Sundae Monstrosities

Good eeeeevening.

After taking a hiatus on the workout front this weekend (I completed a 4.5k run on Friday before work, but that was it), this morning I was ready to get back into it!

I laid out my running clothes last night, set my alarm for 5:30am, and went to bed with an early morning run on my mind.

I gotta say, now that it is dark and chilly in the mornings, it is a lot harder to get up that early.  This morning I really wanted to stay in my nice warm bed, but I forced myself out of it before my mind had a chance to really dwell on what my body was about to do, and I successfully made it out the door!

Schweatyyyy

Getting out the door is the hardest part!

I was freeeeezing when I started out, but I warmed up pretty quickly.  I completed 4.5k in just under 30 minutes, and as you can see from the above pic, I was pretty greasy and sweaty when I was done.  Feeling proud of myself though!

My crazy kitty Dexter is always hanging around when I’m trying to do the sweaty mirror pic thang.  I know he is just after my earphones…

He’s funny :).

Salad > Sundae

I was pretty thankful to be back to my routine eating today.  Though I ate fairly healthily while camping, I did not mention the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup sundae I scored from Baskin Robbins on my way home on Sunday…

Hugely unnecessary, and I have no idea why I ordered it.  It was pretty ginormous, though I think my server made mine slightly chintzier than that, and I skipped the whipped cream.  I felt pretty disgusting afterwards though, I’m not gonna lie.

Annnd I made the mistake of looking up the nutrition information just now…

Umm.  That is ridiculous.  I feel like I should have instantly gained 47 pounds after eating that.  I feel like if you eat a healthy diet on a regular basis, indulgences are okay.  I am all for indulging, and I’m sure you guys know this, but 80 grams of fat?  32 grams of saturated fat?  92 grams of sugar?!  Yowza.  That is not indulging, that is absolute gluttony.  Those stats are worse than I expected.

Friends, DON’T EAT THAT.  It’s not worth it.

I would actually much rather eat this instead:

Today's Lunch

A big ol’ veggie-packed salad from Druxy’s.  No, this salad didn’t taste quite as good as that ridiculous sundae, but I felt a LOT better about myself after eating it.  It didn’t leave me feeling like I was 500 billion pounds, and I didn’t feel like I was about to slip into a sugar-induced coma.  Win-win!

We all know crazy indulgences happen though, so…

What was your last ridiculous food indulgence?

21 responses to “Sundae Monstrosities

  1. I cannot believe you willed yourself to run that early when it felt like winter today!! It’s so brrrrrr-acious outside. Good for you 😀
    That sundae looks like it would have tasted amazing, but damn.
    Damn. 1220 calories?
    I’d like to believe that with the healthy lifestyles we lead & all of the healthy food we continuously feed our bodies, we’re more than allowed to have an indulgence.
    I indulge in candy like 3-5 days a week lol, but I feel like crap when I overdo it.
    And pirate’s booty is my favourite! It’s like cheesy popcorn, only way better texture. I haven’t seen it in Canada, but they might have it at the WF in Canada!

  2. The salad left you feeling a million bucks not a million pounds 😉

    HMMM ridiculous indulgence. Okay I have one! Also after a camping trip with my bf funnily enough. We had spent the weekend caving and tubing, was pretty awesome. On the way home we couldn’t decide what to have for breakfast… We eventually agreed on ice cream. Followed by chocolate and chips. Eeep! Felt so sluggish after, it was not worth it 😛

    Go you with your mornings. One day I’ll manage….

  3. Gosh that sundae is scary! My last indulgence was 2 cinnamon rolls…within half an hour…whoops! 😉 I didn’t feel too great after that!

  4. Donna @ Life of a Happy Blonde

    Are you kidding me??? There should be a disclosure to sign before buying one!
    Booo to the sundae that’s why I never look up calorie details after the fact 😛
    Way to get out there at 5:30, I’m planning my run for 7 tomorrow in hopes of it being a wee but warmer if not I’m already digging out my
    running toque
    Last indulgence was raspberry sundae, I feel like the fruit offsets the calories lol!!!

  5. Ben & Jerry’s, tonight.

    But I only ate half of the tub (this time)…

  6. Great job forcing yourself out of bed to run. I’m just coming out of winter so I know how cosy and warm the bed is 🙂 I am sure you left that sundae behind you on your run! My last indulgence was yesterday – I ate a freddo frog, I just had a really strong chocolate urge and I gave in, but like you said, a little indulgence every now and then doesn’t hurt.

    I loved your camping trip – it sounded like the perfect way to spend a long weekend just nice and relaxing with no worries about anything at all – heaven!

  7. That Baskin Robbin’s dessert looks fabulous…but those nutrition facts would have depressed me too haha. That is a crazy amount of everything in there!!

  8. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Oh man the nutritional stats on that thing are crazy! But don’t sweat it, girly. Sometimes we have to let ourselves indulge because come on, nobody wants to live on grass and leaves 24/7.

    by the way, I just noticed your hunger monster on the bottom of your page haha– LOVE it!

  9. Wow, that sundae looks awesome, but I can’t believe they managed to squeeze that much fat into a cup that size!! That seems nearly impossible. However, my weekend was much much worse. I pretty much ate my way through Labor Day. Whoops! I’m back on track today too and brought a huge salad to work for lunch. I must say, I’m kind of excited about it. I think my body is craving veggies 🙂

  10. Wow, the nutritional information on the sundae is out of control! Like you, I never thought it could be something like that! I mean of course it is an indulgence, but I almost feel companies and restaurants should not be able to sell things like this. Not going to lie though, it does look and sound really tasty 🙂 No wonder you ordered it!
    My last indulgence was a bit of a binge actually 😦 Late night massive bowl of cereal, chips, cookies… whoops.

  11. …is that… peanut butter… all at the bottom?

    holy cow, that looks good. but after reading those stats, aahaha.. GAH.

  12. Oh that Sundae DOES look pretty tasty! My latest indulgence was a homemade ice cream sandwich with homemade mascarpone ice cream and chocolate waffle cookies…SO good and SO worth it!

  13. Pingback: A Little Boot Camp Recap (Sans Hair Tie) | Happy or Hungry

  14. You are a star running that early in the AM!
    Love the kitty headphone chase. Marbles is the same.
    I indulged in popcorn and a fountain pop when I went to the movies on Wednesday. They were giving them away and I couldn’t resist the free food! You know how it is. I felt pretty gross afterwards.
    Life is no fun unless you indulge in moderation!

Leave a Reply

