miss it.  I miss totally getting carried away and wrapped up in a book.  I think reading at least two books this month is a very achievable goal for me, and I hope to surpass it.

  • Try out one new recipe a week

It doesn’t have to be anything cray-zay, but I have been in a bit of a food rut lately and I’d like to snap out of it.  I eat a lot of repeat foods, and I want to switch it up and try new things.  This is a goal that will benefit you guys as well 😉

  • Create one new cartoon post a month

I really, really enjoy writing (and drawing) my cartoon story posts.  They are time consuming though and they take a little longer than my typical posts.  That is probably one direction I’d really like to move the blog towards though, so I think one a month will spice it up a bit :).

If you are new and you missed my previous cartoon story posts, you can check them out here:

Annnd I think that’s all I got for now.  I think I can do this!

Breakfast

This morning I was feelin’ my fave peanut butter, banana, and honey combo, but I also wanted something cold and creamy.  Hm…conundrum.

I decided to make myself a cold and creamy peanut butter, banana, and honey (green) smoothie!

So Greeeen and so Gooood

This smoothie turned out better than I expected, and the best part was, I took it to go!

Drink it Up, Buttercup!

In this smoothie mix is:

  • 1.5 frozen banana
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • squirt of honey to taste (I didn’t measure, maybe a tsp?)
  • 1 large handful spinach
  • 1.25 cups almond milk
  • 2 ice cubes
  • xanthan gum (optional, to thicken)

I couldn’t taste the spinach, but I could taste the peanut butter, honey and banana, and it was delicious!

Questions of the afternoon

  • What is your favourite season?
  • Do you set goals for yourself?  Do you set them as weekly, monthly, or yearly goals?
  • Do you have any goals for September?
21 responses to “S’laters August! Welcome September Goals

  1. I love summer for the concerts, the water sports & just the general carefree attitude that the season represents. However, I do love fall for many reasons. I love the smells of fall 🙂 and apple picking! Also, the fashion is a bit better but I am definitely going to miss the sundress/flip flop combo.
    And my goal setting has eluded me. Hopefully when I go back to school I’ll end my procrastinating ways. We’ll see!

  2. I would say my favourite season is summer but i love the fresh start feel of fall and every year i have to fight the urge to buy a new pencil case and 3 ringed binder paper!
    I suck at goal setting, and when i do its a week at a time, baby steps are my fav 🙂
    Totally agree about reading less books now that i’m blogging – and as for the ereader, i love mine for vacations because i would usually use half my luggage to carry books and that meant less room for shoes 😛

  3. You already know that fall is my absolute FAV!! 🙂 Maybe we should switch places for the next few months. You can come down to TX where it’s still hot and summer like and I can go to Canada and enjoy some cooler weather and more importantly Tim Horton’s!!! 🙂

    I am good at setting goals, but then I suck at keeping up with them. I need to be better about that. Maybe a goal of mine should be to get better at keeping track of my goals haha!

  4. SUMMER! I just drafted a post on how I hate fall and summers awesome.

    aannd MOREEEE CARTOON POSTS!

  5. Oh my golly it is September almost! Yikes. I need to get on my goals too.

  6. I am loving your goals! I like that you are doing a fun physical activity with a friend, that is a great goal to have.
    Summer is my absolute favorite for sure, everything is just teeming with life, and the food is fresh, the weather is warm, beaches, swimming, relaxing… true love right there 🙂

  7. I am the exact same way as you with books and reading! I love it and always asked for books for my bday and xmas haha :).

  8. I love the fall..it is my favorite! I can go on runs and not die and I get to wear awesome boots with any outfit. I have WAY too many boots : )

  9. Pingback: Fit to Strip? | Happy or Hungry

  10. I like autumn too. But I’m secretly/not so secretly really excited about going into spring on this side of the world. 😮

    Looking forward to your cartoons! I like your run in the morning one haha I still crack up thinking about the “or is sleep better than run?” picture.

  11. I love summer too! But really, who doesn’t?! September is particularly bad this year as Mark goes back to work and leaves me aloney on my owny with baby. End of summer and end of help. Oh well, at least I had him all summer.
    So far he has been back one day of work and guess what he wore? Socks!!
    Yay to doing a run with me! I hope we get in!
    I love, love reading and have gotten to do more since having a baby. I know, I know, more you say?! This is due to the many hours of breastfeeding I do. It has been one of my fav things about having a new baby.
    I love trying new recipes! I had this goal too and have been trying to keep it up.
    I usually set general goals but never for a specific time. I usually go through phases with things. But I’m very committed to things when I decide to do them.
    Good luck with your goals and with September!

    • Aww, all aloney on your owney. At least your mom is close by…and yeah, at least you had him for the summer! I don’t know how people take care of newborns on their own, it must be crazy.
      I hope we do too!
      I know you go though phases, but are also a committed little cat!

      You are almost all caught up!

  12. Pingback: Labour Day Weekend Camping | Happy or Hungry

  13. I know. I have spent this little guy’s entire life asking myself how people do it on their own. Crazy! It’s more fun with other people around.
    I am a committed little cat. I committed to catching up on your blog and writing comments, and like you said, I’m almost there!! It’s been so much fun.
    Ps. Erin told me she read your blog and thought it was great. I directed her to your ghost of the Indian chief post for reading fun!

  14. Pingback: A Little Boot Camp Recap (Sans Hair Tie) | Happy or Hungry

  15. Pingback: Resolutions Shmesolutions | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

